We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian

Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian
704 Camino Lejo, Santa Fe, NM 87505
800 607 4636 , 505 982 4636
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #17 of 107 attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Museums, Art Museums, History Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The museum features changing exhibitions of contemporary and historic Native American art with an emphasis on the Southwest.
Albuquerque New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Off the beaten path on Museum Hill. A small but interesting collection of native american exhibits that change with the seasons

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    9
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experienced racism at the Wheelwright Museum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I attended the Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian along with my senior-aged retired parents. My family is African-American. Although the exhibit was beautiful, and the receptionist was kind and friendly, upon going to downstairs to the shop, we were treated rudely. The women who worked in the shop glared at us upon entering the shop, did not greet us, and simply stared at us the whole time we looked around. To add insult, a security guard came into the shop and walked around staring at my father, which made my mother and I uncomfortable. This was an unfortunate experience and I would not go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wheelwright Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Museum is nice and small. Nice view from outside, and beautiful sculptures as well.
Shop is very worthwhile, non generic stuff, good selection, decently priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“smaller than i thought; however, great trading post”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Upon entering, receptionist explained that the shape was that of a hogan & that one began from the east, which I had not noticed. The admission is donation-based. The exhibit at the time was a blanket collection from Durango- informative & interesting. Downstairs was a trading post, from which one can learn more about the arts created from the different pueblos. When most of the other museums in town & on the Hill were closed, I appreciated the opportunity to have been able to visit this one.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tiny”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The gift shop is larger than the exhibits. We went to the museum, mainly because my friend is Native American and interested in arts, culture, etc. Other than a few blankets there really wasn't much to see. I was actually kind of embarrassed, because I was the one who has suggested it based on its web site and other reviews. Driving there from downtown took longer than actually visiting. We could have used that time better at another attraction. I did check the web site, but did not realize that the featured special exhibit was really the only exhibit. If you are interested in going, check the web site first; if the main exhibit is not what you are primarily interested in, don't go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian also viewed

 

Been to Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.