We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
sheyboygan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Absolutely the friendliest and most helpful staff ever!The restaurant staff, including the chef, was beyond charming.Everything about the resort was wonderful but it is the staff which will keep us coming back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear buenz,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased that your visit to the property was enjoyable. Our Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper is working diligently on the new fall and winter menu and you will have to visit us again to try his new creations! We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to have you as one of our guests on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    93
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
80
298
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully situated amongst a wonderful landscape of New Mexico's mountains. Rooms are deluxe, fireplaces,beautiful bathrooms,and wonderful bedding. Helpful staff and great service. We rented a car which was really a waste because they have the most awesome service of pick up and drop off whenever you need to go into town. Complimentary small morning hikes are informative and beautiful. They are affiliated with adventure partners and you can hike, mountain bike, all privately, and at your choice..

Feels like an unbelievable camp for adults. The space is so awesome it is so serene. We were checked in a time when it was booked to capacity and it felt like nobody was there.
Wonderful pool, good restaurants, great space.

IT'S EXPENSIVE 500$ a night but a wonderful spot for adventure hiking and relaxing. Tons of art galleries too.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Debbie W:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My sister and I have stayed here many times, starting back when it was the Auberge and through the change to the Four Seasons. We have always had a room with a balcony and a fireplace. When my sister had an allergic reaction to the fireplace, they moved us to a new room with no carpeting, which we appreciated. They keep some rooms without carpet for allergic guests and those traveling with pets. At first we felt bad that they had to go to the trouble to move us, but it was obvious that THEY felt bad about us being inconvenienced. I have never experienced such perfect service and true concern for my comfort and welfare. On one visit, I had food poisoning from another restaurant when we showed up. Before my sister could check us in, a valet brought a glass of iced ginger ale to the car for me. Later the chef put together soft boiled eggs and bread that wasn't on the menu, because I couldn't eat anything on the menu. My sister is allergic to dairy and has a violent reaction if she accidentally gets any. The hotel staff knew this, soy milk was provided and they were very careful checking with the chef to make sure we stayed dairy free. We have used the spa services for facials, pedicures, massage and a specific craniosacral massage. Elizabeth was my craniosacral masseuse and not only did a great job, she actually sang to me a little bit to relax me. As far as I'm concerned, this resort is second to none. The rooms, the room service, the restaurant, the spa.....all better than any other Santa Fe hotel. We have stayed at most of the hotels on the square and they are lovely, but the level of customer service at the Four Seasons is superb. There may be those who give it low marks in the "value" section. As someone who is in the age range of those of us who remember customer service, I would have to strongly disagree. The value of their customer service is priceless!

Room Tip: The rooms higher up the hill have a great view, also, the second story has the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Meredith W:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team and Elizabeth, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArizonaUSA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A delightful second honeymoon! We wanted a quiet environment, gracious staff, good food and drink. The atmosphere is relaxing and spacious. The views are hard to beat! Our stay was memorable and just what we hoped it would be. All desires were accommodated in a friendly manner.

Room Tip: Room suites on the northeastern slope have a beautiful sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear lifejournies:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We have to agree with you that the views of the Sangre de Cristos mountain ranges and rolling hills of the Jemez Mountains on our resort are hard to beat! As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Four Seasons is in a spectacular setting but they have yet to bring the experience up to their usual standard. The restaurant was terrible. It would have been so at any price but it stung all the more given the money we spent (this was a splurge for us, my wife's birthday). But it was truly awful service, starting off OK and then completely falling apart. It was as if once we ordered and went with the big bottle of wine, that was it--his money was made and we were left hanging. The kitchen didn't fare much better, some dishes missing and a fish that was served that never should have made it to the table. But then we couldn't send it back--because there was no one to send it back to! Our waiter was long gone. We poured our own wine throughout (which I don't really mind) and put dishes aside to clear. Sadly, I don't think it was that the restaurant management didn't care. I think it's that they didn't NOTICE. Shocking for a Four Seasons.

The room experience was generally good--but not at the level of every other Four Seasons we've visited. Front desk staff was very pleasant, if not exactly competent. They seemed new. We had a long, slightly clunky check in and a very long, very clunky check out, blamed on the computer. They were nice through it all and apologetic (which was better than we got in the restaurant), but again--compared to other Four Seasons (or St. Regis or Peninsula or Ritz Carlton or Fairmont, etc.) it wasn't even close to worth the price.

All in all, it was a gorgeous setting and very underwhelming stay (and we're actually very easy people to please). We still had a nice time in Santa Fe. Can't let a marginal hotel ruin your happy place. But we were disappointed, for sure. Next visit, we'll stay at any one of the number of places in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear D R:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort following your stay with us. Your review regarding our restaurant will definitely be passed onto our Director of Food & Beverage. We only want our guests to experience the absolute best, and we are genuinely sorry this was not the case for you during your visit. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the number listed below. We take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to regain your trust and confidence.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
(505) 946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just returned from a five day stay at this property and must say I miss it already. It is approximately one and a half hours from the Albuquerque airport. This should not deter one from staying here as they do have a shuttle that will pick up guests from downtown Santa Fe until 10:30PM. The drive is easy and the temperature was even better since it was cooler as we drove further north. The property is unpretentious and the buildings on site seem to blend into the scenery. The staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome and our room was very spacious with a fireplace and private patio. For those who like the opera the Santa Fe opera house is only about a ten minute drive. We saw La Traviata and to say it was an unforgettable experience is an understatement. With a ranging thunderstorm taking place at the most opportune times it appeared as if it was meant to be choreographed as part of the opera. There is much to see and do in the area. A stay at the Four Seasons Resort was a perfect place to relax, be on the go, and everything in between.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear lovet2travel:

We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious comments are truly appreciated. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We are always extremely delighted to hear such a positive feedback from our guests. Our property is the closest to the opera and we offer complimentary shuttle services to and from the opera. Once again, your time and your thoughtful comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our second stay - and it has really come along since the Four Seasons began managing the property. As long-time Five Graces people, we find ourselves drawn to the Four Seasons property because it is MUCH better equipped than any of the other hotels (that should never be rated above this property - it should be a neck and neck race with Five Graces). The staff gets better and better. The rooms are spacious, the food is great and the atmosphere is truly special. The locals come here, bring their special cars, for a wonderful brunch on Saturdays, by the way. My wife and I have been long-time believers that the Four Seasons provides a graciousness of service the other companies have yet to figure out. To the management - we say thank you - but we encourage you to continue to address the inherited parking "view" problem that presents itself. Seems to be improving though. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a great, private casita for the romantic stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear golflefty:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado, Santa Fe! It pleases me immensely that your visit to the Resort was enjoyable and delightful. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We are working diligently on the beautification process of our resort and we hope that you will be able to enjoy it on your next visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.