We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never had a bad experience at a Four Seasons- until now” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Eastern Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Never had a bad experience at a Four Seasons- until now”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm writing this from the room. What a disappointment. Months ago, when we made our reservations, our travel agent requested adjoining rooms, because we're traveling with our children. Adjoining rooms confirmed. When we arrive, we find that "adjoining" actually means going outside, in sub-zero weather, to the other side of the building. Technically, they are adjoining, in that they share a wall, but really absurd to think that this is what we were looking for. So, I'm not happy, but this is fixable. I call to the front desk, and explain my situation. "The hotel is full. Sorry, there is nothing I can do." Caitlyn (no help at all, thank you) offers to talk to the reservations manager, in the morning (ie., today). I'm not happy, but every other luxury property in Santa Fe is fully booked. The situation is still fixable. And this is what makes this a three star time share property, rather than a real 5 star hotel: the management's response is...nothing. No call, no follow up, no apology. I'm not looking to get anything for free (although a bottle of wine and an apology, a meal voucher, or some small gesture goes a long way), but the signal sent by management is that they SIMPLY DON'T CARE. We have stayed in Four Seasons properties around the world (The Beverly Wilshire was a great property), and we're willing to pay for 5 star service, and, until now, have always gotten it. Because it isn't the pretty lobby, or the comfortable bed that defines a 5 star hotel, IMO, it's the service. Not here. Pretty room, comfy bed, nice setting, lousy hotel. Housekeeping, the bell service, the fireplace valet, were all very nice. It is true that in the lower level rooms, it sounds like upstairs guests are practicing Flamenco dancing because there is no soundproofing to speak of. Not ideal, but excusable if everything else is great. Finally, the property is actually no where near Santa Fe. Fine, and forgivable, if only the service were great, and we had realized. Needless to say, we do not recommend the property, and we're sending word back up the chain through Virtuoso travel, to strike this hotel from its list of recommended properties.

Room Tip: If you are determined to come to this place, make sure you have an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. kendocubano,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were not able to make your stay with us an exceptional one. We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. I would be happy to speak with you further regarding your stay, please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
cindy.racco@fourseasons.com
505-946-5802
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    84
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
60
261
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This resort is just outside of Santa Fe which allowed us to take in the beauty of New Mexico! My husband and I hiked up one of the hills and got some beautiful pictures of the sunset. The staff was extremely kind and helpful and worked quickly to accommodate any needs.
We loved our casita with both an indoor and outdoor fireplace. They will even come and start the fire for you if you wish, but my husband enjoyed doing that himself. We had plenty of firewood to keep our fire burning all night. The bed and room were updated and comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious and our favorite part was the heated floors. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us in regards to your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!
We are so pleased that your family enjoyed your visit - everything from your room to the Resort. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had begun our trip in old town Santa Fe at the Rosewood there . It was OK... And though we love Rosewoods( Caneel Bay, Little Dix and the Mansion in Dallas... )The Santa Fe Resort by its location was limited to a very tiny confined in town space. We longed for wide open spaces and thus sought another place to rest our heads. The four Seasons was the. Most wonderful suprise! Formerly an Abergene resort it was somewhat uninspired... But in a rather remote and lovely setting. The influence of the Four Seasons mark is just what the Dr. Ordered. The service from housekeeping to bar tending to management was outstanding. We were offered free of charge a private driver to transport us to and from downtown Santa Fe at our request. And incredibly offered a brand new Mercedes convertible to your the beautiful adjacent areas at our leisure . ( we took it for a whole days excursion to the pueblo ruins.., and national park area ... nice!:-)... Especially great to not feel any if the pretense that sometimes happens in upscale resorts... Just sincere great relaxing property .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Executive Assistant to Ms. Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from the service to the Resort. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,
Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is incredible. Where do you start when your visit is flawless? The staff was so friendly from check in to check out. The setting and landscaping will truly make you fall in love with the southwest. The rooms are large yet cozy and we loved the heated floors, large soaking tub, walk in shower and beautiful limestone vanity in the bathroom. The bed was so comfortable that we didn't miss our TempurPedic! The restaurant... Heaven! We had breakfast, brunch, and dinners here and both of us agreed that it is the finest dining in Santa Fe. Simply exquisite. And Fadi, the restaurant manager, was so accommodating and made me feel so special on my birthday, bringing me a beautiful apple pastry dessert surprise. We are diehard foodies and were thrilled at the menu. We ordered several selections, all delicious. The spa was also amazing, I had an incredible massage and the best mani/pedi of my life. Loved the Butter nail polishes, it was so hard to decide on my color! Overall, we just want to move in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, Spa, and Terra Restaurant. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this property. The Four Seasons Team went out of their way to make the visit very enjoyable. I booked on line directly with Four Seasons. The following day I received a call from Antoinette, the concierge asking if there was anything I needed. My requests were: please have a large bouquet of sunflowers in the room for my wife"s birthday and make 2 great dinner reservations. Antoinette came through for us. Thank You!

