We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY REMOTE BUT VERY REMOTE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Butler, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“VERY REMOTE BUT VERY REMOTE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place is off the beaten path, which depending on your preference, could be good or bad. First, this is the Four Seasons, right? My family of four (2 teens) stayed here recently, our first visit to New Mexico. First, this is not a traditional hotel. The resort is spread out and your "room" is actually small buildings around the property called casitas. When booking, keep in mind the location of your casita on the property and if it's a one floor or 2 floor building. Each casita has a couple rooms. We stayed in a one floor casita. The room was huge by hotel standards and spaciously fit all 4 of us, 2 queen beds plus a cot! The bathroom was luxurious and spa-like, with heated floors a soaking tub, huge shower, and a separate commode area.This was good and bad because you had to pass the shower to get to the commode and offers no privacy if someone was in the shower as the door is clear glass. There was a bar area with a Keurig, a stocked refrigerator, and snacks, keep in mind the cost though.There was a fireplace in our room with wood and firestarter (bring s'mores if you have kids) and a pergola covered patio right outside the full glass sliding doors with lounge chairs and a table. Unfortunately our view was of the front lodge but other casitas had wonderful views of beautiful vistas. Although our casita didn't have the best view, it was close to the main lodge and a short walk to the pool/gym/spa. We had some drawbacks but the staff was accommodating and came as soon as called! Everyone was pleasant and friendly. There is a small store on the property but it doesn't carry all the necessities, it is more like a boutique. For example, I needed tylenol but all they had was advil, which I can't take. I used the spa for a massage and it was great but keep in mind you will have to pay for "enhancements" which is just aromatherapy and cost $15 plus $150 for a 50 min massage. (back home I pay $80 and the "enhancement" is included!) Now for some negatives, which I really didn't anticipate from a Four Seasons. This is a RESORT! not really a "hotel". The wi-fi is free but only for 2 devices and you can buy "premium" wi-fi (which is supposedly faster) for an additional $15, make sure you bring your portable wi-fi. There were small ants in the room. Once we called housekeeping, they did take care of it but the ants did come back toward the end of our trip. There are dogs allowed. My neighbor at home has 6 dogs, another 11, I don't want to hear dogs barking when I'm relaxing on my vacation. Housekeeping, although quick when called, was sketchy on a daily basis. Some days they wouldn't replace shampoo, coffee, or creamers, dishes and they wouldn't take the dirty dishes so we would leave them outside as not to exacerbate the ant problem. There is a Keurig in the room but it didn't work properly. Toward the end of our stay, the flu in the chimney would make a squeaking noise. Although maintenance came to take a look it led to a couple sleepless nights. The pool gates slam, so if guests don't close the gate gently, it makes a loud bang and I was woken up at least 4 times from a nap. The ATM didn't work the whole time we were there, so make sure you have cash for tips before you arrive. Keep in mind, you are at least a 20 minute drive from downtown Santa Fe. Once at the hotel, forget about a nice stroll for a frozen yogurt, there is nothing around, hence the title of my post, it's remote! Also, keep in mind, most places in Santa Fe close at 5pm, so time yourself wisely. We did visit our local Albertsons to bring in some snacks and drinks as if you travel with teen boys you would understand the need. For this reason and to avoid the "hangries", we ate at the hotel quite a few times, especially breakfast, which is not inexpensive. I think $15 for 2 eggs, and an "enhancement" which is fruit, toast, or bacon/sausage, is a little excessive. We ate dinner there once. The food was good but living in a major metropolis, I didn't think it was worthy of the price. The "special" was $100 bucks for a wagyu steak, which I may be a steak snob as I've said, living in a major city, have dined at some of the best steakhouses. One more thing, I guess my OCD was acting up, but this is THE FOUR SEASONS, I don't expect to see trash in the landscaping. The same wrappers were there for at least 4 days of our stay.
The take away here is, it's beautiful (they even have a mile hike around the property guided or unguided) which is very scenic, they are friendly and accommodating. I think it is best suited for folks looking for a romantic get away or a retreat. I wouldn't visit again as a family to tour the area. I will miss the humming birds, smell of lavender, the turn down service, and the friendly smiles and service of the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a single floor room around the number 40, these have nicer views and aren't too far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    74
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
53
216
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arkansaa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed four nights and the resort is beautiful. The service was outstanding and the staff were wonderful. Our suite was great with indoor and outdoor fireplaces and a beautiful view from our patio. The only downside was the restaurant which was fair. It was okay, but not worth the money. Otherwise our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights June 30 - July 5, 2014. A superb resort in all regards. Excellent service and staff. Nothing but great Four Seasons service. Terra, the restaurant is great. The hotel is located 15 minutes from Santa Fe in the foothills. Shuttle service is provided all day/evening.
This hotel goes out of its way to impress. Understated, casual, but excellent all at once. The gym, pool, in-room dining, friendliness of staff, restaurant, were all tremendous.
Santa Fe is wonderful. Part mountains, part desert. Very scenic. Fresh air, big beautiful, blue skies. Great sightseeing. We hiked and biked. Others enjoy the art galleries or opera, which are world class. A great destination!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finishing up a great stay here. This is our third time back and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Santa Fe.
Great views, great food and drinks, relaxing and still close to the plaza.
Oh, and the rooms aren't rooms! They are sweet, warm casitas with lovely private patios!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very fortunate to partake in the resort's first ever tailgate dinner for the Santa Fe Opera opening night 2014. What an incredible experience. Our group of ten people were shuttled to the opera house for a backstage tour beforehand and then escorted to an incredible setting in a tent in the parking lot. The tailgate party is quite a legend for opera goers and the Four Seasons staff and chef Andrew Cooper did not disappoint for their first time. We were served a four course meal based on the opera (Carmen) along with a glass of champagne, a signature cocktail, and some incredible wine. The whole experience was unbelievable and I highly recommend the package. An incredible event for opera lovers.

