We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most magical place in the southwest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Beverly Hills
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The most magical place in the southwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We met in Santa Fe with two couples who joined us from Los Angeles to go to the Opera. We stayed in one of the second floor casitas with beautiful views of the mountains and wonderful appointments in the room, we used the fitness center daily which was one of the nicest we had seen. My wife had a treatment in the spa and commented on how beautifully designed it was and the treatment was one of the best she has had. We enjoyed the pool and used the complimentary mercedes convertable one day to go to town and explore. On our final night we had dinner at the hotel Restaurant Terra and the entire party agreed it was by far our best meal in Santa Fe, the staff was superb the food amazing and the service friendly and professional. We highly recommend this new Auberge Resort to anyone looking for a very special getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    86
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
62
265
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

The very friendly and professional staff at Encantado made a big difference when compared to some of the problems within this beautiful setting. Most rooms look out over a sea of paving which could be solved by enclosing the parking area with a log fence which surrounds many of the lower level guest room terraces. A simple log style trellis over the parking spaces would soften the view from above. The guest experience could be enhanced by creating simple gravel pathways through the landscaped open areas instead of having guests walk through the parking lots to the lobby, restaurant , pool and spa. This was a big problem. The pool area is nice but is enclosed by a tall metal security fence which was probably required by code. This fence may have been eliminated within the view area by placing it at the base of the tall retaining walls beyond. The low wall at the edge of the pool terrace could also be raised o foot or two which would eliminate the view to the entry court and parking area below. The nice art gallery in the center of the porte cochere unfortunatly blocks the long vista from the pool area to the valley beyond. We understand that the parking lot problems are being addressed and more landscape screening plants will be added. The guest rooms are very nice and the buildings are cool and modern as you would expect from Auberge. The second floor view rooms look over one story units which have a flat glaring white reflective roof which could be aleviated by a beige coat of paint or some small beige gravel. There were a few other issues but all of these things will be resolved with some time and an improved economy. The attentive staff made all these problems secondary and the fantastic food at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner also helped a lot. I hope I can come again soon and spend more time.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed at the Encantado in July for a 5-night vacation. We enjoyed our stay very much and are looking forward to visiting again.

The property is located several miles north of Santa Fe, so the location to the restaurants, shopping, museums, etc. in downtown were not within walking distance like other properties. However, the resort has a convenient car service to and from downtown, which is a great service. Also, if available, you can borrow one of the Mercedes convertibles for use to drive around in, so getting to downtown was not a problem. In fact, since this was our second visit to Santa Fe, we enjoyed being a bit away from the action.

The property itself is very beautiful, but compact. All of the common areas --- lodge, restaurant, bar, pool, spa, fitness center --- are immaculate. Some prior reviewers commented on the prominence of the parking lot, and it is quite prominent, but the rooms with the higher numbers have less of a view of the lots. Drinks at the bar at sunset are a must, as is a morning coffee to enjoy the cool air.

The room (we had a vista casita, which is on the second level and has a balcony rather than a patio) was very nicely appointed and spacious. We did not use the fireplace but enjoyed time on the balcony. The well-stocked minibar (non-alcoholic drinks were complimentary) was very nice to have, as were the full-size bath products. There was a small problem with the shower door closure and we weren't fans of the coffee maker, as it was extremely loud (not good if one person is an early riser and the other is not). Also, on our first day, the in-room wireless was not working, but it was fixed by the next day. Overall, wonderful accommodations.

The best part about the experience was the service. From check-in to check-out, the staff were phenomenal --- attentive, polite, helpful and gracious. The bell staff and spa staff in particular were very pleasant, as was the concierge. They really helped to make our stay enjoyable.

In terms of on-property activities, the spa is not to be missed. It is an absolutely amazing experience in a beautiful setting. The fitness center is good, with top-notch equipment (although the room is on the small side). The restaurant, Terra, was a good dining experience, as was the bar.

We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluedot16
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Encantado is nothing short of spectacular. My husband and I stayed there through a package that we got on luxurylink.com, which ended up being an excellent deal!

We spent 3 nights at Encantado and loved every second of our trip. We went there to celebrate our anniversary and relax and that is exactly what we did.

The setting is beautiful—desert, with some greenery and flowers—encircled by mountains on 3 sides. We spent hours just sitting outside, reading and enjoying the incredibly relaxing and pristine scenery.

The resort is everything you could want. We stayed in a casita with a king bed. The casita itself was perfect. It had brand-new fixtures and a modern and clean, but still comfortable. It was very roomy, with a huge bathroom, big closet/dressing area, large bedroom and very generous patio. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom was awesome with a walk-in, stone shower, the biggest soaking tub I have ever seen and his and her sinks. We had a great view from our patio and felt complete privacy. There is a hiking trail that goes around the resort, which is very manageable and a good way to start the day.

The food was incredible. The restaurant is world class and the service was excellent—accommodating and very attentive.

The staff could not have been more gracious-every single person we encountered went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. When we asked the concierge about where to go to print out our boarding passes, he told us to give him our flight info and he checked in for us and had the boarding passes delivered to our casita.

We both had massages, which we loved. The spa is wonderful—luxurious and very private.

