We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nicer than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Four Seasons with a group of co workers and wives. I had done a fair amount of research before and determined that other than the spa there was not much in the way of activities there. I was dubious about the casitas in that from the satellite pictures the views were either of parking lot or scrub brush. Our casita did have a view of mostly parking and other buildings but it was not disappointing. The room more than made up for it. The pictures on the hotel website do not do justice to the actual experience . The rooms are very large with very nice furnishings. The entry has a coffee bar and fridge. They deliver ice each evening and there is firewood at the door. The bathroom is huge and the floors are heated. A very nice and deep tub and nice shower. The little fireplace is cute but I had a difficult time keeping it lit until I had it figured out. They will come and start your fire for you if you call. Everything about the room was comfortable and we enjoyed it. We had a couple of group dinners at the resort and the food was good. One evenings choice included buffalo filet and that was fantastic. I don't know if it is on the regular menu. The bar was nice but unfortunately very understaffed every time we were there. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good and room service was good as well. The resort is about 15 minutes or so from Santa Fe and I think they do have shuttle service and some loaner cars available. When we were there it snowed pretty good and I think it kind of caught the staff off guard. The walkway to our casita which was fairly long from the street and had some steps was never shoveled or swept so we walked through snow for a day. I would have been pretty upset if we did not have our own boots to wear through it. Overall it was a nice place but activities at tis time of the year are very limited.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear LMcFred:

We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay – everything from your room, the grounds, and our Restaurant and Room Service. At the same time, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused you during your visits to the Bar. Your gracious comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such a positive review from our guests. Again, thank you for the time to share your thoughts from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    81
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
59
248
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My girlfriends and I attended a confence at the Santa Fe Four Seasons in March and I had a wonderful stay. THe solitude was refreshing, but if you are looking for more hustle and bustle and night life, this is not the place for you. Every staff member was courteous and helpful, and the margarita was spot - on the best. The spa was difficult to make an appointment in, so do this well in advance of your trip if you want a pedi or mani. I would definitely stay here again, and would extend my stay even longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear anesthesia2:

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I can't thank you enough for providing feedback about your stay with us.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us even if it is was for work. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I just spent four wonderful days at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado to celebrate her birthday. It is a wonderful setting that says Santa Fe, without the hustle and bustle of the city. Set in the foothills, isolated and quiet at this time of the year. The staff at every level was attentive, friendly without overdoing it. We really enjoyed the Chef's table in the evening of my wife’s birthday, 13 courses of marvelous food and great fun in the kitchen. We learned more than a few new culinary tricks. We also greatly enjoyed the couples Spa retreat, came away as marshmallows, figuratively speaking. We had a second floor casita with a wonderful view across the distant valley. We built a fire each morning and evening. What a wonderful experience, we will return.

Room Tip: The second floor casitas have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Larry G:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!We are so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! We are so glad that you were able to experience the Spa and the Chef’s Table and even learned some new treats! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.Once again, we wish your wife a very Happy Birthday and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort sooner rather than later!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We live down the street from the new 4 Seasons and used to visit once or twice per week under their old management. The service is atrocious for this price point, from the second that you leave your car till you get back into it. I don't think that they'll make it but that's up to time to tell.

We unfortunately feel like we've lost our neighborhood place. This is all attitude but nothing to back it up. I'm hoping that it'll fall under different management or there is a huge re-staffing.

Cannot recommend, stay elsewhere.

Note: I am placing a date of travel since it does ask for one. I am, unfortunately, always around this place. I have however stayed here several times.

Room Tip: We've stayed here a few times for different fund raisers/galas, etc. It's close enough to S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Local_Local11:

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent visit with Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I sincerely apologize that we were not able to make your visit with us an exceptional one. We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. I would be happy to speak with you further regarding your visit, please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.
Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
cindy.racco@fourseasons.com
505-946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

An important part of the Santa Fe experience is its location near the mountains, clear sky, awesome sunsets, long vistas, wild untamed landscape. Four seasons rancho encantado offers that up, as well as a location appropriate decor which sensitively blends luxury and rustic. In the rooms we particularly appreciated two comfy chairs by the fireplace, as well as a table for two so in addition to meals, we could both set up laptops to take care of business as necessary.

Room Tip: no suggestions about choosing a room but don't miss the fitness room with view and spa with its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear N708Y:

We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe! We agree that our resort offers not only the luxury, but the authenticity and beauty of Santa Fe as well. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the décor of your room! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I were given a gift card to any Four Seasons resort. We always enjoy spending time in the Santa Fe. Our stay at Four Seasons Resort was truly second to none. Every aspect of our stay exceeded expectations. We ate dinner on three occasions at the resort and I can honestly say it was three of the best meals I have ever had in my life, the chef there is a credit to the resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Neil N.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a Four Seasons we pride ourselves on providing seamless service and we are so delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! And we would also have to agree that our Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper, is the best. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,
Cindy Racco,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First time in Santa Fe and at this resort. Loved our spacious second story casita. Had a nice balcony with a great view of the surrounding landscape and mountains. Only managed to sit out once as it was winter and on the cool side. The room was lovely and warm and cozy and I loved sitting in the chair with my coffee each morning watching the sun rise over the mountains. Lots of nice touches in the room and we enjoyed a meal there on our first night. The menu had quite a variety of things and the only thing I would like to see is a few more vegetarian/dairy free items on there but the food we did have was a high quality and very enjoyable. We had some food and drinks in the bar area a couple of nights and enjoyed the atmosphere in there, not too crowded but friendly.They had put fires on in the outside patio areas which was lovely but just a little too cool to sit out there for long. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful which makes for a pleasant stay anywhere. We enjoyed walking back to our casita from the bar, looking up at the myriad of stars in the night sky, which was just stunning. We also found it very quiet and could not tell if there were people in the next casita's, which we appreciate. If you want to be around noise and people this is not the place but it was perfect for us. We found the hiking trail at the back of the resort and walked it several times, loving the view from above. I was going to suggest a shutle service into town for anyone that wants to go there at night but some reviews suggest there may be one but we didn't know about if there was. All in all a great stay and would defintely go back.

Room Tip: Get a second story casita to watch the sun rise over the mountains, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Melanie K,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I can't thank you enough for providing feedback about your stay with us. I was very pleased that you were satisfied with your recent stay with us. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.