We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pastries and Food but watch out for parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant

Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant
402 N Guadalupe, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Historic District)
(505) 988-1809
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: Historic District
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Pastries and Food but watch out for parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We live almost next to Clafoutis and pop in on a regular basis for pastires, breads, desserts and food. Everything is great and the service could not be nicer. I need to warn customers that there is little parking. Some is directly behind the restaurant, some in front but that's it. The Fedex across the street has booted cars in the past. The city lot is a maybe. Down Jose street there is no parking and all of the home associations have been active in towing cars so don't park down there. The best bet is walking there as they do in Europe from the Plaza or De Vargas Mall. It is worth the trip and if you can spare the calories take something home. You'll regret not doing it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    98
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast! Don't miss the croissants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a ham & cheese crepe, cafe creme and fresh squeezed OJ. My son had a decadent waffle with fresh fruit and tons of whipped cream. It was a delightful breakfast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“These reviews are all not wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This pace is the best surprise in SF. just popped in for what we thought would be a pastry and a coffee in the morning. This is so much more than that. Crepes, fresh croissants, French breads and full breakfast with a euro feel and twist. All is home made, chips , fries. Friendly service, and rich coffee and coffee drinks. Liked it o much we came back for lunch. Couldn't resist the baguette made fresh. I love this place, I feel like I was on the left bank. Okay,parking is horrific, but everyone coexists well in this limited parking area. Breakfast and lunch only

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice b fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Small place, fills fast with locals.one of my favorite places for breakfast, great coffee, french sweet bread, omletts . Just be patient with the service because its jumpin in the mornings !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Claufoutis: A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Claufoutis (402 Guadalupe Street) is such a find for breakfast or lunch in Santa Fe. Service is prompt and efficient, food is excellent, and the prices are good. My scrambled eggs, bacon and coissant (plus French bread and jam) was $7.95; my husband's 3 egg omlett was $7.50. The coffee was strong and good, and they brought it promptly so we would have coffee and bread while we waited for our breakfasts--though we did't have long to wait even though the little restaurant was crowded with locals who all seemed intent on enjoying their food.

If you're looking for a non-Mexican option, not much frequented by tourists, Claufoutis is your spot. Parking is limited, and lots of people want to be there, so be prepared to do a little searching if necessary. It's definitely worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clafoutis French Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.