I could go on and on (honestly), but will just say that this was one of the best places we have ever been. Encantado far exceeded our expectations--the natural beauty, the impeccable service, the amenities, the décor, the staff, etc. We were beyond sad to leave, but hope to be back soon.

The only “negative” comment I would make is that we were sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a gift from family. We had 2 strawberries left over that we put in the fridge to save for the following night and when we went to take them out, they were gone. We didn’t mention this when we left because we had been so pleased with the overall service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 20-year anniversary at Encantado in late May. We stayed at a gorgeous suite (#62) - very private, beautifully-appointed, indoor + outdoor fireplaces (working perfectly), and were presented with Champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries upon arrival.

We checked out other high-end places while walking around Santa Fe (Rosewood, Rockresorts) and were SO happy that we made a decision to stay in Encantado! Let me put it this way: Encantado is such a treat, that Santa Fe itself could be viewed as icing on the cake! Enjoy Encantado and consider Santa Fe town center being ~10 min drive as just a bonus feature :-)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Thought I'd check in to see how Encantado has fared since our stay there last year. We wrote off most of the glitches we experienced to the fact that they were still in construction, but now that some time has passed, the experience retains its dullness.

We wanted a quiet getaway for our anniversary, and I corresponded with the concierge prior to our stay, trying to arrange a special dinner on our private terrace upon arrival. Having given him carte blanche to arrange a meal that would be an experience to remember, the entire transaction was completely overlooked by the front desk staff, and no one seemed to know anything about the arrangements. This was brushed off, and we were offered typical room service. It was ok. The fellow who delivered the food was sweet, eager, and tried hard, but then forgot to come and clear away the dishes as asked, leaving us concerned that desert critters would come and raid the patio.

The patio, by the way, had not been cleaned, and was covered with dust, as we discovered when we went out to eat our nifty little room service anniversary dinner. Ok. Desert. Dust. Construction. Oh well. I guess I'll change into my jeans again...

After dinner it was time for a romantic soak in the beautifully designed soaking tub with a view that does not look over the parking lot and asphalt jungle separating the suite from the main lodge. Oh, what's this? Brown water? Ok, rinse out the pipes and see what happens. More brown water? The tub was filled with silt and a layer of bright red clay coated the bottom of the tub. Oh well. On to the romantic fire.

After leaving the windows open for an hour the smoke finally cleared, and we were able to breathe. No matter what we did, we were not able to work the fireplace so that we didn't fill the room with smoke, and we are experienced fire builders.

Well, finally time for a romantic evening just talking in bed. But Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...... that hum, where is that coming from? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...... It sounds like a jet is idling on top of the roof. We locate the sound, touch the wall near the sound, and the wall is vibrating. After trying to sleep for an hour, we call the front desk and they send someone to check it out. The repairs go on noisily for about an hour, and then stop. So does the hum. Turns out it is a condensor, and this is just the noise it makes. But because it wasn't super hot during our stay, it was turned off so that we could get some sleep. What in the WORLD was the architect thinking?

And this last one may seem nitpicky, but really, why in the world would someone choose to put a smoke detector with a BLINKING bright green light on the ceiling directly over the head of the bed? The sallow glow at least completed the experience of alienation we shared on this anniversary night, wondering why we had gone to such expense for such an irritating and almost comically marred experience when we could have just stayed home and been comfy.

I feel badly for the staff at this Auberge property. They all are eager to please, and obviously genuinely interested in giving people a wonderful experience. But the shortcomings of the infrastructure ensured that we will not be back, and we question the wisdom of the organization if this many design flaws slipped by unnoticed.

By all means, experience the wonderful restaurant, but stay the night only if you have too much to drink to notice the appalling design flaws.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

As many folks have already said, the best features of Encantado are the dining room and the very friendly and helpful staff. Our meals at Terra were well executed (great oxtail raviolis) and nicely presented and their wine-list is excellent and well priced. Table settings are very good, though they should have fish knives and/or sauce spoons available for seafood dishes in particular. Desserts were uninspired but passable. Overall, the DR is very good.

Room service was prompt and accurate. The huevos rancheros were served warm and properly cooked. Our suite did have certain problems. The bolsters on the sofa and chair were EXTREMELY dusty and caused one of us several fits of sneezing; the faucets in the shower are poorly designed and confusing; there was barely enough hot water for a bath and subsequent shower; the fireplaces are difficult to light and had poor draw even with the one little starter cube offered.

On the positive side, the beds were very comfortable, the bar well stocked and the size, scale, general furnishing and general cleanliness was very good (except for the bolster pillows).

Other general comments are: the industrial scale parking lot is a MAJOR design flaw of this resort and is not remediated by staying in a suite! Also, the rooms are a bit lacking in privacy and the dining room has no table which can be used for those wishing privacy or 'a discreet corner'. Also, there are labels still attached to the underside of the dining room chandeliers which are painfully visible to diners and show a lapse in finishing detail. There are also large cracks in the concrete floors which should not happen in a well executed slab. These things add up and will prevent Encantado from achieving the highest levels of regard from the most experienced of travelers and hotel afficianados.

Overall, Encantado is a solid 4 Star / Diamond experience, or a Michelin 4 House + Bib Gourmand...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.