We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very definition of French Bakery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant

Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant
402 N Guadalupe, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Historic District)
(505) 988-1809
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: Historic District
Kerrville, TX
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The very definition of French Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

After our lunch one day we came back for breakfast the next. This is like a bakery you might find in a book under "how to build a French bakery". We were in Santa Fe for a week at Christmas and we tried to come back a third time only to find them closed. I'd say that speaks highly given the number of great places to eat in Santa Fe. And we've been twice before. All of the food is fantastic, you can't go wrong. Parking is a challenge. Advice: PARK ACROSS THE STREET.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    98
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Try the galette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I love to have brunch at Clafouti's, great egg dishes, wonderful French pastries, great cappuchino. You can buy some bread or pastries to take home with you. Parking is difficult, but it's worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“If only Clafoutis was here when I lived in SFe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

When I think of the perfect bakery, this is what I envisioned-everything is fresh, delicious and perfect. Parking is difficult-we got a parking ticket-but we will be back during our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
444 helpful votes 444 helpful votes
“This Place Is, As The Kids Say…The Bomb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I'm not sure how I can improve on so many other reviews that have gone before me but I will try because Clafoutis deserves all the praise it is getting. In my opinion, it is the best bakery in Santa Fe and for several states around. Believe me, we have tried many and most were really good but this one takes the cake…oops sorry for the pun. They are only open for breakfast and lunch and the one and only downside is the limited parking available for the crowds trying to park there. Oh, and possibly the limited seating if you are wanting to go there with a large group. Trust me, don't give up because of the parking. A short walk down a side street is nothing if the lot is full.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the parking problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The food and pastries were so good. Kind of unexpected in all the Mexican food restaurants. Service was ok but not terrible.
The parking is the worst but parking is bad everywhere. Walk if at all possible.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.