We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucker House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tucker House Inn to your Saves list
Tucker House Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 C Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Epic breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Jennie's Cottage. The breakfast was delicious. Thank you Molly. The landscaping was beautiful. Thank you Wenda. There was only a foot of space between the wall and the footboard of the bed. The "stand alone" cottage shares a wall with the property's laundry room. It's very noisy in the late afternoon into early evening. I would return and stay at Goose in the Pond.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Tucker House Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Sylvia,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay. We are very fortunate to have Molly and Wenda as part of our team. They are both so good at what they do.
Jennie’s Cottage is one of our cozy units and despite its size, enjoys all the amenities the Inn has to offer, complementary bikes, kayaks and a wonderful breakfast delivered to your door. Guests use the main common deck as an extension of their living space enjoying breakfast or unwinding with a glass of wine or cold beer at the end of the day. Others choose to stay in Jennie’s because of its value pricing figuring they will be out and about enjoying all the island has to offer and just want a clean comfortable place for repose without breaking the bank.
Jennie’s is adjacent to our laundry room. Depending on the day, our room attendants might work as late as 5:30 finishing up the wash and ironing for the next day. When they leave all equipment is turned off for the night.

If you are looking for a cottage more suitable for relaxing and hanging out Goose in the Pond would be a great choice or even Lizzie’s Cottage, right across the deck from Jennie’s. Both are stand-alone units with plenty of privacy.

We appreciate your staying with us and look forward to your return visit to our Inns’ always open door.

With kind regards,

am
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    64
    23
    14
    4
See reviews for
58
186
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in May. The room exceeded our expectations. It was lovely, comfortable, and well appointed. Much better than the photos on the website appear. The Inn and grounds are beautiful and we were made to feel welcome by our hosts. Thank you so much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just what I was hoping for when I arrived on the island - very comfortable. My room, the Amethyst, is the smallest evidently and has an awkward sloping room in one part of the room, but was great for one person and was ideal for me. Great facilities available in the house including a well equipped kitchen and laundry facilities (although could do with some more DVDs to play as there were loads of videos!) .

The breakfast there will not be for everyone and I must admit I only went once as I did fancy something a bit more filling. However, I can understand why lots of people rave about it.

Overall loved it there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Our room, Castle Wall, was clean and had a small deck. The harbor and town were not visible. The room was clean and the staff was great. The breakfast was superb. They have gluten free bread and made item/ dairy free breakfast entrees. Only problem was the room got very hot during the day (no air conditioning). The nights were nice and cool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The bed was nice and I loved the tub--but just a few too many rules for my taste. The breakfast was nothing to write home about either. They were a little bossy as well. I like my B&B's a little less interactive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I found ourselves stuck (along with our Portugese Water Dog pup) for a night on San Juan Island when the ferry service was cancelled due to mechanical failure. As it turned out, a blessing in disguise. Snooped around TripAdvisor, found this place and we were lucky enough to be accommodated by the incredibly helpful and charming Beth. Treats for our pooch, a picket fenced doggie yard, and an upgrade to the honeymoon suite - which is awesome, by the way - made everything aok. Plus Beth gave us a very careful rundown of everything to do on the island. Which we did. And wrapped up the day with a very relaxing soak in the jacuzzi on the deck outside our suite. Plus breakfast the next morning was perfect. She also figured out where to plug in and charge our Chevy Volt.
You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our anniversary stay; hand-made soaps, awesome cookies waiting for you each day, clean rooms with great smells, bikes and kayaks free to use. Groupon made this last minute stay fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucker House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker House Inn

Address: 275 C Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tucker House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tucker House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucker House Hotel Friday Harbor
Tucker House Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucker House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.