We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Desert Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“High Desert Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Situated in the high desert, several miles north of Santa Fe, Encantado is a wonderful spa-resort. If price is a consideration, this may not be the resort for you however. Stay in one of the casitas and bask in luxury. As others have said, the view may be of the parking lot but look beyond. Escape the tourists of Santa Fe and indulge in the quiet of Encantado. Complimentary drivers will deliver you to Santa Fe and return. Enjoy the restaurant and lovely bar service. The pool is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    94
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
83
305
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This resort compelled me to write my first review on this site, and I have a lot to say. We were passing through Santa Fe and decided to check up on this site for the best hotels. We saw that the Encantado Resort and Spa was the #1 hotel of the area, so we looked at the great reviews, read the described lavish accommodations, and saw the not too bad costs ($400/night +resort fee). This was definitely better than going to the Hyatt Regency Tamaya near Bernalillo (the go-to resort of New Mexico for us) on paper. We booked, we came, and we tried to enjoy our stay.

First, don't get me wrong; this is a wonderful resort and a destination in itself. They tout themselves to be a five diamond, five star resort and pretty much hit the bar on luxury on a lot of things. But my family and I have stayed at many other five diamond resorts, as well as five star resorts; we've even been fortunate enough to hit two other five diamond, five star resorts as well. I just have to say that in our opinion, they are at least 3 star, 4 diamond or at the most meets the bare minimum of a 5 star, 5 diamond resort.

We drive up and check in, which was fairly fast and efficient. The resort resembled to us a less red Enchantment Resort in Sedona, AZ. This made us smile, seeing that that resort is one of our favorites. Basically, the rooms are divided into sub-houses (casas) and the rooms (casitas) are pretty big (630-900sf). The floor plan for our room was a divided foyer with one side going into the bedroom and the other the bathroom; in the foyer is a cedar chest and a wet bar with a LOT of complementary drinks and costly alcoholic drinks. The bathroom had a large wooden closet, large soaking tub, large tile walk in shower, separate closed-in toilet, two sinks, ten ounce bottles of shampoo and other complements, and heated floor (that didn't get over 78 degrees Fahrenheit). The bedroom had a 40+" TV (not sure if it's LCD), two queen beds, small kiva wood fireplace, sliding doors to a patio that had two chaise lounges and a table with two chairs. Our view wasn't outstanding, but it was beautiful; it was a good choice to put the fence for not only privacy, but also blocking the view of the parking lot. Overall, all of the above certainly is worth the $400.

To save room, let me do a pro/con of the rest of our trip:

Pros-
-Free (municipal) water everywhere, which is a good thing for an arid area
-Beautiful views everywhere, especially at sunset
-Pool, movement studio, fitness center, and spa are above expectations (spa had modest treatments, but the steam room and hot tubs were nice)
-Food at the bar was nice, not great, but not bad
-10 minutes to downtown Santa Fe
-Complimentary Mercedes use (we didn't use it, but we smiled when we saw we could use a convertible)
-Complimentary beverages in room, as well as a small treat during turn down
-Very helpful concierge and waiters
-You feel nice everywhere on the resort...

Cons-
-...except for your room (flaws below)
-They need a more stable fan (*click*click*click*click*click*click*click*click*)
-The emergency flash light did not work at all during our stay
-If someone within the casa does not open their flue while starting their fireplace, everyone will get smoke in their casitas
-Bugs EVERYWHERE (not so much in the room, but when is any acceptable?)
-Beds were uncomfortable (a wooden block surrounds the not soft mattresses, making it hard to enter and exit the bed, especially if two people are sleeping in the bed
-Even if you don't leave the card on the bed (which means they should change the bedding), they still won't change the sheets
-Housekeeping is very inconsistent, so much so that their turn down service made us miss any possible chance for dinner (we refused to do room service with a burger costing $15 + 20%)
-Patio was very dirty, especially the brown chaise lounges
-HBO only works past 7pm?
-The shower was displeasing to say the least (could smell the clay underneath the tile, the water smelled awful, no pressure at all through a sub-par shower head)
-Shampoos and others were not replaced, but rather unscrewed and filled to the top; that's acceptable for a public restroom, not a 5 star, 5 diamond resort
-Responses by staff, though pleasant, are not what should be heard by either a five diamond or five star hotel or resort
-Not much of a lobby (little nitpick, but we pay attention to these things)

Overall, we half enjoyed our stay at the Encantado. "Enchanted" they're not, but they give a run for everyone's money for being a great resort in New Mexico. In essence, there are much better hotels, but there are much worse hotels, too. Would we come back? Maybe, only if the cons were taken care of and they cared to listen to us personally. Should you stay? Yes. We're very picky people, but we know that this is at least a great resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

TripAdvisor has always been a valuable resource in helping me plan my trips. I want to provide my feedback here so that it will help you make your decision. Comments provided below are not meant as criticism but feedback for management to make improvements.

