We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backdoor Kitchen & Catering

Backdoor Kitchen & Catering
400 A St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9536
360-378-9540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
YVR
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Exceptional Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

There were 7 in our party and we called late in the day so we accepted an outdoor table in spite of the wind and cool temps. It would have been great in better weather as it is a beautiful garden. The service was friendly and attentive and the menu really interesting with lots of variety. Everything we ordered was delicious, apps, mains & although we skipped desert, it was only because we were so full. Good varied selection & prices on the wine list. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    34
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A new favorite in Friday Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visit Friday Harbor two or three times per year and had heard of this restaurant from friends, but had never been there. Now we know why so many residents recommend it. It was a bit hard to find, but worth the effort -- it was outstanding!

The building is industrial-looking from the outside, but warm and cozy inside, and it has beautiful outdoor seating areas in good weather (summer). And the food was both unusual and outstanding!

This restaurant will definitely be on our list for regular visits in our future trips to Friday Harbor.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great flavors and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After arriving in Friday Harbor and settling in at our B&B we headed out for some food. We got squeezed in here at the last minute and had a really good meal. Cocktails from the bar were interesting and very good. Appetizers were good size and plenty to share. My partner had the lamb chops which he said were one of the best he's ever had (and didn't offer to share!). I had the scallops which were served in a good portion and very good. This was definitely the best meal of our trip and we'd return there in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a great hidden gem. It has a lot of character, great evening with music and good food. The menu is unique, food is very good, a little pricey but so is most of the restaurants. It's worth a stop here, out of all of the other restaurants in the Friday Harbor area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The most amazing dinner! No kidding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We made reservations for an outdoor table. It is such a sweet setting. We had a delicious cocktail with lots of ice, mint and ginger beer.
We had the nori stacks for appetizers. So beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backdoor Kitchen & Catering also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Backdoor Kitchen & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backdoor Kitchen & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.