We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best service we have ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maybe the best service we have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved every minute. We have stayed at some of the nicest hotels in the world. This certainly ranks among them from service to amnesties. We loved it so much we are already planning a return trip. The staff was top notch. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. Loved the heated floors. We had breakfast on our patio every morning and it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Aeashy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We have to agree the heated floors are heavenly not only during the winter seasons, but for all seasons since the weather here in Santa Fe can change dramatically. Four Seasons pride ourselves on providing seamless service and we are so pleased to hear that our staff was able to exceed your expectations! We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We will share your comments with the rest of our team as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Once again, thank you for your kind words and time to write this review. We look forward to your return to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    84
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
60
261
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Traveled from Los Angeles for a quick long weekend getaway to Santa Fe. Our first visit there, but definitely not our last. This resort will be our "pied-a-terre" for sure. It was about 10 minutes to downtown Santa Fe. They actually have shuttles that will take you to and from any location in Santa Fe. We chose to stay there because we wanted a resort-like atmosphere. We were not disappointed. When we called to inquire about activities and events, Martha, the concierge prepared specific answers to my requests/questions and emailed them to me. She came to introduce herself to us at check in.

Our rooms were beautifully appointed, huge casitas. Total luxury - heated floors in bathroom - what more can I say. Service was excellent. We went to pool on first day and had a discussion about the altitude (7000 ft.) with pool attendant, Gabby, who offered us a special remedy for altitude sickness issues. Fabi, head of food services was so personable, he quickly became our BFF.

We were treated wonderfully. Every request was immediately responded to with a welcoming attitude. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upper floors may have better views of surrounding hills and sunsets, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear laxcruising,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy everything from your room, the resort, and all of the amenities that the resort has to offer! We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. Four Seasons pride ourselves on providing seamless service and we are so pleased to hear that Martha, Gabby and Fadi were able to exceed your expectations! We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We will share your comments with the rest of our team as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Your thoughtful review and time are truly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As others have written, the resort itself are superb. The casitas are quite comfortable and luxurious. The pool, spa and fitness center are also top notch. The transportation to/from Santa Fe, about 15 minutes away, was very helpful but the times (to SF on the hour and pickups on the half hour were not real convenient).

The issue was the service as it varied from "good" to "poor" depending on the time and location at the resort. The resort is only 65 or so rooms so its not as if the staff was overwhelmed but it just seemed like the staff was not quite up to par with what you would expect from a Four Seasons staff. For example, we were supposed to get the newspaper daily...but did not get it the first morning. So, we told the concierge/front desk person who apologized and brought two papers to our breakfast table. She also said that she had made a note in our file to ensure that we would get the papers daily. However, we did not receive any paper until our final morning. Every other day we had to ask for them. Small deal, I know, but not what you would expect from a Four Seasons. We also encountered issues with breakfast in Terra on two days and issues with staffing at the pool.

Would I return to the Four Seasons? Yes, I would since the location is superb and the resort is nice. If the staffing issues were worked out, this would be my top choice in SF.

