We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experienced racism at the Wheelwright Museum” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian

Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian
704 Camino Lejo, Santa Fe, NM 87505
800 607 4636 , 505 982 4636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 110 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Museums, Art Museums, History Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The museum features changing exhibitions of contemporary and historic Native American art with an emphasis on the Southwest.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experienced racism at the Wheelwright Museum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I attended the Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian along with my senior-aged retired parents. My family is African-American. Although the exhibit was beautiful, and the receptionist was kind and friendly, upon going to downstairs to the shop, we were treated rudely. The women who worked in the shop glared at us upon entering the shop, did not greet us, and simply stared at us the whole time we looked around. To add insult, a security guard came into the shop and walked around staring at my father, which made my mother and I uncomfortable. This was an unfortunate experience and I would not go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    41
    12
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wheelwright Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Museum is nice and small. Nice view from outside, and beautiful sculptures as well.
Shop is very worthwhile, non generic stuff, good selection, decently priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“smaller than i thought; however, great trading post”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Upon entering, receptionist explained that the shape was that of a hogan & that one began from the east, which I had not noticed. The admission is donation-based. The exhibit at the time was a blanket collection from Durango- informative & interesting. Downstairs was a trading post, from which one can learn more about the arts created from the different pueblos. When most of the other museums in town & on the Hill were closed, I appreciated the opportunity to have been able to visit this one.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tiny”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The gift shop is larger than the exhibits. We went to the museum, mainly because my friend is Native American and interested in arts, culture, etc. Other than a few blankets there really wasn't much to see. I was actually kind of embarrassed, because I was the one who has suggested it based on its web site and other reviews. Driving there from downtown took longer than actually visiting. We could have used that time better at another attraction. I did check the web site, but did not realize that the featured special exhibit was really the only exhibit. If you are interested in going, check the web site first; if the main exhibit is not what you are primarily interested in, don't go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“little jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

this is a wonderful small museum that has a limited but very high quality exhibition schedule. Shows are always beautifully curated and installed, with informative narration. The big bonus here is the trading post downstairs; it contains a spectacular array of native arts and is served by an informed and friendly staff.

Lovely setting on Museum Hill. Great spot for a picnic lunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian also viewed

 

Been to Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.