We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cemetery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe National Cemetery

Santa Fe National Cemetery
501 North Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
505-988-6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 94 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Civil War buffs will appreciate the little known history of the 28 Confederate soldiers from Texas buried in this spot.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It is a beautiful cemetery. It is well maintained. Most of all, it brings to mind, forefront, that there are literally hundreds and hundreds of soldiers that have fought for our freedom. A sobering experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We walked into history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I visited the Santa Fe National Cemetery while vacationing in Santa Fe. We felt like we had gone back in time to history. It was so interesting to visit the graves of Confederate and Union Soldiers. We only had time to visit about one fourth of the cemetery but plan to go back next year when in Santa Fe. We were disappointed there was no literature to tell us more about the cemetery and it's history because the offices are undergoing construction and this is why we only rated it four stars.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Interesting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We drove through the cemetary since our hotel was across the street and we had two vets with us. It seemed like the graves went on forever, which is sad. But, most of the headstones were for vets who lived long lives and their family members rather than those who died in the wars, so that was (strangely?) actually nice. There are sections that are clearly from war, but not the whole place like we originally thought. Overall, really glad we stopped by to pay our respects.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful cemetary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited early in the morning on Memorial Day--In and out before the crowds. Grounds are very well kept.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Must See To Pay Homage To Our Troops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, peaceful and well kept. The locator is a big help if you are looking for someone in particular. Very few shaded areas, so take an umbrella if you need shade.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.