We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Interesting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Indian Arts & Culture

Museum of Indian Arts & Culture
710 Camino Lejo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
505-476-1250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 94 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, which has a 42,000 piece collection, is a must for those interested in Indian culture.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“So Interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm going to be honest: my extremely positive reaction to this museum was probably influenced by the extraordinary docent who led our guided tour [I visited the museum on a weekday, and happened to arrive shortly after the 10:30 am tour started]. If you're going to visit this museum, I urge you to time your visit to coincide with one of the tours.

The museum's collection is extensive and impressive. My visit gave me a whole new perspective on Indian culture, and how/why it is so deeply interwoven in NM culture. Plan on at least a full morning or afternoon -- and have lunch at the lovely Museum Hill Cafe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    63
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Must See...Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a wonderful museum which does an outstanding job of presenting the arts and cultures of native Americans from New Mexico. We loved it!! A must see!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder,Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This is a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a wonderful history and life of Native Americans. It would be a shame to miss this beautiful museum, one of the very best.
Old and young alike can learn a lot in these halls.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A must-see for any Santa Fe visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved the museum's exhibits. First class. Location, while outside of town a bit, is also pleasant. City bus transportation makes it convenient to go to and fro from the Plaza area to the museum complex. Good restaurant for lunch, too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome basket collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The designs, shapes, colours and variety of basketry left us gobsmacked! Wonderful collection.
Too bad we could not take a few photos!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Indian Arts & Culture also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Indian Arts & Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Indian Arts & Culture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.