We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

This was my first visit to Santa Fe and my first stay at an Auberge property, I loved it!. My 3-night experience (Feb 18 - 21, 2009) at Encantado was incredible! The resort is about 10-minutes from the art district of Santa Fe, nestled in quiet and beautiful foothills, has superb views and is architecturally appealing.

My casita was very spacious at over 650 square feet, a very large deck, a terrific view of the mountains, and was well designed and appointed (the Kiva wood burning fireplace was a treat). The bathroom was very spacious, had great amenities and a heated floor (a great feature). A well-stocked mini bar with complimentary (non-alcoholic) beverages was very welcome - as was the Keurig coffee maker and generous coffee and tea selections. Housekeeping did an incredible job and turn-down service was flawless.

The Encantado offers complimentary chauffeur service to and from the art district in Santa Fe, this made my need to drive unnecessary and I really appreciated that (along with the extraordinary "tips" shared by the drivers).

I did not take advantage of the Spa (unfortunately) but did tour the facilities - world class is not overstating my impression. The fitness facility is unquestionably one of the best I have seen, equipment is first-rate and the facility is very spacious and has great views. The out-door pool was closed for winter, however the outdoor jacuzzi pool was open (I intend to enjoy the Spa and pool when I return this summer).

The resort restaurant is superb! Excellent cuisine, a lovely venue, superior service and a large selection of terrific wines to compliment any meal. The bar was fairly quiet during my visit, service however was excellent and the drinks well mixed.

The entire Encantado Resort staff was genuinely gracious and first-class. I was addressed by name each time and was always asked if I needed anything to make my stay more enjoyable - very nice.

I look forward to my next visit to Santa Fe and staying at Encantado!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    91
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
75
288
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

My wife and I took a short vacation in Santa Fe (Jan. 23-Jan. 26, 2009). We have stayed in other Auberge resorts so we were delighted to find that a new Auberge resort opened in Santa Fe: the Encantado Resort.

There were many outstanding features of the new resort, along
with a few growing pains which I am sure that the management
will correct. The resort opened in August 2008 so it is less than 6 months old. The location, the view, the service, the facilities and the restaurant were, as with other Auberge Resorts, superb.

We had a problem with the Kiva style fireplace. It would not draw
properly and when we attempted a fire, we had smoke in the room. However, the existence of the problem accentuated the attention of the staff who were extremely helpful and solicitous. As a result of the problem, the resort gave us breakfast at no charge and made a substantial deduction at the time of checkout.

No lodging establishment can with 100 percent assurance guarantee the total absence of problems. We had a problem with the fireplace. The attentive and very competent staff more that made up for the problem.

  • Liked — Attentive and Competent Staff
  • Disliked — Fireplace
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortez, colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

Great new option on the Santa Fe scene. Located about ten minutes from downtown you are secluded but also close enough to make the most of the old town. The hotel even offers rides to and from town at your convenience in late model Mercedes! The property is brand new, the rooms are spacious and comfortable with all the amenities. Michel, Hans, and Marion, are a few of the incredibly accommodating and responsive staff. The food in the dining room and room service is fantastic. We like to exercise a bit while on holiday and the surrounding area is great for running or walking. Beautiful sunsets and spectacular starry nights are a bonus of staying outside of town. If you are not dead set on staying right downtown, this place is a great way to experience the southwest.

  • Liked — cleanliness, amenities, tub, wood burning fireplace
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerqe, NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in early November. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was superb. The yoga studio is very nice with a beautiful view of the mountains. The room was very nice, large and well appointed. Some reviewers have complained about views of the parking lot. The rooms with larger numbers are away from the lots. Our room was 54 and had a very nice view.

The Santa Fe Opera is about 15 min away, and the plaza in Santa Fe is about 20 min away, making it easy to get into town.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a four-day stay at Encantado and I must take issue with some of the reviews. Our stay was terrific in every way. Our room was huge, beautifully designed and furnished, and had a sweeping view of the Jemez Mountains.

Some other reviews have mentioned the parking lot views, and while that might be the case with some of the rooms, it definitely was not with ours. The fireplaces are a bit challenging - the hotel should probably offer proper fireplace tools and kindling, but they made it very clear that they were happy to come to the room and help get a fire started.

The rest of the hotel matched the beautiful rooms. The grounds are lovely, the spa is perhaps the best I've ever visited, and the staff are unfailingly friendly and experienced.

I have stayed in just about every decent property in Santa Fe and none can match Encantado's combination of accommodations, surroundings, and staff. The Bishop's Lodge has a wonderful setting but service is abysmal and the rooms are dated and problem-prone. La Posada is another nice property but service is dreadful and the spa is not particularly pleasant. Inn of the Anasazi comes closest to matching Encantado in terms of stellar service but the rooms are smaller and less comfortable and the hotel lacks a spa or gym.

I was concerned about staying so far away from the Plaza, but the hotel offers complimentary transportation just about anywhere at anytime, and the service was an absolute pleasure.

Ignore some of the negative reviews (the hotel has only been open for six months) and try it - Auberge's standards exceed those of just about every chain and it shows in all aspects of Encantado.

  • Liked — Accommodations, service, the spa - just about everything.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a single complaint.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Great resort with an incredible restaurant. Every single details has been taken care of. Wood burning fire in every room, great amenities overall with one of the best spa services ever, world class chef and great wine list. The views are alos great and even in the winter this make for an memorable stay.

  • Liked — overall perfection
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos69
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Have heard about the Encantado and namely the restaurant within, Terra. Being an Auberge resort I decided to try it out with the girlfriend for a weekend getaway after christmas. The property is very compact and seemed to focus all views on the parking, The wood burning fireplace in the room was a disaster, spent the better part of the night trying to get it to stop smoking up the room. To top it off the hotel did not provide and tools to maintain the fire(poker, tongs) so i had to maneuver the burning logs outside with the metal plate lids from room service and fashioned a poker from a piece of bamboo that was holding up some vines outside. The room was nice overall. Nice minibar and quick room service. Bath products smelled to strong and had an unpleasant odor. Hotel still needs to go a long way to compare to other 4 stars in Santa Fe .
Try Downtown.

  • Liked — The Free shuttle service to the plaza
  • Disliked — The fireplace
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.