We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Egg Salad Sandwich Ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Chef

Market Chef
225 A St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9590
360-378-4546
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Michigan Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Best Egg Salad Sandwich Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This place was suggested to me by our whale watching guide James Maya. He was right, the food was very good. The place is small and very busy. You even feel a but rushed and crowded when waiting to order. There are not many choices but the ones we chose were great. The egg salad sandwich was amazing as well as the turkey sandwich with Russian dressing and cranberry sauce. We also got Mac and cheese, which was good. I enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    31
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“not too excited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After reading reviews I expected this to be outstanding. It was good, but not great. Had seasonal selection, blt and a pbj. The pbj was ok, not as good as mom's. The BLT was good, and enough for two. Sandwiches are 10 dollars + so I was expecting an amazing sandwich. We also had sides that were pricey and not great at all. The key lime cookie looks a lot better than it is. We didn't try the other deli in town but next time we will for comparison.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“I think you need to order "off the menu".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped in once for lunch. Our experience would be be a 3 or 4. BUT I think if you come here regularly and order whatever you want, ignoring the menu, you'd probably love the place. The ingredients are fresh and of a high quality. The staff was fast and friendly. The main problem is the menu. Selections there are highly specific and don't appeal to a wide range of people, especially kids. After we ordered and ate our food, we could think of several ways to make our sandwiches "better" or more to our liking. So, with the tip of asking for exactly what you want, I think you'll be quite happy with your meal. I don't recall many side dish options at all besides chips and cookies. This could be improved.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Crazy Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our favorite find on Friday Harbor. Amazing local cuisine and very tasty. Do not miss this! They also have healthy kid friendly meals. They packed a lunch for us and we took it to the coast to watch the whales. Amazing Salmon, Mac n Cheese and sandwiches!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and cookies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a charming little place that we popped into for a sandwich, salad and beer. The food was very fresh, favor were good and there was a nice friendly vibe to the place. I would definitely go back again for some of the other items they had on the menu! It's a small place with seating both inside and out, it was pretty loud inside but that was part of its charm, things were really buzzing in there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Chef also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Market Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.