We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First Class Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Like other guests, we started at a downtown Santa Fe hotel to really take in the Plaza and it's attractions. At the end of our stay we booked three nights here to get away and relax a little more. This plan worked perfectly and I recommend to all considering a Santa Fe trip.

Overall, we found this hotel stunning. A different design with Villa style rooms horizontally arranged, it fit the style of the area well. Our room had a huge bed and bathroom (the latter of which my wife still pines for) and a nice little patio area. Also, coffee machines and whatever you could need in the minibar.

Restaurant and bar (Terra) and both top notch. You should have a meal at Terra before you go, was on top 3 meals of my whole trip. Spa area was also very nice, they seem to have every sort of procedure you could want. Heated pool and hot tub looked nice but it was way too cold.

What I really think puts this hotel over the top is the Guest Services crew, particularly the crew that drives you in the shuttle to town and back. This "shuttle" mind you, is luxury SUVs that make you feel like a king. They were able to take us in town and back whenever we needed as long as we called the number. They were prompt, courteous, and exceptional.

The one and only thing I would correct, is to make their WiFi Internet policy more clear, having an easy and free Wi-Fi signal is par for the course these days, the hotel should get on board. A minor quibble though compared to everything else.

I don't tend to stay in this type of hotel often, as I don't think you always get what you pay for. This hotel is an exception, kudos to this staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reason88,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. In regards to our internet wifi policy, we have installed and monitor the firewalls and ability for others to hack into guests’ information over wifi. Our wifi service is secure as opposed to other businesses and hotels that do not have secure wifi access and we are truly sorry for not notifying you of this policy during your check-in process. However, please know that we take all of our guests comments and concerns very seriously in order to use them as learning tools to better our the service that we provide to our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We appreciate your business and loyal patronage to our brand and we hope this will continue. I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    99
    39
    17
    4
See reviews for
91
309
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Front staff helpful with suggestions for hikes and activities in the area
Raika (sp) is the BEST mani/pedicurist and uses hot stones , great technique, she truly knows her stuff!
Housekeeping was very attentive and kind. We did not have a complaint in the world!

Room Tip: all the rooms are very nice and large- there are only 60 Casidas on property, some room have a sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Dorian H:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your manicure and pedicure with Reiko. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with Reiko and the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Once again, your time and comments are truly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to our resort!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved being outside of town and the special attention we received from the staff. Our casita had a fantastic sunset view with nicely furnished patio and the fireplace was the perfect addtion to our 25th anniversary trip to Santa Fe. We would highly recommend this experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Camille M:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; especially as you visited our resort for a very special anniversary celebration! As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

At our first visit to Santa Fe, we divided our time between an in town small hotel and the Four Seasons. I highly recommend it. Staying in town the first few days, we were able to roll out of bed & walk to the plaza for exploring, shopping, eating, etc. After 3 days, the very nice shuttle driver from the Four Seasons picked us up at our Inn and brought us to Rancho Encantado. The 15 minute ride brought us out to the middle of a barren landscape with mountains in the distance. It was gorgeous. The resort is made up of casitas which are adobe and fit beautifully into the landscape. Inside, we had an alcove with a keurig machine and small frig, kiva fireplace, ceiling fan, porch with a mountain view, and a large bathroom with two sinks and heated floors. The casita is decorated in earth tones and is very soothing. Everyone was very nice and helpful from the minute we arrived. The fellow that showed us to our room, built a fire for us to start our stay. Our Four Seasons visit was built in as a place to relax before we headed back home. This is a perfect resort for relaxing. There is an outdoor pool. If space allowed, an indoor pool would be a welcomed plus. It was early October and the temperature was in the 40's. There was no way this Southerner was going in that outdoor pool - heated or not! There is a small, nice workout and yoga room. There were no yoga classes while we were there but that would also be nice to have a more active exercise program. You can take a 1 or 3 mile hike behind the hotel, which is an invigorating way to start the day in the cold October New Mexico weather. The nice restaurant Terra is wonderful for both breakfast and dinner. We also had dinner in the bar one night and it was also good for more casual fare. To go from a 4 1/2 star to a 5 star property I have a few suggestions: 1) grow your exercise program (I think a lot of people visit your resort to exercise and relax) 2) phase out the keurig machines and replace with nicer nespresso or verissimo machines 3) add a nicer turn down feature - It is always helpful when resorts add a piece of paper telling of the next days weather - Also, if you had exercise classes those could be listed. A nice turn down sweet would be a nice touch - chocolate chile truffle or something with the flavor of New Mexico and 4) the most important complaint - there really needs to be some way to soundproof the rooms better. We heard the tv from our neighbors casita every day during our stay. Although I point out the suggestions above, don't get me wrong, we had a wonderful stay at the Four Seasons. The casitas with their wonderful kiva fireplaces and view of the distant mountains are so relaxing and a pleasure to spend time in. The food is top notch and the staff are friendly and accommodating. If you want to relax, this is a great place to come.

