We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of knowwhere is quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“In the middle of knowwhere is quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about the great food, the incredible service, the really beatifull room, the nice pool area and great fitness area. But it is in the middle of knowwhere, so if you want SPA experience that is quiet it is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mikkel T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful Spa and Terra Restaurant. Our resort is the perfect getaway to treat yourself and family to a relaxing and luxurious getaway. However, with the short ride into town offered by our complimentary shuttle services you can experience the City Different and have it all. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    98
    38
    16
    4
See reviews for
90
308
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel has recently joined the Four Seasons brand. We stayed in March 2013.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a trip to Santa Fe. It is about 10 minutes north of town, so you will definitely need a car. However, parking (valet only) was free. Being out of town, the entire area is very quiet and relaxing - a nice change from the hustle and bustle of Old Town.

Rooms are large and spacious with 2 wood burning fireplaces (one inside and one outside). Decor is a cross between Southwest and Industrial (floors were concrete, but heated). The room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable. My only complaint about the rooms was that all the units seem to face inward towards the hotel (and parking lots) rather than out towards the scenery.

Service was good, but not quite to the Four Seasons standards. I think they'll get there soon. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful from the mildly overworked front desk person (often only one on duty) to the valets to the guy who comes out to light your fire.

Spa was great. I didn't get services, but I used the facilities. There was a fenced gender only outdoor hot tub and steamroom. The lounge was mixed gender and very comfortable.

The property has a small pool which was still covered when we were there. Pools are a bit hard to come by in Santa Fe, so this is a nice amenity for anyone who's looking.

Pros: Quiet property, landscape and setting, room size and comfort, spa facilities, pool, free valet parking
Cons: Property/Room layout, no self parking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Dayznfuz,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful Spa and our resort. The resort has gone through some enhancements since your visit to offer our guests more of the stunning scenery of the Jemez and Sangre de Cristos mountains. We would have to agree with you that by being just 10 minutes away from the down area offers our guests a more relaxing and enjoyable getaway.

Once again, thank you very much for your time. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort as one of guests in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoyed the overall aesthetic of the resort and the look and feel of the rooms. We thought the pros were a nice elegant and spacious suite with plenty of room to spread out and shed ourselves of our bike gear. We had a nice dinner in the dining room one evening and overall was a good experience. And I can't forget the rabbit that always seemed to be enjoying the plants outside our room. Unfortunately, and to no fault of the Four Seasons, the resort is very poorly designed. Our suite looked directly over the vast flat white rooftop of the entire structure, including the restaurant. As a way to solve this problem, they enclosed a rugged garden with a tall wooden fence that allowed for little to no real view. Friends in a different room commented that their view consisted of their car in the parking lot which seems to be the view from most of the rooms, so I guess we were lucky. We soon discovered this a mute point, however, as our suite faced the setting sun for hours with absolutely no umbrella or shade in sight, which severely limited the time we could have spent enjoying our lovely patio anyway. The dinner was nice, but left wanting for breakfast. The service was a bit untrained, though nice (our turndown service arrived at 5:30). Overall it was a fine stay, but having enjoyed so many other Four Seasons hotels and resorts, this did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JenniferLaCroute,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Four Seasons prides themselves on providing seamless service, and unfortunately during your stay, we missed opportunities to impart the service levels our guests expect. We certainly did not live up to the expectations that one would have anticipated coming to a Four Seasons Resort. Please know that the appropriate discussions have taken place as we work to overcome these service shortfalls. We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. We understand that there are many choices for you to decide from when traveling to Santa Fe and we appreciate the business and your loyalty to our brand and our resort and we want to make sure that this continues. We hope you will return to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado or any future Four Seasons Worldwide Hotel. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at the number listed below.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
505-946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here as the Four Seasons is a favorite brand. The rooms were lovely and very large. We stayed for a week to do a lot of hiking in the area. We had a lot of room service but didn't use much of the facility only camping out in the rooms after very long days. The beds were quite comfortable as well as the large rooms for gathering the clan. Unfortunately the service was a bit hit and miss but I would attribute it to the fact that this is a property new to the Four Seasons and with some training will likely get there. The property was lovely in all respects and listening to the coyotes was great fun.

Room Tip: Surprising the rooms near the top of the hill/hotel were not great being largely blocked by fencing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Pond H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort following your stay with us.
We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. We only want our guests to experience the absolute best, and we are genuinely sorry this was not the case for you during your visit. However, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our resort. In regards to the coyote fencings which can be found throughout the resorts, are indigenous to New Mexico and provide additional privacy for our guests.