Room Tip: Vista Casitas have the best views and casitas 60-65 seem to have the best long view, even though you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear gopoets,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! I am so sorry to hear of the challenges that you encountered during your stay. Please know that we take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. I would like to discuss the issues that you encountered in Terra Restaurant and our resort pool at your earliest convenience. My contact information is below please do not hesitate to contact me at your earliest convenience. Your comments and time are truly appreciated. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
cindy.racco@fourseasons.com
505-946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this Four Seasons is a huge plus. You feel the calm and the quiet of the desert and appreciate the drama of the landscape. We were fortunate to hit a streak of scattered thunderstorms every day while we were there,so watching Mother Nature do her thing on my casita balcony was wonderful!
All the excellence one has come to expect from a Four Seasons is present here. The service, facilities and food are spot on. The deluxe casita we had I just adored. Beautiful from a design standpoint, spacious, and extremely comfortable. As with all Four Seasons beds, I didn't want to leave it! What kind of mattress is that? I want it! The soaking tub was an unexpected little luxury and much appreciated after a long hike, along with the crazy comfortable robes and slippers they provide for just kicking back in.
One suggestion and one complaint- Love the spa facilities, again very Santa Fe and lovely professional staff ( thanks to Eliazabeth for a great massage!) but I would suggest that in the women's steam room, y'all might want to consider some sort of cooling scent like eucalyptus or maybe the scent of y'all's signature oil? Anyway, it just smelled kinda musty and coppery. Doesn't make one want to linger.
And my complaint. Seriously- for the all the wonderfullness- how hard is it to whip up some great homemade muffins? Ugh! Those packaged muffins from who knows where, that taste stale and chewy. I know it's small but it's those little details that make such a difference. Enjoying a great cup of coffee and a good, house made muffin on a vacation morning with the NY Times in my hands is just one of my favorite pleasures. As it was, that muffin just put a damper on it. I have great recipes if y'all need them! :-)
Lovely, lovely stay. Will definitely be there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear burnedin,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful resort, room, and Spa. If you wish you purchase our mattresses, it can be done! Please contact Emily Richey, Director of Spa, via telephone at 505-946-5896 or via email at emily.richey@fourseasons.com and you will never have to part with our beds! We will share your comments with the rest our team and Elizabeth, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done. Please know that we take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, your comments and time are truly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just outside NYC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The "should have been in a Marlboro commercial" man showed us to our room, and you have to love a hotel where the large (and I mean LARGE) rawhide drum is immediately pointed out, along with the radiant heat in the stone bathroom floors, as an amenity.
As soon as you get north of Santa Fe, you know you're headed somewhere special. There's something wonderfully comforting about the pinon covered rounded hills, the coyote you glimpse loping along the roadside, the promise of starry nights.
We stayed in the middle of winter so it was extremely quiet. But Santa Fe charm was working its magic; everyone in the bar was talking about the homes they were looking to buy. It's not unremarkable for people to want to live where ever they vacation; what is remarkable about Santa Fe is that so many of them follow up on it. Two, and counting, from the few we met this past March.
You have to try the spa, ridiculously pricey but magical. We were treated to a rare snow shower at the end of our treatment and had to shuffle back to the warming room through dry drifting snow, but that seemed more like a treat than a nuisance.
Also, do eat at the hotel. Yes, you've come to Santa Fe to go downtown, and you will, but to miss what Andrew Cooper is doing with traditional ingredients, visits to the farmers market and his own special alchemy, is to miss one of the rising talents in the food world. It may take Food and Wine a little while to discover Andrew, but once they do, you'll wish you could say you ate with him "when".
Why didn't I give the hotel 5 stars? Really not a fan of the parking lots near the rooms/valet arrangement. Most Four Seasons use buggies to get their guests around the larger properties. I say ditch all the parking lots, create xeric gardens, and hide the guests and visitors cars behind some landscaping. I trust they'll figure it out.

Room Tip: You're going to want a second floor/view room. You need to see the light, the sunset sky. Breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear jenskar,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your winter visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful and spacious rooms, the Spa, and our Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper’s delicious creations. At the same time, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we caused you regarding our valet arrangement. Our valet parking is an additional complimentary service that we provide to our guests and we do not intend for it to be an inconvenience.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful rooms, relaxed setting, food was excellent, the staff is very attentive. The hotel is still finding its footing in terms of how it wants to fit into the local market. It really is more than simply a "Santa Fe" hotel. It is a destination resort and, as such, one really does not want to leave the place (which may not be your reason for traveling to Santa Fe). I will go back to this resort in a flash (as soon as I am able to refill my bank account in a year or two).

Room Tip: Each room is the same layout (among the best I've seen anywhere - and I travel allot), but each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Malcolm M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful rooms and resort. We would have to agree with you that our resort that our resort is not simply a “Santa Fe” hotel and we are offering many guest activities such as tequila tasting at our resort pool and cooking classes with Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper to ensure that our guests have the opportunity to enjoy all that the resort has to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Rancho Encantado for the second consecutive year for a family reunion. Last year it was an Auberge Hotel and not it is a Four Seasons. The name recognition should help keep it well occupied.
The transfer has altered little in the physical identity of the hotel, except for elimination of some parking lots that has improved the appearance of the layout. Unfortunately, not enough attention has been given to maintaining or repairing minor glitches in the rooms such as one cracked window and the water temperature in one shower that could not be adjusted down.
Other than these minor defects, the food, staff, and service was pretty much all that could be hoped for. Luncheon planned for the courtyard had to be moved inside because the only umbrellas available at the hotel were at the pool, which is very pleasant. The Spa and exercise facilities are well appointed and my $150 massage was terrific and much appreciated after 18 holes of golf at nearby Black Mesa Golf Course--probably the best nearby course in the area.
The hotel is actually in Tesuque, about 10 miles north of Santa Fe center, but the hotel does offer a shuttle service.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill the better, but rooms at lower levels are fine, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear SteveNC41,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I can't thank you enough for providing feedback about your stay with us.

I was very pleased that you were satisfied with your recent stay with us for your annual family reunion. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Please know that the appropriate discussions has taken place regarding the minor glitches that you encountered with your room. We take all of our guests feedback seriously in order for us to continue to provide and offer the best products and services that we are known for.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.