We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for the Santa Fe Opera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
South Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for the Santa Fe Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

And for a terrific experience in a quiet, beautiful setting.The restaurant, Terre, is very good. And I love the lack of noise pollution! The grounds are very pretty and well maintained. The pool area is spotless and a nice area to relax in. The wood burning fireplaces in the rooms (certain categories) are romantic...and practical on cooler evenings.

Room Tip: The Sunrise and Sunset suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Chris_N_SoMi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy Terra Restaurant, the tranquility of our resort, the pool and the opera! Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe and for the Opera next season!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    78
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
57
225
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sheyboygan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Absolutely the friendliest and most helpful staff ever!The restaurant staff, including the chef, was beyond charming.Everything about the resort was wonderful but it is the staff which will keep us coming back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear buenz,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased that your visit to the property was enjoyable. Our Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper is working diligently on the new fall and winter menu and you will have to visit us again to try his new creations! We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to have you as one of our guests on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully situated amongst a wonderful landscape of New Mexico's mountains. Rooms are deluxe, fireplaces,beautiful bathrooms,and wonderful bedding. Helpful staff and great service. We rented a car which was really a waste because they have the most awesome service of pick up and drop off whenever you need to go into town. Complimentary small morning hikes are informative and beautiful. They are affiliated with adventure partners and you can hike, mountain bike, all privately, and at your choice..

Feels like an unbelievable camp for adults. The space is so awesome it is so serene. We were checked in a time when it was booked to capacity and it felt like nobody was there.
Wonderful pool, good restaurants, great space.

IT'S EXPENSIVE 500$ a night but a wonderful spot for adventure hiking and relaxing. Tons of art galleries too.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Debbie W:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My sister and I have stayed here many times, starting back when it was the Auberge and through the change to the Four Seasons. We have always had a room with a balcony and a fireplace. When my sister had an allergic reaction to the fireplace, they moved us to a new room with no carpeting, which we appreciated. They keep some rooms without carpet for allergic guests and those traveling with pets. At first we felt bad that they had to go to the trouble to move us, but it was obvious that THEY felt bad about us being inconvenienced. I have never experienced such perfect service and true concern for my comfort and welfare. On one visit, I had food poisoning from another restaurant when we showed up. Before my sister could check us in, a valet brought a glass of iced ginger ale to the car for me. Later the chef put together soft boiled eggs and bread that wasn't on the menu, because I couldn't eat anything on the menu. My sister is allergic to dairy and has a violent reaction if she accidentally gets any. The hotel staff knew this, soy milk was provided and they were very careful checking with the chef to make sure we stayed dairy free. We have used the spa services for facials, pedicures, massage and a specific craniosacral massage. Elizabeth was my craniosacral masseuse and not only did a great job, she actually sang to me a little bit to relax me. As far as I'm concerned, this resort is second to none. The rooms, the room service, the restaurant, the spa.....all better than any other Santa Fe hotel. We have stayed at most of the hotels on the square and they are lovely, but the level of customer service at the Four Seasons is superb. There may be those who give it low marks in the "value" section. As someone who is in the age range of those of us who remember customer service, I would have to strongly disagree. The value of their customer service is priceless!

Room Tip: The rooms higher up the hill have a great view, also, the second story has the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Meredith W:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team and Elizabeth, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArizonaUSA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A delightful second honeymoon! We wanted a quiet environment, gracious staff, good food and drink. The atmosphere is relaxing and spacious. The views are hard to beat! Our stay was memorable and just what we hoped it would be. All desires were accommodated in a friendly manner.

Room Tip: Room suites on the northeastern slope have a beautiful sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear lifejournies:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We have to agree with you that the views of the Sangre de Cristos mountain ranges and rolling hills of the Jemez Mountains on our resort are hard to beat! As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Four Seasons is in a spectacular setting but they have yet to bring the experience up to their usual standard. The restaurant was terrible. It would have been so at any price but it stung all the more given the money we spent (this was a splurge for us, my wife's birthday). But it was truly awful service, starting off OK and then completely falling apart. It was as if once we ordered and went with the big bottle of wine, that was it--his money was made and we were left hanging. The kitchen didn't fare much better, some dishes missing and a fish that was served that never should have made it to the table. But then we couldn't send it back--because there was no one to send it back to! Our waiter was long gone. We poured our own wine throughout (which I don't really mind) and put dishes aside to clear. Sadly, I don't think it was that the restaurant management didn't care. I think it's that they didn't NOTICE. Shocking for a Four Seasons.

The room experience was generally good--but not at the level of every other Four Seasons we've visited. Front desk staff was very pleasant, if not exactly competent. They seemed new. We had a long, slightly clunky check in and a very long, very clunky check out, blamed on the computer. They were nice through it all and apologetic (which was better than we got in the restaurant), but again--compared to other Four Seasons (or St. Regis or Peninsula or Ritz Carlton or Fairmont, etc.) it wasn't even close to worth the price.

All in all, it was a gorgeous setting and very underwhelming stay (and we're actually very easy people to please). We still had a nice time in Santa Fe. Can't let a marginal hotel ruin your happy place. But we were disappointed, for sure. Next visit, we'll stay at any one of the number of places in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear D R:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort following your stay with us. Your review regarding our restaurant will definitely be passed onto our Director of Food & Beverage. We only want our guests to experience the absolute best, and we are genuinely sorry this was not the case for you during your visit. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the number listed below. We take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to regain your trust and confidence.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
(505) 946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just returned from a five day stay at this property and must say I miss it already. It is approximately one and a half hours from the Albuquerque airport. This should not deter one from staying here as they do have a shuttle that will pick up guests from downtown Santa Fe until 10:30PM. The drive is easy and the temperature was even better since it was cooler as we drove further north. The property is unpretentious and the buildings on site seem to blend into the scenery. The staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome and our room was very spacious with a fireplace and private patio. For those who like the opera the Santa Fe opera house is only about a ten minute drive. We saw La Traviata and to say it was an unforgettable experience is an understatement. With a ranging thunderstorm taking place at the most opportune times it appeared as if it was meant to be choreographed as part of the opera. There is much to see and do in the area. A stay at the Four Seasons Resort was a perfect place to relax, be on the go, and everything in between.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear lovet2travel:

We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious comments are truly appreciated. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We are always extremely delighted to hear such a positive feedback from our guests. Our property is the closest to the opera and we offer complimentary shuttle services to and from the opera. Once again, your time and your thoughtful comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.