We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Baguettes in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant

Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant
402 N Guadalupe, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Historic District)
(505) 988-1809
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: Historic District
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Baguettes in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love not only their baguettes, which are hands down the best ones I have eaten outside of France, but everything about the place, except maybe for the long lines, waiting to be seated during high season. This is a very small, authentic French bakery cafe, serving breakfast and lunch everyday except Sundays. It is run by a lovely and very friendly French family, with mom managing the counter, a couple of the daughters serving, and dad in the kitchen. Their croissants and all the baked goods are out of this world. If you are looking for an authentic French experience right here in the Wild West, you should not miss Clafouti's!
Oh I almost forgot, my kid LOVES their Chocolate Crepes ;-) A special treat!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    345
    83
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“French in Spanish Territory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The best Provencal food I have had west of the Mississippi. They only serve breakfast and lunch and it is very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We still dream about Clafoutis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This busy little cafe was our favorite stop in Santa Fe. We ate breakfast here two mornings of our trip and loved it each time. The baguettes with jam and butter were superb, as well as our coffee, omelettes, and crepes. Every person of our party of six was extremely satisfied. The cafe fills up QUICK, so be prepared to wait for a table, but the staff was very professional, so they make sure to get parties in and seated as quickly as possible.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Clafoutis, Santa Fe, New Mexico, The Bistro of Enchantment. We have just returned from a perfect lunch. The gracious, warm welcome, excellent service, and delightful food made our visit memorable. Several people had recommended Clafoutis mentioning that we should arrive early. It is a Monday and by 11:30 it was packed. We had the special, a spicy lamb sausage on a baguette with a generous side salad and "the Sea", a collection of tiny marinated fish, shrimp and smoked salmon, served with a fresh side salad, baguette and
cookie.
We will be back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great New Santa Fe Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In Santa Fe for 2 nights at my house and was introduced to this great French restaurant and bakery by a friend who eats there at least once a week. I loved the warm, cozy atmosphere, the quality fresh food with many choices of sandwiches and salads, and the beautiful breads, pastries and cookies.Great coffee also. Make sure to add it to your list while you are in town! The small parking lot can be tight so you can park across the street in the lot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.