We understand that there are many choices for you to decide from when traveling to Santa Fe and we appreciate the business and your loyalty to our brand and our resort and we want to make sure that this continues. We hope you will return to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado or any future Four Seasons Worldwide Hotel. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at the number listed below.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
(505) 946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent a week in Santa Fe last week and the highlight of the trip was our time spent at this beautiful Four Seasons resort. We are regular Four Seasons guests and this property didn't fail to live up to its name. We were lucky to get Casita #60, which was at a higher elevation and gave us amazing sunsets to watch as we had wine on our patio, with a fire going in the fireplace, and listening to the coyotes howling in the distance.
A great way to end each day!
The rooms were spacious with a modern design and some nice artwork on the walls. A huge bathroom, huge walk-in shower and plenty of closet space. Nice size bedroom with a living room of equal size. Little kitchen nook as you walk in and a separate toilet/sink. There was a little minibar in the kitchen and not one of those annoying ones where it charges you as soon as you pick something up. This was a regular fridge that had room to put in a bottle of wine or two and some beers of your own. The complementary Keurig coffe was a great touch each morning. I also loved being able to drive up to the casita and park in front myself each day.
I can't say enough good things about the staff, especially the girls that work at the pool. They were amazingly attentive without being intrusive and the drinks and food always came extremely quickly. The food at the restaurants was great too, breakfast lunch and dinner. The staff went out of their way to introduce themselves and see how your visit was going. A nice touch. They also had a nice size gym that was very clean and offered a great view as we worked out each morning.
A few minor gripes:
While Four Seasons has only recently taken over the property, I'm guessing they're focusing more on the comfort than the technology. The TV offers directv with HBO but no pay-per-view. One night we wanted to watch a movie and without PPV we decided to check their available list of DVD's. It was pretty outdated without much to offer.
Also, while I can't say enough about how much I appreciate the complementary wifi, the free version (there is a faster speed you can pay for) promised 50mb/s and it was much slower. A speedtest showed it at .5/mbps. Maybe we were far away from the hub or maybe there was a problem. Not a big deal since we just used it to vpn a couple of times.
And the seating in the living room was not very comfortable and the positioning wasn't great either. We only sat there for some hockey playoffs but it's not really great for two people to relax and watch tv.
And while the round table and chairs were nice to sit, eat and watch the view, the lounge chairs were obstructed by the railing for the view. Not sure what to do there but just an observation.
And finally, I was looking forward to the "BBQ by the pool" on Saturday but was a bit disappointed. Instead of the formal menu and service, I think an all-you-can-eat type of thing where guests go up to the grill would be better. It would encourage interaction between guests, staff and other guests and would make it a little more of a get-together.
All minor gripes and suggestions. I think Rancho Encantado is an exceptional property and might be something we have looked for for a long time. A resort we can plan to visit on a regular basis. It has it all!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear James L,

Dear James L,

Thank you taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. At the same time, we take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest of our team as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, 15 minutes from downtown Santa Fe, in the middle of the desert. Quiet, spectacularly beautiful, clean, clear air. The service is top-notch and the food is superb, the best we had, and we ate at the top restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Babs730,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the Four Seasons on our recent trip to Santa Fe for a day. We stayed downtown but decided to get spa treatments at the Four Seasons instead of Ten Thousand Waves (which we thought might be too crowded). The hotel is a good 20 minutes or so from downtown Santa Fe (and yes, you should get a car if staying here). Looks like a recent construction - everything appeared new and a mix of modern with the native architecture. The hotel has resort style casitas / rooms in 2-story villas throughout the property with a spa / pool / gym, and ample parking. The spa is huge - very clean and modern, loved the amenities and it felt like we had the entire spa to our self! Separate areas (steam, jacuzzi, lockers) etc for men and women with a common warming area/ meeting room in the middle. Very zen like feel and experience. The massage itself was alright: 3.5 out of 5 stars. If you want a quiet, peaceful getaway, then this is the hotel for you. Customer service was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear NTS_2011,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful Spa and our resort. Even though we are located just 15-20 minutes away from the downtown area we do offer complimentary shuttle services at the top of every hour to our guests in order for them to enjoy the peaceful and tranquility of northern New Mexico without missing the historical sites in the downtown area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort as one of guests in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.