We stayed in a 2nd floor casita, number 14 and took advantage of the 3rd night free offer. Room and bathroom were large and we used the fireplace every night. Location was not great, mainly because of the parking lot reconstruction project that is underway. We did not request to be moved as the noise was not an issue and we were out all day.

Spa was excellent. Sabrina and Monica...Thank you!

We also took advantage of the shuttle service in the evening back and forth to the restaurants downtown and on Canyon Road. Joey was our driver each night and was always accommodating our requests.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning, especially the granola. Every request we made to our server Gustavo was always met with the response "of course." We especially appreciate the birthday muffins brought out. We ordered dinner off the menu from the hotel's restaurant but sat in the bar area which is very nice. Scallop's with risotto were awesome.

Four Seasons is the resort's new property management company. This was our first visit to Santa Fe, but we are loyal and frequent guests of Four Seasons hotels. The staff in Santa Fe is excellent. While the shopping and galleries are nice to visit during the day, we are very happy we decided to stay just outside of town. We recommend this resort.

Room Tip: While parking lot renovations are underway, request a room that is away from the construction area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us for your wife’s birthday and I appreciate your feedback. At the same time, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we may have caused you while we are in the process of beautifying our Resort’s grounds.

We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is no better place to stay in Santa Fe. The natural setting in the foothills of the mountains is gorgeous (the sunsets are pure poetry), and at night, the sky is freckled with millions of stars. Our room was incredibly spacious and comfortable, with down feather pillows, a wood-burning kiva fireplace, private patio, and a massive bathtub that was practically big enough to swim in. The WiFi connection was strong, and service was impeccable (you can even get a "fire butler"!) The spa has 15 different treatment rooms, and the men's and women's areas are separate, so swimsuits are optional in the hot tubs (there is a couple's hot tub, as well). Terra, the restaurant, serves a mind-blowing array of Southwestern and international dishes with a locavore twist, as chef Andrew Cooper uses ingredients fresh from local farmers' markets. The Saturday morning hikes with Hans are highly recommended to add more angles and history to this already stunning experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Social Media Coordinator at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, your fireplace, resort grounds, spa, and especially our service. Chef Andrew was pleased to hear you enjoyed his cuisine. Hans is truly fond of taking guests on those morning hikes! Your insightful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A brief drive just north of Santa Fe & you'll find yourself in a zone of luxurious peace. We stayed in a casita complete with fireplace, you call the desk & they get the fire going so no need for boy scout skills. The staff were welcoming, helpful and made our stay that much better. Loved the heated bathroom floor, the lg bathtub & spacious shower; robes were nice too. We had a nice patio. In gen. we were very close to Santa Fe Opera & near several tribally owned casinos just 4 or 5 miles up the rd. The workout rm was well equipped, new top of the line. I was also able to use the yoga room, wooden floor, great sound system, yoga mats, pilates equipment, ballet bar, and more. Only the hot tub was available. There is an outdoor pool open during summer. We did not eat there so I could only give 4-stars.

Room Tip: Use GPS to locate. Ask for room away from the day construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Social Media Coordinator at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the generous review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe!

We are so appreciative that you enjoyed your visit. It is always delightful to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your impressions from your visit. We hope to see you again next time you visit Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.