We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see for any Santa Fe visitor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Indian Arts & Culture

Museum of Indian Arts & Culture
710 Camino Lejo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
505-476-1250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 109 attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum, which has a 42,000 piece collection, is a must for those interested in Indian culture.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must-see for any Santa Fe visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved the museum's exhibits. First class. Location, while outside of town a bit, is also pleasant. City bus transportation makes it convenient to go to and fro from the Plaza area to the museum complex. Good restaurant for lunch, too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    50
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome basket collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The designs, shapes, colours and variety of basketry left us gobsmacked! Wonderful collection.
Too bad we could not take a few photos!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A small but important museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Truthfully, we dashed in here for a rest room after a visit to the Cathedral across the street. When we learned it was only $5 for senior admission, we decided to see what it was about. It was packed with a beautiful and varied collection, including an outside sculpture garden. I'm glad we went beyond the gift shop, as this was a really worthwhile stop. By the way, the gift shop is full of lovely books, jewelry and art.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place for family outing with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We went as a day trip from Albuquerque. Kids enjoyed the many crafts on displayed and getting involved in some of the activities. A good half day of fun

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Get a different taste in SF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A little different from some of the other art museums, but if you're open and into art, the place can really move you. The Native American influence on Santa Fe and in NM is definitely evident here. There are some very cool pieces and exhibits.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Indian Arts & Culture also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Indian Arts & Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Indian Arts & Culture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Indian Arts & Culture to your Saves list