We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wildwood Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Wildwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
5335 Roche Harbor Road, between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Getaway Special
Ranked #1 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely lovely B&B, tucked away in the woods, high on a hill overlooking the trees, water, and distant islands. Abundant wildlife. Huge "great room" with a fireplace, books, DVDs to borrow (and watch in your room), comfortable furniture to relax with the new friends you'll make. In back is a dining room where your scrumptious breakfast will be served - you can choose to sit with others at the large table, or if you prefer, couples can sit at a smaller table. Did I mention the terrace - a serene, comfy spot with a killer view. Get a bottle of wine, and relax at the end of the day.
The guest rooms are comfortable and well appointed (some of us looked at each others rooms and suites), each with en-suite bath. You really can't go wrong.
But, what really makes this place are the hosts, Michael and John. They helped us with excellent suggestions for restaurants, whale-watching, sightseeing, and shopping - even pulled strings to get us good reservations. I can't wait to go back - next time we'll stay longer!!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have views for miles, but others overlook the woodlands... which is quite beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
334
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a truly exceptional bed and breakfast, accessed via a winding road through the woods and graced by deer who gather at the edge of the yard for their own breakfast each morning. The Inn is in an old Victorian home that has been beautifully restored inside and out—a delight to see and experience. Michael is a most welcoming host and outstanding breakfast chef who prepares an epicurean repast, with dishes such as delightful handmade muffins, frittatas, baked blueberry French toast, eggs with spinach and pesto, and cherry-and-chocolate-chip scones. Juice, prepared fruit dishes (such as berries with lemongrass marmalade), and tea and coffee are also served in the elegant dining room. This is a place the thoughtful traveler will not want to miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Bed & Breakfast is located in a stunning setting which is very conducive to relaxation. Our hosts were extremely accommodating in a manner that was unobtrusive, yet very attentive to our needs. Their strict attention to detail in all areas of their business is a rare find these day and much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have travelled extensively and this is without doubt one of the best b&b's we have stayed in. Peaceful, beautiful with deer in the garden most days and Michael's hospitality is second to none. His breakfasts are legendary! If you're staying on San Juan do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a stay in the San Juan suite. Perfect!

Room Tip: Choose the San Juan suite although I suspect all the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I spent a restful three days at the inn during our trip to the Pacific Northwest in August and September. After much research we decided on the Wildwood Manor. We have stayed in many B&B's, primarily in New England, but also in the Calfornia Wine Country. Wildwood Manor is #1 in our book.

I was lucky enough to book the Orca's Suite, which is off of the central room in the house. Wonderful touches in the room including a great firm bed, private deck off the bedroom with a water feature and a view of the straits. The bathroom had an open shower and a stand alone tub (which I used every night during our visit). If you get the chance book this suite!

Other reviews have commented on Michael's hospitality and I second all of those comments. He is simply fantastic making everyone feel at home. Coffee is available beginning at 7 and homemade cookies are available in the PM. Every morning I would patter out to the central room to grab a cup of coffee before breakfast. Movies and books are available for those that prefer a relax day at the inn. If your internal clock does not unwind completely, you are not able to relax and should stay a few more days. This place removes stress immediately. Breakfasts are innovative, healthy and sufficient. No need for lunch. Every morning Michael feeds a small herd (12 or so) of deer that come to the lawn outside the house. My wife joined him in feeding them. After breakfast they moved into the adjoining woods only to return the following morning. For those of us who encounter deer only infrequently, it was a joy to see how they interacted as a small herd. Bucks, Does and Fawns included.

Wildwood is the standard by which we will be judging B&B's going forward. Do not deprive yourself of the experience. Great restaurants nearby and Michael can provide insights into all there is to see and do. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The windows in the Orca Suite provide great views of the deer waiting on the lawn for breakfast in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When reviewing and researching information on the web for a vacation to the San Juan Islands, the Wildwood Manor continued to attract my attention. Because of the reviews, I decided that this was the place where we would stay while visiting. I had not been given any recommendations by family or friends and I just kept returning to the trip advisor reviews, It exceeded any expectations I had of a Bed and Breakfast Michael and John made this the vacation of a lifetime. Their B&B is gorgeous, the view is fabulous and they will not be outdone. Michael and John are keenly aware of their customers needs. The daily breakfast is out of this world, (they even review food allergies on your arrival) It was a tough decision to leave the island on the early morning ferry knowing that I would miss this unbelievable feast. The dining room was set up so that you could choose to eat alone at a table for 2 or as a group. Everyone seemed to migrate the group dining and we met such wonderful and interesting people from all over the US. Michael made all of our dinner reservations for the week after a discussion of the type of food/atmosphere that we preferred. The home and the yards are so comfortable and amazingly beautiful. The attention to detail is evident from the decoration, outdoor landscaping, afternoon fresh cookies to the beautiful and amazingly comfortable suite that we retired to every evening. So, we went on a trip to the San Juan islands and the Wildwood Manor was a huge part of what made the trip relaxing, enjoyable and memorable. I look forward to the day that i can return to Wildwood Manor and I cannot imagine finding a more perfect place to call home while visiting the San Juan Islands. I am sure anyone reading this will enjoy their visit as much as we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

While the location, food and amenities are all top shelf, it is Michael's genuinely gracious hospitality that truly makes Wildwood stand out as the top B&B on Friday From the moment Michael greeted us....it was clear his mission was to insure we had a memorable experience not only at Wildwood, but every place else as well. Thanks in large part to his excellent recommendations and advice, we thoroughly enjoyed our entire visit and look forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
4.8 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
4.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
4.1 mi away
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
#1 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5335 Roche Harbor Road, between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a knoll with sweeping views of the water and woods, Wildwood Manor is the perfect setting for you to relax, restore and renew yourself. Enjoy casual elegance beneath the Douglas firs, while exploring the beauty of San Juan Island. Our Queen Anne-style home features three water view and wood side view guestrooms and two romantic water view suites, all with private baths and luxurious amenities. Enjoy our beautiful landscape and wooded walking paths, or simply watch the sailboats on San Juan Channel from our deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wildwood Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Manor Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.