We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true dining experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luminaria

Luminaria
211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Inn and Spa at Loretto, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-988-5531
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luminaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alameda
Description: People who love food love Santa Fe dining. Here, food is an art form designed to stimulate all the senses through flavor, aroma, texture and presentation. The Inn and Spa at Loretto celebrates the art of food in New Mexican tradition by presenting Santa Fe's only "Conscious Cuisine" dining experience. Our culinary team uses the very freshest local and organic ingredients, because we strongly support our community, purchase fruits, vegetables, and spices from local farmers and prime grades of meat from regional ranchers. Specializing in "Conscious Cuisine," Luminaria's menu focuses on a truly sustainable approach to cuisine.
Oakland, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A true dining experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is one of those places where people go either to be seen or to say that they've been there....or that they simply enjoy the ambience. The menu is creative, but for the most part a bit pedestrian. We found the food to be just above average, considering the cost. We had drinks at the bar while waiting for our table. The service is polite and efficient and the setting is wonderful. We were seated outside, in a tent under the trees. The setting is perhaps the most attractive in Santa Fe, however the cuisine is not quite up to that standard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    127
    45
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a beautiful restaurant with outdoor seating beneath the trees. The flowers were just gorgeous. We had a wonderful breakfast/brunch and this is definitely a place to splurge on. Mmmmmmm

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Luminaria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Luminaria Patio beneath the trees. Please come again for dinner and dine under the stars.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Almost perfect -at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We only chose this restaurant because it offered an "early bird" lower priced menu. We would not have contemplated dining a la carte at this menu's prices. Even so the wine list was very highly priced. The service was almost too attentive, and we could find small faults with the composition of the starters and mains. However the cooking and presentation of the food was excellent and the overall experience enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Above the norm for US dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Halfway through our Route 66 sojourn we were starting to despair of finding anything other than fast food. Luminaria provided a good counter to fast food. We chose to have lunch and suspect that the menu is vastly different for dinner. Nevertheless there was enough on offer on the lunch menu. The best part was the extensive wine list.

My wife and I shared a starter, which should have been timed for arrival after we had finished our cocktails. This rush to serve happened again when our main courses arrived when we were only halfway through the starter. I suspect the plates were taken away and left under a hot lamp for the 10 minutes we needed to finish our starter. Not what we would have expected. Other tables were not rushing over their meals and the restaurant was not busy. The food was good and the wine even better.

The outside setting was great. The waiting staff just need to take note of the pace at which people are eating. I want to dine at my pace and not the chef's.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The service is excellent and the food is great. Sweet potato fries and a great selection of food on the menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luminaria also viewed

 

Been to Luminaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luminaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.