We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but off brand for 4 Seasons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice, but off brand for 4 Seasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant, comfortable stay at the Four Seasons over Labor Day weekend. The staff was nothing but friendly, and the room was comfortable and spacious. I especially liked the bathroom with radiant heat concrete floors. The setting here is great, and the trails and roads leading from the hotel are great for a morning hike or run. There is a very nice looking spa, and a great fitness room for those who are looking to stay active while on vacation. We really liked staying outside of town in a rural area, and the chauffeured Mercedes shuttle service to/from town makes the 10 minute drive all the more pleasant. The town of Santa Fe is nice, but there's only so much adobe and turquoise you can see; so it is great to stay in a beautiful setting with numerous additional activities.

The negatives come from the fact that this place didn't seem to quite match the look and feel of a typical Four Seasons property where service and amenities are polished from the second you enter the property. The property seemed a bit understaffed, and some of our arrival and bell hop experience seemed unrehearsed and awkward . We arrived at night and it's a very dark property. The process for getting to our room and our bags to our room in pitch black even with the bell hop's assistance was confusing and definitely not seamless.

The main problem with this hotel though is its design. The buildings and décor are simple and attractive enough (especially after you've grown tired of adobe for days, the simplicity of the design here is nice) but the layout of the resort is terrible. There is no clear pathway to any of the guestrooms from the main building, pool and spa area. TO get from about half of the rooms, to the main building, you have to cross parking lots and pass by the back of the spa building which is not particularly attractive, and not masked with much landscaping. At night way finding signage and footpath lighting is poor at best and makes for a potentially dangerous trek to some of the guest rooms. Some of these flaws cannot be changed, but many can be remedied simply.

The resort should invest in MUCH better wayfinding signage (both when driving into the resort, and for walking around the resort), and perhaps create more pleasant attractive pathways with subtle lighting to and from the main area. It would not take a lot as the natural setting here is really beautiful, and the rustic native landscaping is very nice. The pool area could use a little help too. The lounge chairs and pool are fine, but have large overhead lights that look like parking lot lighting. Furthermore, additional patio seating besides chaise lounges seems an afterthought . There are two tables and chairs (Martha Stewart living brand... at least remove the stickers guys), and a large open patio area that could be made so much more luxurious with different outdoor seating areas created.

I still recommend this hotel, as it has great rooms, a great setting, and very friendly, if at times awkward service, but know before going that the experience here will not be quite as 5-star and seamless luxury as what you may expect from the Four Seasons brand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear EvanSK85:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, the Spa and the beautiful scenery surrounding our resort. We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. Please know that the appropriate discussions have taken place in order for us to rectify the issues that you have mentioned. I hope that you can accept my sincere apologies for having missed the opportunity in providing you with excellent and seamless service that Four Seasons is known for. Once again, thank you for taking the time out to write a very detailed review regarding your recent stay with us. I hope to personally welcome you back to the resort the next time your travels bring you to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    86
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
62
264
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recently enjoyed a 5 night stay in one of the spacious casitas on this property. While the location is a bit isolated it is an easy drive in to Santa Fe. I recommend a rental car as taxi service is a challenge. It was an ideal setting for the conference and we had the entire property to ourselves. The staff were very accommodating even opening the bar for us after normal closing time one night. The meals were consistently high quality and service was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear joebfsplk:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a review from your recent conference visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We appreciate your time and comments. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. Even though our resort is located just right outside of the plaza area, it offers the best views of the Sangre de Cristos mountain ranges and the Jemez rolling hills! As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Once again, thank you very for taking the time out to write a review regarding your visit. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe on a more leisure visit.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was fortunate to join my husband while he attended Rancho Encantado for a conference.
The rooms are carefully set into the grounds, quietly elegant and in keeping with the surrounding desert.
We had indicated when we registered for the conference that I am Celiac. As is my custom, I came prepared with gluten-free snacks, just in case.
I need not have worried, there were options for me for every course, at every meal!
I can honestly say that I have never slept in a more comfortable bed, and need to find the brand name from the management of the resort.
Spa treatments were not in my budget, but I did enjoy the pool, and hiked the surrounding countryside.
There is a shuttle service to whisk you into town, but I was enjoying the peace and quiet and felt no need to leave.
Wi-Fi connections were easily made, and the fire place in our room was a lovely touch.
I am not sure why they are bothering trying to grow grass, it seems a huge waste of money. Perhaps using varying types of stone as a mulch between plantings would be more effective and use less water?
My one and only criticism is the showers. Difficult to figure out, and one small overhead shower head seems kind of blah. Short people would have a hard time reaching it too..
Someday I will return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Claire422:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate to your dietary restrictions. Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts pride ourselves for providing seamless services to our guests and we are delighted to hear that we were able to meet the expectations. If you would like to take one of our comfortable beds home with you please contact, our Director of Spa, Emily Richey via email emily.richey@fourseasons.com or telephone 505-946-5896 for more information. Please know that the appropriate discussions has taken place in order for us to rectify the shower head issue and we hope you can accept our apologies for the inconvenience that it may have caused you. Once again, your time and comments are truly appreciated. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to have you back at the resort on a leisure visit.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week while attending a conference in Santa Fe. The four Seasons is about seven miles out of Santa Fe in a secluded quiet area with beautiful views of the valley.
We really enjoyed being outside the confines of the town, out in the open and having the benefit of a great pool for the warm weather.
The hotel has several small buildings each with 2 to 4 suites. The accommodations are very comfortable, roomy, modern and private. Each suite has a balcony, small bar area with coffee and tea maker.

