We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vision Yourself in a Dreamy SW Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Vision Yourself in a Dreamy SW Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A brief drive just north of Santa Fe & you'll find yourself in a zone of luxurious peace. We stayed in a casita complete with fireplace, you call the desk & they get the fire going so no need for boy scout skills. The staff were welcoming, helpful and made our stay that much better. Loved the heated bathroom floor, the lg bathtub & spacious shower; robes were nice too. We had a nice patio. In gen. we were very close to Santa Fe Opera & near several tribally owned casinos just 4 or 5 miles up the rd. The workout rm was well equipped, new top of the line. I was also able to use the yoga room, wooden floor, great sound system, yoga mats, pilates equipment, ballet bar, and more. Only the hot tub was available. There is an outdoor pool open during summer. We did not eat there so I could only give 4-stars.

Room Tip: Use GPS to locate. Ask for room away from the day construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Social Media Coordinator at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the generous review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe!

We are so appreciative that you enjoyed your visit. It is always delightful to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your impressions from your visit. We hope to see you again next time you visit Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    74
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
218
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We won a trip to this hotel via Luxury Link which was a fabulous deal! The Four Seasons just took over this property in July and are making improvements. While there was some construction on a new parking lot, the noise wasn't too bad. Management sent treats to our room as a way of saying "thank you" for puttin up with the noise. The property is small and beautiful with a varienty of accomodations. We stayed in a free standing casita with a king bed, outdoor sitting area, two fireplaces with one being outside. Beautiful! The amenities were nice but expected more such as bathrobes. They gave us slippers but no robes (we ended up asking the spa for one!). The spa is heavenly! We had a couples massage with a private casita and while expensive, it was worth every penny. This is a small property withing the moutain range and if you are looking for quiet and seclusion, this is perfect. It is important to note that you are about 8 miles from the center of Santa Fe but the hotel will drive you into town for free!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Tammy Tonnu, Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay – everything from your room, amenities, and the Spa. At the same time, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused you by not providing your room with bathrobes. Your gracious comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such a positive review from our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Four Seasons - although out of town just a bit - is the perfect place to relax and breath in the clear air. They have shuttles to/from Santa Fe (awesome galleries and shops) so no need to rent a car here. The rooms are amazing with heated bathroom floors, robes, fireplaces and patios/private terraces. The fireplace butler will assist with your fire if you like. And don't miss
the fabulous dining experience where Chef Andrew (recently imported from Hawaii) and Chef Kevin go to the morning market to gather the day's offerings. The meals are part of the wonderful experience! Engage Hans to take you on an interesting nature hike and white water rafting is available too. The warming room at the spa leaves nothing to be desired after a wonderful massage. Great for a girl's getaway too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Tammy Tonnu, Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy everything from your room, grounds, and all of the amenities that the resort has to offer! And yes, our resort is the perfect for any kind of getaways. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely elated to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Again, we truly appreciate you taking the time out to share your thoughts from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Four Seasons has recently taken over the management of this property from Auberge. Hopefully plans to improve the property will be shortly forthcoming. I was sorely disappointed with the Vista Casita room expecting a scenic view of the New Mexico desert. Instead I overlooked both the employee and guest parking lots and a service road and maintenance building. I was also expecting the property to provide a true Southwestern feel beyond the building exteriors. Instead Auberge has decorated the interior of the guest rooms, lobby, restaurant etc. with a modern theme that I feel detracts from the historical significance and ambiance of staying at a New Mexico resort. While disappointed with certain aspects of the rooms and decor I cannot say enough good things about the staff of Encantado. Extremely personable and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that offers a unobstructed view of the surrounding area. Ground level rooms will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, Tammy Tonnu, Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe!

We would like to send you our sincerest apologies for the disappointment you had the Vista Casita Room and with the décor of the resort. However, we are extremely pleased that we were able to make it up to you by providing you with the best Four Seasons services that we can offer.

Again, thank you for the time to share your thoughts from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a definite disappointment compared to other Four Seasons resorts (we have stayed at and loved about 10 different FS properties in the past.) The service was definitely NOT up to par and that is the main reason we like to stay at Four Seasons properties. One night, no turndown service. Another morning, no newspaper service. Unlike all the other properties, no L'Occitane bath products. At onsite Terra restaurant, we sat outside for about 15 minutes after being seated at sunset. The hostess had said someone would be out to turn on lights and heat lamps. No one ever came. We moved ourselves inside to the dining room. The other party of 3 outside moved inside as well within 5 minutes of our move. Continued to wait. 35 minutes after arriving at our reserved time, we finally received our drinks. Tap was broken(?!) so we could not get Santa Fe Brewing Co. draft of choice. Our son's meal came out about 15 minutes before ours-usually waitstaff is sharp enough to ask if you'd like the kids' meals held til the adults eat (our preference). I could go on but I think you get the picture...In summary, we usually love the Four Seasons resorts but this one has some catching up to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had never been to Santa Fe before and we were looking forward to a wonderful experience. We assumed that we would receive the same high quality Four Seasons service we have always received. We were very wrong. Unfortunately, despite paying $450.00 per night, we received a first floor room with another room directly above us. The noise coming from the upstairs room was unbearable. Everytime someone walked upstairs, we heard it. Either the guest(s) above us weighed over 400 lbs, or the construction quality of this property is very poor. When we mentioned this to the front desk, we were told that the hotel was full and there were no other rooms available. We were told we could move to a room where we would only have someone above us for two of our three nights, but the front desk agent couldn't guarantee that the room above that room wouldn't be rented on our third night. I couldn't believe it. No apology, no rate adjustment, no offer of any kind, nothing. We left the front desk with the impression that this was our problem and we'll just have to deal with it. The foot traffic noise above us continued for the entire time we were there. The second problem we encountered was with housekeeping. When we returned to the hotel around 6 p.m. on Sunday, we discovered our room wasn't cleaned and phoned housekeeping. Again, no apology for the oversight. We were told that turn down service will be there shortly and we can get fresh towels from the attendant at that time. This wasn't convenient for us and was very frustrating considering we left the hotel around 10:00 a.m. that day giving them plenty of time to service the room. We travel extensively and understand that problems come up from time to time. No hotel can be perfect all the time. However, how these problems are handled is what truly defines an exceptional property from an average or below average property. The Four Seasons completely mishandled our situation and left us with a very bad impression. We will never recommend this property, nor will we ever stay there again when we're in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Don't get a first floor room if there is another room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

this was not my number one choice , but I can say that the rooms were clean, very attractive, and close to all the attractions, We traveled with a large group, and enjoyed the location of the hotel a lot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.