We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating great Santa Fe food outside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luminaria

Luminaria
211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Inn and Spa at Loretto, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-988-5531
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luminaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alameda
Description: People who love food love Santa Fe dining. Here, food is an art form designed to stimulate all the senses through flavor, aroma, texture and presentation. The Inn and Spa at Loretto celebrates the art of food in New Mexican tradition by presenting Santa Fe's only "Conscious Cuisine" dining experience. Our culinary team uses the very freshest local and organic ingredients, because we strongly support our community, purchase fruits, vegetables, and spices from local farmers and prime grades of meat from regional ranchers. Specializing in "Conscious Cuisine," Luminaria's menu focuses on a truly sustainable approach to cuisine.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eating great Santa Fe food outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Big variety of breakfasts and the best quesadillas I've ever had. Very attractive outside. Their food served inside at the bar that was more like a family room and at room service itself was just as good. Shared chocolate goat cheese and brownie dessert one of best desserts of my life.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Luminaria, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed Luminaria Restaurant and Patio located in the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We too, love the chocolate goat cheese and brownie dessert and are so happy it’s one of the “best desserts” you’ve had! We hope you loved your time in Santa Fe and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Much appreciated,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    241
    102
    37
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chef Sparman is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our three year wedding anniversary at Luminaria this evening. Since the service and meal was so superb, once we got home I thought to write my first TripAdvisor review.

This meal was amazing. They spread rose petals on the table and started us off with a free half bottle of champagne, My wife was very impressed. Chef had some amazingly raw oysters sent out to us, along with a tasteful spoonful of seared sushi-like tuna. Fantastic. We also enjoyed a delicious bread basket with lightly salted butter.

We started with a shrimp appetizer, we wanted to lick the bowl. So good! Before our meal, Chef personal came to wish us a happy anniversary. Again, wife impressed. I had the special, a ribeye cooked to perfection and my wife enjoyed her salmon and risotto. We shared a dessert, a New York cheesecake with pecans and caramel, to die for. Chef again came out to make sure everything was ok. It was more thank ok, it was delightful.

Our server, Melissa, was very attentive and educated. She made our anniversary memorable and one will we not forget.

Thank you Luminaria and staff for a great night, very much appreciated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could have stayed all night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The manager, Marilyn is by far the best I've encountered. Could have stayed all night with her and the attentive staff and sampled every item. Soft shell crab, yellow tomato gazpacho and lamb chops found their way to me and it was divine. Great wine list too. Hurry........

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place for an evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We ate on the patio. Menu offers unique dishes. The bread basket and butter was a perfect start. The tortilla soup must not be missed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely patio setting with attentive service and fine food. A pleasure to dine there!! Amazing breads. Generous fish portion ( properly cooked) and tasty paella.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luminaria also viewed

 

Been to Luminaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luminaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.