Room Tip: If there are stand alone units they would be worth it due to the lack of soundproofing. If not, def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear NorthCarolinaRoxy:

Thank you so much for your taking the time out to write a review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I can't thank you enough for providing feedback about your stay with us. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team as there is no greater motivator than a job well done. With the being said, we take all feedbacks that we receive from our guests seriously as we utilize them as learning tools to enhance the services that we provide to our guests. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The entire staff of the Rancho Encantado made this a very special and memorable event for our entire family and guests !! Highly recommend for business or family events or for just a nice weekend in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Ask for the Sunset Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear jflown,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. I would have to agree with you that our resort is the perfect for any leisure or business travels. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We appreciate your business and loyal patronage to our brand and we hope this will continue. I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not your typical Four Seasons. Clusters of 2 and 3 casitas sprinkled along the hillside with commanding views of the dessert. Main lodge with restaurant, fitness and the spa are just a short walk from any room. We enjoyed the fact that we were outside of downtown by about 10 minutes. It gave us a more diverse experience of the area.

We loved the views from our room and lighting our log fireplace in the morning having coffee and listening to the haunting songs of the coyotes in the distance. Rooms were spotlessly clean, wife loved the heated floors and bright large bathroom. It can be noisy if there is an event going on at night but we enjoyed the music and didn't bother us at all.

But what really made the Four Season special was the level of service and treatment we received from the staff. We always had enjoyable conversations with front desk staff, always very happy to offer suggestions or make a reservation for us. From bus person, bellman, hostess, management, servers, reservations and kitchen, everyone was genuinely egger to please. Staff often continuing a conversation from a previous day remembering things we spoke about or asking how our day was.
I would certainly recommend a stay here. See my review separate of Tarra Restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear john b:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. I am delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that the resort has to offer. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future when your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Four Seasons Encantado is about a 15-20 minute car ride from downtown Santa Fe but it might as well be on another planet. Silence reigns at this serene outpost surrounded by beautiful scenery and filled with superb service.
There is a team of wonderful concierges who know about everything in the area and as far away as Albuquerque and Taos. They do dinner recommendations and reservations, give you driving directions, suggest shopping stops and help evaluate "degree of difficulty" for area pueblos and walking tours. They are knowledgeable and considerate, taking into account my 86 year old mothers difficulties with walking and "odd" foods. Martha started helping with dinner reservations through on line conversations and made us happy while we were still in Albuquerque staying at another hotel. She continued to be a real treasure all through our stay.
The valet team will drive you in and out of town on the hour and half hour respectively. They are also very kind, almost backing the car up to our room so my mom wouldn't have to walk the extra few feet to the front steps at reception. They are all real gentlemen and also know about the history of the property and the area. They are conversational when you'd like but never intrusive.
Make sure you catch the sunset from the terrace outside the bar and restaurant. Best view in town. Larry the bartender is also a delight and will mix up a lovely refresher to go with the sunset.
The restaurant, Terra, is a treat as well. Service is lovely, both at breakfast and dinner. Gustavo, our waiter at breakfast, made us feel pampered and happy. Kyle, our busboy was funny and cheerful. Dinners were wonderful as well. The bar serves its own menu or you can get anything on the Terra menu as well. Managers are always checking on tables to be sure you're happy.
The only down side was a wedding that took place on Saturday night and brought the place from about 35% occupancy to 100%. The band was rehearsing in the afternoon, making the noise level at the pool much too loud for me. I went back to my room to sit on my patio but alas, it faced the pool and band. It continued until 10:30pm when it was shut down as promised but the bass up until that point was loud enough to vibrate the windows in our room. The housekeeping service was much later on those days. You could see the obvious effects of the total occupancy. The resort did comp us to a lovely dinner along with sincere apologies for the noise. I do think they need to rethink their wedding venue.
The spa menu didn't have enough options, a disappointment.
I was actually originally considering a location in town but opted for the Four Seasons because it would be very quiet and out of the way of the hustle and bustle of downtown. I got what I wanted until the wedding, which ended the tranquility I had booked this resort for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear mariank9camp:

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with Kyle, Martha, Gustavo and the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. With that being said, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we caused you regarding the noise from the wedding and housekeeping service being later during the day. We take all of our guest’s feedback very seriously to utilize them as a learning tool in order to improve the services that we provide to our guests. Once again, thank you for taking the time out to share your impressions from your visit. Your time and feedback are truly appreciated. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.