The Four Seasons Rancho Encantado property is perfect in every way - the casitas are comfortable, quiet, well stocked, and have gorgeous views. The staff is top notch for service and will accommodate any request. I was also fortunate to have one of the best massages I have ever had at the spa. They are very dog-friendly also. Be sure to position yourself at the outdoor fire pit for a sunset cocktail.

This place is very special to me.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level casita for stellar views and sunrises/sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Greetings from Santa Fe!

I am thrilled beyond words to read that your Opera Tailgate experience with our amazing Chef Cooper here at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado exceeded your expectations! As you mentioned our Opera nights are legendary and have become a yearly tradition with some patrons. We have an amazing partnership with the Santa Fe Opera and having such luxuries as back stage tours and tailgate parties are what make the Opera Season so special! I completely agree with you that our casita's are comfortable and cozy, especially with the fireplace, as well as our service being top notch. Our staff takes great pride in what they do, and I will definitely pass on your kind words to our staff. We consider all of our guests as friends of the resort and I would love to personally greet you on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here for 5 nights and loved it! Each casita is private, has beautiful views, fireplace, large tub, shower, comfortable beds, patio with table and lounge chairs! We were here for a business program and the food that was prepared for us was excellent - they took great care of us, the staff at the resort is wonderful!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Rhodymom2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, the beds, fireplace, tub and more to the food in Terra Restaurant! And especially important to us, our service! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort is a little ways from town, but we never felt like leaving because we enjoyed our casita (#59) and the facilities so much. The service was impeccable, especially for in-room dining. Our casita was luxurious, spacious, and very private, and it had a lovely sunset view. The pool is very nice, with a full service for food and drinks. The fitness center is minimal but has a little of everything. We didn't use the spa or yoga room. The restaurant and bar are very good with a nice variety, so you don't have to go to town. We did find the southwestern and Mexican dishes to be very bland, which was disappointing for being in the land of Hatch chiles. Overall it's difficult to find fault with any part of it; it was a marvelous place to spend our romantic and peaceful honeymoon.

Room Tip: Sunset casita #59 is at a higher elevation, has an enclosed patio, and a great sunset view. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful pool and amazing views! Our resort is the perfect destination for a relaxing and luxurious honeymoon getaway, Congratulations! I am very pleased you enjoyed Terra Restaurant & Bar, I will pass on your kind words as well as your suggestions to our Chef and kitchen staff! We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Cindy Racco,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.