We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Retreat - everyone loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Executive Retreat - everyone loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Organized an executive retreat for 20 - productive yet relaxing in a fabulous, memorable location. Board room was comfortable and met our needs. Restaurant food was very good and lots of great options nearby in Santa Fe. Every room afforded great privacy and fireplaces in the room and on the private deck were a perfect touch. Highly recommended for business meetings.

Room Tip: Every casita offered privacy and quiet. Casitas up the hill had better views, but stunning location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Matthew M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent retreat at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado, Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from the Board room, casitas, to Terra Restaurant, and especially our relaxing atmosphere! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your group back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, it was a joy to have your group with us!

Sincerely,
Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    74
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
55
218
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed only one night on a week-long jaunt from hotel to hotel, so we likely did not see everything that others have. Front desk and door personnel were very nice, well trained and helpful. Bar service was excellent, too.

The room was one of four in a casita, though for all I know, we might have been the only occupants. In any event, it was quiet. the only exception was the ceiling fan, which had two speeds - off, and thunderous jet blast. Yes, the view is largely scrub trees and brush, with mountains a few miles off, but that is what Santa Fe is, so I have no issues there. The sunset from the balcony was one of the most spectacular I have ever seen. Air conditioning could have been more robust (it was in the 90s in Santa Fe that week)

There is a hiking trail on the property, which you can take for a quick morning mile, or can detour for a longer hike. Gym is first rate, too.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room with a balcony that lets you catch the amazing sunsets. We were in #44, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The resort is about five miles from downtown Santa Fe in secluded location surrounded by the hills/mountains. It is a beautiful setting, and the grounds are beautiful as well. The hotel offers a free shuttle for trips downtown, which makes it easier to visit and avoid parking issues. Our casita was spacious, well appointed, with plenty of luxury perks like a heated bathroom floor and a huge closet and bath area. The bed and bedding felt like a cloud. All casitas have an outside patio to enjoy coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. The Pool area was great with wonderful views. The Restaurant offered wonderful food. If you want downtown action, this is not your place, but if you want someplace removed, quiet and serene, the Four Seasons is a wonderful choice. The casitas are spread out which adds to the ambience, but it can be a walk to the main services (pool, spa, dining room). I didn't mind that, but if you want to be close to services I would request a room close to the lobby of the resort. The service is very attentive and accommodating. Finally, it is quite pricey, but it is a Four Seasons.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Kirk B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased that your visit to the property was enjoyable. Since our resort is located just right outside of the downtown area it is able to offer our guests the peace and tranquility of northern New Mexico. It pleases me immensely that you were able to enjoy our room accommodations, including our spacious tubs and heated bathroom floors as well as our terrific culinary offerings. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back personally on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

no heated pool and no spa. Rooms are small, and internet connection horrible, Housekeeping and staff the worst, I ever seen in a four season. The restaurant and the location is the only good thing. No activities at all for children's.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Rodrigo F:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado on Trip Advisor. We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. With that being said, I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the challenges that you encountered during your stay. In regards to your comments about “no heated pool and no spa,” our pool’s temperature is 80.7 degrees year round and we do have a 10,000 square foot spa with 16 treatment rooms and a warming room available for our resort guests. I apologize that this was not communicated to you during your visit. However, at your earliest convenience, may I ask if you can provide me with your telephone in order for us to speak directly regarding your stay? My direct line is 505-946-5801 if you wish to call me at your convenience. We understand that there are many choices for you to decide from when traveling to Santa Fe and we appreciate your business and loyalty to our brand and our resort and we want to make sure that this continues. Once again, thank you very much for reviewing us and providing us valuable feedback. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This property is beautiful, the location outside of town is a plus. We have stayed at many Four Seasons, this being the first that seemed lacking. Our room (#2) was nice but looked over some trees and brush, no real view. We were able to hear our neighbors very easily. The bed was very comfortable, the closet and bathroom amazing. However, the room wasn't quite "Four Seasons quality" although the price certainly was. We absolutely loved the food, the restaurant, the bar and room service served spectacular dishes, all made with fresh ingredients by gracious staff. They also were very accommodating and provided a dish via room service that was not on that menu, only served in the restaurant. The spa was disappointing. The services we had wanted were not available even though we called a week before arriving. We settled for others which were fine. The shock came in the women's shower area, there were piles of wet towels in the showers along with clumps of hair in the drain. So not the Four Seasons experience.

Room Tip: I would call the hotel and ask for the sunset view rooms. They sit higher on the property and altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Greetings from the City Different,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort following your stay with us.
Your review regarding the noise in your room will definitely be passed onto our Director of Engineering. I also apologize that your visit to our Spa was not to your expectations, we use all feedback as a learning experience and discussions have been had with the appropriate people. We only want our guests to experience the absolute best, and we are genuinely sorry this was not the case for you during your visit. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience in Terra Restaurant and Bar and that your in rooming dining experience was also great! Our Food and Beverage team is amazing, and I will pass your comments on to Chef Andrew Cooper so he may let his staff know as well.

Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the number listed below. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
(505) 946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Key to this resort is location: about five miles from downtown Santa Fe, perched on a mesa below the Sangre de Cristo mountains. You can use hotel shuttle for trips downtown, which makes it easier to visit and avoid parking issues. The rooms at the resort are Four Seasons quality--spacious, well appointed, with plenty of luxury perks like heated bathroom floor. In fact, our bathroom was almost bigger than one of the other places we stayed on our trip. It was cold during our stay, so we didn't use the outside patio, but it would have been great in warmer weather. We had a massage at the spa, which was wonderful. Pool area looked great but as it was cold we didn't use it. Restaurant has a well deserved reputation for excellent food. If you want downtown action, this is not your place, but if you want someplace removed, quiet and serene, the Four Seasons is a great choice.

Room Tip: Casita style rooms scattered around the site. If you have trouble walking, be sure to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Greetings from the Land of Enchantment,

We appreciate you taking the time out to review us regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree our heated floors are not only luxurious, but very helpful trying our cold winter months! I want to personally thank you for your complimentary comments about Terra Restaurant, when you commented “Well deserved reputation for excellent food.” we cannot thank you enough for your kind words. I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the resort during your next visit to the City Different.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

One of the best experiences we have ever had! Friendly staff, beautiful location, best spa we have ever been to. Make sure to try the couples massage experience, private hot tub and dry steam room. Great hiking.

Room Tip: stay on the second floor the views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSRanchoEncantado, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Greetings from the City Different!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. You are absolutely right our spa is amazing! And the views during our hiking adventures are breathtaking. We are very proud of our accommodations and our staff, and we are so pleased that you had a nice anniversary and enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.