We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great location and above average service but something is missing to make this a "Great" place to stay. The views from the hotel are super but many of the casitas have views of parking lots or the roof tops of other casitas.

Room Tip: Before booking online, call the property to get a better explanation of what type of views the vario...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    90
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
73
287
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Wow. Where to start...

Staff- Great. Great service, fun to talk with.

Rooms.... no, casitas- Our casita was great. Lots of room. Giant walk-in shower. Giant spa-tub. Fireplace. Comfortable bed. Bed turn-down. Private patio. Can't say enough good things about the room.

Location- I like the Santa Fe, Taos desert climate. Encantado is a couple of miles outside of Santa Fe. Encantado offers a courtesy shuttle, in a Mercedes Benz no less, to about any where you want to go. We took advantage to go into town for supper. A good experience.
They also offer a courtesy car for guests to use. Actually two of them. And they are Mercedes convertibles. We did not take them up on the offer. We preferred the shuttle. (Do not drink and drive please.)

The pool was nice. I spent a considerable part of the afternoon swimming, reading, snoozing, drinking wine.

It was, as the title of this posting says, one of the most relaxing, enjoyable vacations I can remember.

Any downside? Just one- cost. My wife and I did this weekend on a voucher I won at a charity auction. (Thank you Encantado for donating the stay to a worthy cause.) So my only regret is that I could never afford this place outright.

Room Tip: Casita # 8 has a nice private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We just returned from our trip to the Encantado in Santa Fe and it was everything we had hoped for... and more!!! We stayed in Casita 63 and it was perfect!!! We can't say enough about the staff at Encatado...Every person was welcoming and warm. They even called us by name, which was a great touch. We are both big foodies, which is one reason we decided to visit Santa Fe, and I must say the food at the resort was every bit as good as, or even better than the food it town!! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Hidden in the hills of Santa Fe is a spectacular resort...exquisite rooms with views of the sunset from your balcony. Service, dining, spa services FABULOUS! If you are heading to New Mexico you must stay here!

Room Tip: Sunset view from your casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We visited Encantado to celebrate a wedding anniversary and loved it. We were upgraded to a private casita and received a surprise treat of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The staff was personable, thoughtful, and charming. Drinks and dinner at Terra were fabulous on 2 different nights. We enjoyed being driven into town 2 other nights and calling when we were ready to be driven home in one of the resort's fleet of Mercedes. The spa was fabulous - welcoming and elegant. Loved the massage. We would highly recommend staying here away from the hubbub of downtown Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have I reviewed Encantado before? Yes. Is it as fabulous as I said in my last review? Absolutely! Would you go back? In a heartbeat!

This is a destinaiton resort outside of Santa Fe, NM. It is a world away from Santa Fe but is so close you can enjoy Santa Fe with a ten minute drive (your car or their shuttle). When we visit, we don't leave. Too many reasons not to. Terra, their restaurant. The spa which is simply wonderful. The spectacular rooms. Whether you are sitting on your balcony enjoying a glass of wine or drifting on the clouds after a couple hours at the spa, there is very little reason to leave the resort. We come here for special occasions and they have NEVER disappointed us.

One of our favorties in the USA and certainly the best in NM. Go and see if I'm telling the truth.

Room Tip: We always choose room #20 but I honestly don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at Encantado in early April & loved it! The location is about a 10 minute drive from Santa Fe. We'd been to Santa Fe many times but wanted more space with a spa and a restaurant on the premises. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good in the bar as well as the dining room. Since we were there in early April, the dining room was closed except on Friday and Sat. nights. A limited menu was available in the bar.
We went into Santa Fe a couple of times, to Taos one day, and to Bandolier another. It's a convenient location for day trips in the area and would be the perfect location when attending the Santa Fe opera. We rented a deluxe casita with a view. It was a great place for watching sunsets. We enjoyed the bar porch as well at sunset time. The weather is variable in April but we were comfortable both in the sun and snow! You definitely need a car. They have a program where you can check out several different models of Mercedes without any cost except the gas you use but you can't count on being able to get one whenever you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.