We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Oasis in the Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Luxury Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent our 20th anniversary at Encantado. Our accomadations were in a one bedroom Casita which was very large and quite nice. The bathroom floor was even heated and the wood burning fireplace in the living room was excellent. The patio was large with an outside fireplace and was a prefect place to view the sunset. One drawback with the patio is that they face the parking lot. The initial view is disappointing and then you observe the sun setting behind the mountains and all is well.

Enough can't be said about the service at this property. From the minute you exit the car you are treated warmly by everyone on staff. The check-in process was painless and continued throughout our stay. One of the highlights of our stay was getting to use the convertible Mercedes for the whole day. You can reserve the car and use it without limitations. We drove to Bandelier National Park and hiked up to the cliff dwellings. Then in the afternoon/evening drove into Santa Fe for dinner. The car was a great perk at no charge.

Dinner at Terra was fantastic and the service was again outstanding. We have traveled extensively and tend to frequent higher end properties.The service at Encantado is no doubt one of the best, if not the best, we have ever experience. Although the property is relatively small everything you need is there; spa, pool and a bar. The spa was great and we felt like no one else was around. We booked a couples suite which includes an outdoor shower, sauna and whirlpool.. Great times!!!

We booked a hot air balloon ride through the hotel and what an experience that was. Johnny from Santa Fe Balloon company is ranked as one of the top 3 pilots in the world.

Overall the experience at Encantado was perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    89
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
71
280
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I travel constantly for work and pleasure; however, this was my first visit to the state of New Mexico. I stayed at the Encantado Resort for a long weekend and was more than satisfied with my experience. The grounds are absolutely luxurious and the property is placed perfectly in the surrounding foothills. The exteriors equal the breathtaking surroundings in beauty and the end result is majestic. If you are looking for rustic luxury and serenity, then this is your destination. As I am from the New York City, being able to build fires every evening was an absolute treat. The eagerness of the staff was lovely and the food was of New York City caliber. I had an opportunity to visit the spa, which was fantastic. All of the massage therapists were top notch. Encantado is quintessentially Southwestern. I cannot wait to return to this lavish property again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights - July 2 - 5. I had found a deal online which included breakfast and a 750 sq ft casita (with views) for $550 per night. The first casita we were assigned had virtually no view as promised. We asked for better and were moved up the hill to unit 38 (a smaller casita - but not by much) and that was an improvement. If we stay here again, I would definitely look for something affordable on the upper level. The staff were always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are quite nice - state of the art large bathrooms. My only complaint with the room is the box built around the mattress which can be uncomfortable with getting in and out of bed.

The breakfasts and one dinner we had at the resort's restaurant were all outstanding with beautiful views from the terrace and outdoor dining available. The service, although friendly, was quite slow and our breakfast orders were always missing something.

I think this property has a very new, young staff. There are kinks to be worked out and they do seem to be trying to do this. I would rate this resort as a 4 star rather than 5 star.
And do keep in mind, it is about a 15 minute drive into Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Encantado. Although the resort is 5 +/- miles from downtown Santa Fe, it was well worth the trip. The staff went above and beyond to be friendly and accommodating. The spa is first class and the pool area is wonderful. The exercise room rarely had anyone using it so the amount of equipment is more than ample.

There were a couple bumps along the road. We had breakfast included every morning in the cost of the room. By the way the food was excellent, however the first two mornings we had very rough service. The third morning we mentioned it to one of the staff members who made a point to wait on us for the remainder of our stay and ensure that we received the service expected at a top resort.

The second issue involved the 2-story casitas. The upper level has wood floors with no means for dampening the sound. We were on the lower level and heard every coin drop, cell phone vibrate and footstep. The 4th night our upstairs neighbors awoke at 3:00am and seemed to be parading around the room for 2 hours. Needless to say it was not pleasant. When I said something to the staff in the morning, they immediately moved us without hesitation and were very apologetic.

Despite a couple issues, the staff was wonderful and made sure our stay was most pleasant. We left there feeling relaxed and happy with our decision to choose the Encantado. For that reason we give the resort an "Excellent" rating.

On a separate note, some people who wrote on Trip Advisors were upset with the parking lots being in front of the rooms rather than in the rear. I am not a land use expert however when you design a development and situate it in a bowl shaped site in the desert, its best to have the paved surfaces at the bottom and center of the site for water drainage. You also want the rooms to be on the high side of the bowl around the perimeter to take advantage of the elevated views. This was not that important for us however it seemed to be a reoccurring comment from Trip Advisor visitors.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We made reservations at this property because we had a good experience at another Auberge property (Auberge du Soliel) in Napa, it was close to the Santa Fe Opera House, and offered an opera package. Encantado sponsors opening night of each opera during the season. They have a block of seats front and center of the stage that we could not have booked if we had made reservations on our own. That was the biggest plus of an outstanding 4-night stay. We appreciated having complimentary chauffeur service to and from Santa Fe so that we did not have to navigate the numerous one-way streets and find parking spots. The views from our Vista room were gorgeous. The restaurant and bar/lounge were nicely decorated and it was easy to find seating at any time of the day. The service was top-notch from the porters, drivers, wait staff, pool, fitness center & yoga, housekeeping, barkeepers, concierge and spa. We enjoyed getting facials that we booked using generous spa credits that were part of the package. Breakfasts were also included in the package. We will return for the opening of the 2011 opera season if the opera package is offered. This resort is delightful and worth the expense.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

we visited with our 8 and 13 year old girls - the hotel staff was outstanding, the food delicious and it never felt crowded, and the property was breathtaking. we slept 4 in our room comfortably. we highly recommend this hotel. Conceirge made excellent recommendations. we can't say enough about this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We recently stayed at the Encantado and cannot recommend it highly enough. On our arrival, we enjoyed a wonderful lunch on the patio with a beautiful view. The service and food were impeccable. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and well-maintained. The spa and pool are nicely laid out. As stated in prior reviews, you can see the parking lot from the rooms, but I did not find it objectionable. Breakfast was delicious! Most importantly, they strive for a level of service that one would expect from a top-notch hotel. When mishaps occurred, as they are bound to anywhere, the problem was promptly corrected. For example, the first night we made a fire in our fireplace. Smoke entered the room. They quickly moved us to another room and the next day provided us with a complementary fruit plate as an apology. On our last day, we requested a late check out for 3PM. At 1:30, they notified us that they wanted us out by 2. We were irritated, but OK...then someone knocked and keyed in at about 1:45 while we were changing to go to the pool. When I complained, they told us we could stay in the room as long as we liked, and they treated us to lunch by the pool. We are discriminating and sometimes demanding travelers who have stayed in the finest properties worldwide. Things are rarely perfect, but the difference between a fair experience and a great one is the level of service, and in this regard, the Encantado excels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.