The service is outstanding and the food was excellent.
Beautiful spa.

There is a free shuttle into Santa Fe although a car is useful to explore the area.

We were happy we chose this hotel since the hotels in the town don't have great swimming pools ( if at all ) and it was great to be out in the country with the mountains behind us and beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Tokalosh:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased that your visit to the property for your conference was enjoyable. Since our resort is located just right outside of the downtown area it is able to offer our guests the peace and tranquility of northern New Mexico. It pleases me immensely that you were able to enjoy our spa, room accommodations and culinary offerings. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on a more leisure visit.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, NM
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband I just returned from a quick trip to Encantado. This was our second visit-the first being shortly after it opened. The landscape has grown, making it even more beautiful this time around. We arrived shortly before our appointment for a couples massage, which was wonderful. The next morning we picked up our packed lunches and headed out for a hike to Rio En Medio Falls using the map that the resort printed for us. It was a fabulous hike that I highly recommend. Following the hike we enjoyed the pool until it was time to get ready for dinner at Terra. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and are just as they appear in the photos. If you take advantage of the American Express Fine Hotels benefits you will not be disappointed. Our room upgrade was fabulous! We can't wait to return in October to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear ks0831:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had another great stay with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the exclusive amenities offered by your American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts. We understand that there are many choices for you to decide from when traveling to Santa Fe and we appreciate the business and your loyalty to our brand and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort October to celebrate your anniversary!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from a three-night family getaway, and we had an amazing time. The hotel is lovely and well-situated in the gorgeous surrounding area. Our room was enormous--we brought our children (ages 4 and 6) and shared a two-queen casita. The staff was so friendly and helpful--and so accommodating to our children. Every meal they brought crayons and made an effort to get their food out right away. During our stay the hotel was almost fully booked (they told us 97% occupancy) and it felt like we were the only ones there. We loved hiking around the property--the trails are perfect for kids as well--and spending time at the pool. My husband and I used the "shuttle service" (really Mercedes SUVs) to go to dinner at night in Santa Fe (kids stayed with babysitter arranged through hotel), and it was like having a private car. I will say the poolside service is a work in progress compared to other Four Seasons--took longer to get food, occasionally no one there to take orders, but this was so minor it did not affect our stay at all. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear 35805Kristin:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your family getaway. Our resort is the perfect escape to treat yourself and family. With that being said, I would like to apologize for your experience at the pool and please know that the appropriate discussions have been taken place in order for us to ensure that these issues does not occur in the future. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Once again, your time and comments are truly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to our resort!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from our stay in Santa Fe. The property is beautiful. The peaceful views, hiking trails and stillness was wonderful. My overall take away from this trip was not what we had experienced at other Four Seasons properties.
We had the unfortunate experience of having a VERY noisy neighbor. We had to call the front desk on 3 occasions to ask them to tell our neighbor to turn down the tv, as it was after 10pm and it was still beating through the walls. This was a huge disappointment to me. I did ask at the front desk if this was an isolated event or a common complaint and I was told it was isolated. I realize it was not completely in their control and we even said we were willing to move rooms.... but that was never offered...they did send security up one night since we had called 2 times over a 45 minute period and the neighbor had still not complied.
Other areas lacking~ the last night we were there, we did not get turn down service until 9:35pm , which we were already laying in bed so we declined the service.
We laid out at the pool for 2 hours on Monday with about 15 other guest and not one service person ever came out to check on the guest. When we were leaving the pool at about 11:30 someone finally brought out some water for self service.
On the positive~I can say the staff was very friendly, we loved our room and bathroom. The views were truly gorgeous around the property. Overall it was a nice stay, but there was definite room for improvement. I would also add the staff at Terra for breakfast were all very friendly. The bell staff was also very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Zybach:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! It pleases me immensely that you were able to enjoy our beautiful resort. However, I hope you will accept my apologies for the challenges that you encountered during your stay. Please know that the appropriate discussions have taken place in order for us to ensure that it does not occur in the future. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with our Terra and Guest Services Team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.