We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit to the gift shop here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Contemporary Native Arts

Museum of Contemporary Native Arts
108 Cathedral Place, Santa Fe, NM (Downtown)
505-988-6211
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #26 of 107 attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Natural History Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Unique Native American art museum.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to the gift shop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sorry we didn't have time to go through the museum...we popped in here during a chilly storm in May, and didn't get past the gift shop! They have a good selection of jewellery, books, and blankets etc. The staff were well informed and very helpful...going the extra mile to help package purchases for carrying on to flight home. Good to note no tax added to purchases here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Unique museum with wonderful exhibitions of contemporary works, especially those by students at the Institute of American Indian Arts of which MoCNA is a centre. I was lucky enough to visit when the works of final year IAIA students were on show, including works both of Native North Americans and other artists interested in learning in a Native American context. The works evoked humour, sadness, grief and hope - a totally engrossing experience. Excellent shop with a wide range of books, jewellery, artworks and gifts. Helpful and informative staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new canaan ct
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Worth a Quick Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The ourdoor sculpture court is a lovely place to sit while viewing contemporary work. The current exhibitions when I visited were worth a quick walk-through. The gift shop is excellent; I bought a number of Christmas ornaments, restrained myself from getting any jewelry. Good book selection.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Sculpture Garden Great For Photos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The inside of the museum itself seemed to be bereft of anything of interest. We looked at a painting on the wall and said, "You've got to be kidding!" So we almost immediately made our way to the sculpture garden just outside the museum.This was where we spent our time snapping photos of one or two of us standing beside the various Indians depicted in stone. In the bright sunlight the pictures came out so well that we used them in cards and calendars that we created after we returned from the trip to Santa Fe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic collection of Contemporary Native American Arts! Visit all the art museums and compare the Spanish Colonia to Native American, etc. Fantastic experiences! Great place to visit! So much for everyone to see! Staff is always helpful! I have been here several times over the years.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Native Arts also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Native Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.