We were specifically looking for a quiet getaway destination resort outside of Santa Fe and decided to stay at Encantado (in a Vista Casita) for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend in May 2010.

In a nutshell:
- Great location, expansive view
- Spacious, comfortable, private, quiet, well appointed room and bath
- Excellent (Terra) restaurant
- Friendly staff
- Service was good but not excellent (should be a lot better to be considered 5 star)
- Nicely designed Spa facility with good treatment
- Well equipped gym facility for a serious workout and cardio
- In-room iPod dock
- Wi-Fi Internet connection
- Nightly turn down “treats” are different and delicious!

Conclusion:
There were many rave reviews about the service here so I was a little disappointed that it was not spectacular. It wasn’t even great. Just good at best. (I get better service at a W Hotel or at a Ritz Carlton.) Within the Santa Fe area, I don’t believe there are many options for upscale resorts so I would still stay here again if I wanted to be in the Santa Fe area and/or if I can find a great deal! Otherwise, there are other upscale destination resort options elsewhere (eg: Amangani in Jackson Hole, WY)

Full review:
Overall, we wanted the experience to be excellent based on the top dollar rates they commended but felt that the value was not all there. In fairness, the staff really tried to go out of their way to provide top service but I felt it was not consistent throughout and awkward in some instances. Seems like the staff are relatively new and not “seasoned” or experienced (not as confident) compared to other upscale resorts (Four Seasons, Aman Resorts, etc) in this price range.

This is not a big deal but serves as an example: On the first evening, we requested ice for the room. On the second evening, they had turned down the room but no ice provided. On our way to the dining room for dinner, we stopped at the front desk to request ice for the room and after an enthusiastic “yes, we’ll take care of it!” Arrived back at the room later with no ice! Had to call again for ice. The expectation for a high end resort is to “know” our needs after our first request that we would like ice in the room! It should have been provided at turn down every evening. AND certainly when a request was made in person, it should have been delivered as promised! So a missed opportunity to "Wow" us!

Another morning, when the host sat us down for breakfast. She asked abruptly, “What is your name?” I thought her directness was rather rude?! Especially since she never explained WHY she needed to know my name?! In a smaller upscale property with less than 100 rooms … The expectation is that the staff would greet you by name or at least recognize you and make the connection that we had spoken before.

There’s several mention in the reviews here about the overall design of the property and I have to agree that it was not as well thought out as it could have been. This is not something they can be resolved at this point but it’s unfortunate but the views are definitely not maximized or “framed” for impact from the guest rooms and public spaces. The convenience of driving up to your casita is similar to the design of a motel (albeit a very expensive motel) and looking over the parking area with the occasional noise, (not to mention the numerous white service carts), are minor nits but just not consistent with a place of enchantment?

We had a rental car so we did not use the (Mercedes-Benz) car service but thought the shuttle service into downtown Santa Fe was a great idea.

Since we had our own rental car, the check-in process was a bit awkward. After conducting the paperwork at the front desk (which was painless and efficient), we had to follow the bellman (driving his Benz) to our Casita. As we unloaded our bags, he tried to wrestle them away from us (in the name of service). It was odd, so in the end, we just asked for the room key and parted ways in the parking area.

Our room (a Vista Casita) was on the second level and was well appointed! (As you would expect at these rates.) This was probably the best part of the whole experience. Our room looks exactly like those photos featured on their website. It’s spacious with a large bathroom, large bath towels, large soaking tub, large separate shower stall with a single shower head (a dual shower head and/or a shower wand would have been nice!), in-room Kiva fireplace, large closet, and a large spacious and private patio deck. (Yes, the rooms have an iPod dock!)

Again, the orientation of the Casita could have been better situated to take FULL advantage of the spectacular view. All they needed to do was rotate it by 20 degrees to face the view. Instead you are facing the sides of the Spa building?

The Spa is designed as a private enclosure with an inner courtyard. Since it didn’t take advantage of the view, it could have been situated elsewhere on the property. Instead, it’s right in the middle blocking some of the view corridors from the casitas.

We had spa treatments and they met our expectation and were comparable to other resorts. Unfortunately, the men’s steam room was out of order while we were there. There is a private jacuzzi/outdoor patio area for sunbathing within the men’s locker room area. I was relaxing and enjoying the moment until a FEMALE spa attendant walked in to service the area!!?! I don’t know who was more embarrassed?! She was apologetic but after that, it just ruined the mood and I decided to leave.

The pool area was most disappointing for a destination resort. I’m assuming the metal railing around the pool is part of a required safety code? It felt like an afterthought and wasn’t well integrated into the overall design. Again, it reminded me of a motel pool! The Jacuzzi here was small and not at all inviting. The water was cold and it looked dirty?

