We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserve your room well in advance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Inn to your Saves list
El Rey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splendid Fall Special
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reserve your room well in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The El Rey started out as a 1930s-era Route 66 motel. Like many Santa Fe buildings, it has grown by accretion over the decades. Rooms are pot luck, but always unique and interesting. This time, we had a king room tucked away in a quiet corner with a wildlife garden and a burbling fountain. Very affordable for Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    158
    42
    10
    7
See reviews for
101
221
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, WA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We thought the El Rey was a little pricey but, considering this is Santa Fe, we decided this was not a bad deal. A vintage motel, it is in very good condition. We did have to change our rooms because the ones we reserved at first were small and dark so we upgraded to deluxe queen and it was worth the upgrade in price. Still on the dark side, the windows are small with big overhangs outside, but it all fits in with the very southwestern adobe style which this inn is. The outdoor areas are very pleasant and the pool is excellent. The breakfast room is nicely done and the food is more than adequate. We liked it here because it has been here a long time, it's not your run of the mill chain, and it was a very pleasant experience. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

this could be a fab place, it is an oasis on a drab commercial row, lush greenery and flowers and a beyond amazing pool.the continental breakfast is great and served in a beautiful room with tables outdoors. the issues we had were
1..rooms are much too dark, dark ceiling with no up lighting does not work
2. staff is by and large totally unhelpful (i don't know, i can't help with that, etc tec)
3. cleaning is only adequate passed the first night.
4.overcharged on bill, they corrected immediately
would we stay again? probably

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerrillos, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff I do apologize for your perception of having received less than stellar service at our inn on your recent stay. It is our company's mission to deliver the best guest service possible to each and every guest. We hope that you will indeed return to our inn so that we can make good on our mission to you and that is to serve our visitor with the best hospitality possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife & I are repeat lodgers for good reason: one of our favorite rooms, #168A, ($160incl tax/hi season) has such southwestern authenticity (the Inn opened in 1936) that we are taken back into that history.
The room has an adobe-style (gas) corner fireplace, great headboard details, not overly spacious room size but quaint.
The grounds have that feeling of quiet repose, except for the morning singing birds, in the courtyard atrium. Lots of mature foliage well tended. For those who appreciate Santa Fe architecture this is one heckava bang-for-the-buck.
Stan/Terry

Room Tip: book earlir rather than later
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Lean
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My girlfriends and I have been sojourning yearly to Santa Fe for the past 12 years and always stay at the El Rey Inn, renting a two bedroom apartment for our visit. /The El Rey has beautiful grounds, excellent pool and hot tubs and a lovely southwest atmosphere and delicious breakfast included with the room. The rooms are spacious, clean and charming and the staff helpful. Free internet is available in the common room off the office. The El Rey is close to downtown and countless restaurants and shopping. There are fancier hotels in Santa Fe, but I prefer to spend my money having fun, shopping or dining.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here recently and absolutely loved this place. It has the quirky charm and uniqueness that has been lost with the commercial chains. Our room was in a block decorated with wrought iron furniture, stenciling, Mexican tiles, and plants. The room was huge by modern hotel standards. The ceiling was done in wood in the Santa Fe pueblo style and the bedroom also had a small leather couch, table and chair as well as a console down one side of the room. The bathroom was huge with a deep old-fashioned tub, vintage tiles on the floor and a large dressing area outside the bathroom. There were actually three separate rooms within the room. A fridge was provided as well. The pool is in its own walled courtyard and was heated and lit at night. It was the old style; huge and 8 ft. deep. The spa was pleasant as well, not over-chorinated as are some. A delicious breakfast is served in your choice of a skylit room with plants, a beautiful dining area with a fireplace, or an outdoor vine-covered patio. The property is beautifully landscaped and dotted with shady alcoves, tables, fountains, benches, and beautiful mature trees. If you want granite, stainless and modern, this is not for you. I value this much more. It actually gave me the feeling I was in an exotic location, not the USA. The staff was very friendly and gave me great tips on where to find a gift I was looking for. It was also convenient to get to most of the tourist attractions in Santa Fe. I adored it and will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Many different room types-ask to find the best fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Wonderful "Route 66" style motel. Beautiful, well-manicured grounds, extra friendly staff. Large rooms. Only small criticism is that the air conditioning didn't seem to keep up, but there's nothing better than sleeping with an open window. This is a great place to stay and well worth the price, especially for a Santa Fe property. We'll be back.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.