We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Early Dinner" Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luminaria

Luminaria
211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Inn and Spa at Loretto, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-988-5531
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luminaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alameda
Description: People who love food love Santa Fe dining. Here, food is an art form designed to stimulate all the senses through flavor, aroma, texture and presentation. The Inn and Spa at Loretto celebrates the art of food in New Mexican tradition by presenting Santa Fe's only "Conscious Cuisine" dining experience. Our culinary team uses the very freshest local and organic ingredients, because we strongly support our community, purchase fruits, vegetables, and spices from local farmers and prime grades of meat from regional ranchers. Specializing in "Conscious Cuisine," Luminaria's menu focuses on a truly sustainable approach to cuisine.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Our "Early Dinner" Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are four women who made a 6pm reservation so that we could take advantage of the early
pre fixe (which is called "early dinner") a three course dinner for $29. Our waiter listed off the specials and when we asked if they were choices on the early pre fixe, he said no and appeared somewhat disdainful when it became clear to him that that was the dinner route that we were taking. I found this to be most inhospitable. His negative attitude was subtle but it was there. Regardless, we did order the 3 course dinner. I had the grilled Romaine salad which is like a deconstructed Caesar salad with grilled Romaine. I found it to be disappointing. The blackened salmon was very nice seated upon risotto with leeks - also very nice. The chocolate cake dessert was too large and only fair. The chocolate cake was dry and the topping was unappealing to all of us. The place itself is lovely but all in all, it did not live up to our expectations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    127
    45
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about it :))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were greeted by our last name, maybe because we were punctual with our reservations, we were seated outside, very promptly, greeted with champagne and rose petals on the table. Food was divine, LOVED it, so romantic and you ac actually get dressed up here :)) As a local, this is a HUGE deal in this town

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Nice special occasion place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent food all around from soup to dessert. Very original takes on classic dishes with a southwestern flair. Even the bread was great ( dont miss the blue corn muffins). Coming fom the east coast having chicken in mole sauce ragout is quite the treat. Service was great and loved the quiet little booth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Luminaria, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We appreciate your compliments regarding Luminaria Restaurant. I am thrilled that you enjoyed everything “from soup to dessert” and thank you for recommending the blue corn muffins, they are delicious! Every so often we post recipes on our blog on our website, I encourage you to take a look. In addition to dining with us during your next visit to Santa Fe, we hope you also choose to stay with us at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gourmet Cuisine at It's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

During our recent trip to Albuquerque, New Mexico for the Balloon Festival, we took a day trip to Santa Fe. After a long day of shopping and sight seeing, for dinner, we decided to choose a restaurant near the plaza. The restaurant is located in the Inn and Spa at Loretto, a luxury hotel. As usual, we had checked with Trip Advisor, and the reviews were excellent.

Although we did not have a reservation, we were seated in an area of our choice by the fireplace, which we appreciated because it was chilly outside. The dining room was beautiful, with large vigas (wood beams) on the ceiling and the decor was New Mexico southwest. The dining had a view of the large patio with a cascading fountain, mature trees and mood lighting.

The server was excellent, explaining the various menu items in detail. She recommended several three course meals that included wine for each course. We all chose the blackened salmon. Two of us chose the fire grilled romaine salad, and although it was very good, after we tasted the lemony chicken tortilla soup, which is award winning, we wished we had chosen it too. However, before we were served our first course, the server brought a small serving of prime ribeye with chimichurri sauce on a large tasing spoon. What a nice way to start a meal!

Our blackened salmon, which was served with a creamy leak risotto with a crispy leak topping, was cooked to perfection, moist and flaky and it was so delicious! The wine pairing with each of the courses was well thought out and suited each course to perfection, and the servingw were generous. Next came the desserts. Each of us chose a different one. I chose the blackout chocolate cake with peanut butter icing. One of my family members chose the three sorbets, and my third family member chose a brulee. Each one was to die for!

The price for such a gourmet meal was very reasonable. I can't say enough good things about the service. Our water glasses were always filled, empty dishes were wisked away quickly, and our three courses were This was a very special meal to end our very special visit to Santa Fe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Mixed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hostess was hard to find. Not very cordial. Server was great. Food very good. Restaurant was very very cold. Very pricey! Lots of other places to try.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luminaria also viewed

 

Been to Luminaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luminaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.