Unfortunately, while I was trying to enjoy the sunshine by the poolside one morning, there was a young child playing loudly in the pool. He was shouting/whining back and forth to his mother (or grandmother?) and she made no attempt to control him. In fact, she was just as annoying! It wasn’t relaxing. After 10 minutes I had to leave the pool area!!! (PARENTS: Please… when you’re in public with your children, please supervise them appropriately!!!! This is not a child oriented resort.) Obviously this is of no fault of Encantado. However, management could place discreet signs to encourage a peaceful, quiet environment. Nameste!!!

The resort has a well equipped gym with free weights, fitness machines, treadmills, bikes and other cardio machines. There’s also a Yoga pavilion.

Terra restaurant at the Resort was superb. I thought it was actually better than Geronimo’s (rated one of the best in Santa Fe) which we also dined at on this visit. The bar menu is also great if you want a more casual dining experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

This is a luxury resort in a gorgeous secluded setting a short distance from Sante Fe. At first I was put off by the number of staff that ran out to great us when we arrived, but then I kind of sunk into the luxury of the place and the excellent service. Our room overlooked the mountains, was so beautifully decorated in calm colors with the most comfortable bed. Beyond this, extra touches like homemade chocolates on our bed at turn down serivce, the spa which can be used by guests includes a hot tub strewn with flowers, a steam room and rain showers, and the free non-alcoholic drinks from the in room fridge. The night sky is filled with stars, we sat at the bar having dinner (each night we ate there, there is a fancy restaurant with a reasonible tasting menu at $44 with large portions, the second night was bar fare). There is a large fireplace at the bar, and also in each room. You really have to allow yourself to sink into the beauty and solitude combined with modern design and impeccable service. One thing I would add would be a clock radio or a way to play music beyond what is on the satellite tv. The conceirage was fabulous, a local person it seemed who had the best tips for where to stop on the high road to Taos where we drove one of the days we were there. We could have borrowed the Mercedes convertabile (!!!) available for guests on a first come first serve basis, but we drove our car. I can't wait to return to this relaxing, heavenly oasis near the fun and cultural excitement of Sante Fe. There are also many Pueblos around the hotel which you could explore.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

spent the memorial day weekend plus one at Encantado, the choice was weighed heavily as after reading reviews both here and elsewhere, google search,etc,etc,and never been to Santa Fe, we made this choice ,and only after found out it's five star rated AAA,whatever that status affords, I belong to AAA but did not use them to decide,enough intro, this place is fabulous with perks and amenities beyond expectation, the restaurant was everything stated for food and dining, even breakfast for that matter, the fitness center is well furnished and everything is new,they even provide clean headphones for use along with water and equipment to get the holiday maintenance work out in,Pool,hot tub even a yoga room, we were in a suite that provided everything and then some, even the other room type were ambitious as we looked at them all, some though do have the parking lot view, but you've got to park somewhere and I bet in the winter that's a different point, this by no means demeans the units but we are all picky so some of us from the big city may want a different perspective, and this is available, they provide complimentary mercedes convertible use first come first serve and it's complimentary.
Best vote for romance and solitude solo, and they even take animals, responsibility for obviously a prerequisite. five star all the way from ground staff to the excellent concierge service..We will be back for certain.... as with everything in life, negotiate negotiate negotiate Auberge is first class all the way

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Stayed 5/19-5/22 in a vista suite (thanks to a LHW upgrade). This is a wonderful place only 10 minutes from downtown Santa Fe. The rooms are luxurious but you do not need to spend the extra bucks for a room with a view (vista room). The view is nice but can be seen just as well from the main building. They have a free car service to take you into town. The spa is wonderful-I had the best massage I've ever had in my life.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I'm going to echo most of the recent reviews here. I've been fortunate enough to stay at some of the best hotels and resorts in the world, and came to Encantado with high expectations. We were absolutely blown away. The service was flawless from the moment we pulled up until the day we left. Warm, friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, and professional. I was careless enough to leave my driver's license behind and a bellman rushed it to the Santa Fe airport in time for my flight. I was a Four Seasons assistant hotel manager many years ago and would be proud to call this staff my own.

Other than service, I can only rave about the gorgeous and well-equipped rooms, incredible spa, and fabulous bar and restaurant. Little things really make a difference here --- they don't charge for non-alcoholic minibar drinks and were flexible with what we ordered for breakfast despite being booked under a package that included a 'continental breakfast.' I've been to so many hotels where I feel nickeled-and-dimed, even in the $400-500/night range, and the Encantado's approach was very refreshing. I'd give very little attention to the negative comments about the parking lot. Just a slight movement of your eyes will switch your focus to the spectacular sunsets and the person you're spending time at Encantado with rather than the parking lot. Big picture, people.

I look forward to a return visit and will spread the word about this resort to a large number of Dallasites I know who escape to this beautiful town several times a year. It is worth every dime and then some.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.