We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harrison House Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harrison House Suites
Save
You added Harrison House Suites to your Saves list
235 C St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 Dining Credit Bubbly
Ranked #7 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arnold, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

With my son getting back from his deployment in Afghanistan we traveled from Missouri to welcome him back and were looking forward to a relaxing staying in Friday Harbor. We stayed in the Lopez Suite of the Harrison House Suites @ $360/night. These are not "plush" nor "retro" accommodations as advertised. Please take a good look at the pictures because again these are not "chique" or "upscale" as advertised.
To begin with in the master bedroom/living room there was no dresser to put our clothes away, there was a desk next to the bed but one of the handles was broke, there was only an armoire that had no shelves. The other bedroom had three beds, only one of which was sleep-able, and again no dresser. So for 4 days we had to live out of our suitcase. In the bathroom the toilet seat was stained yellow, the floor was uneven between the kitchen/bathroom/living area creating many instances of tripping/slipping, there were nails, which had been painted over, sticking out of the walls where pictures had been removed, the microfiber sofa was stained, the TV was attached to the wall with the VCR/DVD player atop the armoire with all the cords hanging down plugging into and extension cord sticking out of the floor, and the door to the "deck" was hard to close and could not be locked.
We should have read the fine print a little closer when we made the reservation, having to pay the remaining balance in full 7 days in advance should have raised a red flag. I have traveled in 49 states and have never had to do this. Once we arrived it was quite clear why we had to pay in advance as we would have turned around and left after seeing these accommodations.
For $360/night we were very, very disappointed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
David,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay. We are glad that you had were able to have a family vacation after your son’s return here in Friday Harbor.

The Lopez Suite is an upper level 2 bedroom/1 bath suite in the historic Craftsman house. It enjoys lovely views of the harbor where you can watch the ferry and the sea planes come and go throughout the day. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your accommodations. The suite is a popular choice for families or girlfriend getaways since it has 5 separate beds. When we installed the new hardwood and tile, it was a challenge as the house had settled over the last century. We installed a slight ramp between the tile and hardwood which guests navigate with ease. We host rotating art on our walls from local artists. Unfortunately, your stay coincided with the change from one artist to another. We didn’t want to disturb your family during your short 3 night stay with your son to hang the new art. We apologize that the walls were bare during your visit.

We did our best to work with your family in changing your reservation when your son’s deployment dates changed. We waived any cancellation and change fees. We did warn you that as the summer got underway we would have less latitude to keep moving the reservation if your son’s dates changed again as our inventory would be limited.

We have found that taking care of payment in advance streamlines the check-in and check-out process. Many of our guests arrive on the same ferry and we want to get them to their suites as soon as possible so that they can settle in, relax and start their holiday. Handling payment at that point would delay check-in with a line of guests waiting. Conversely, check-out is also not ideal as guests are leaving to catch the ferry and prefer not to wait for this transaction.

We hope that you enjoyed your whale watch charter that our concierge set up for you.

Thank you for your comments.

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    11
    8
    10
See reviews for
56
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Friday Harbor suite. This hotel is close to the harbor/ferry but far enough away to provide some tranquility. We walked to the commercial area of Friday Harbor and only used our car once while staying on the island. The suite is very modern and spacious. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We were not able to make the sit-down breakfasts, but they did provide us with to-go breakfasts with specific food we requested. There is also a free laundry on site, which is great if you need to clean the sea water our of your clothes. The suite we stayed in did not have A/C, probably because you rarely need it. We did have one hot afternoon, but there is a ceiling fan and screened windows and doors to help with circulating air.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the Shaw Suite and it was disappointing. The Shaw was large, but very weirdly laid out in that it had a lot of open space, but the main bed was crammed in a corner. The view was of the parking lot, as the room appeared to be in the basement of a larger house. Our breakfast was delivered to the room. Though the owner indicates it is the guest's choice, we were given no choice; rather when we asked why we weren't going to the dining room for breakfast, we were basically given no answer, so we have to assume there was no room at the dining table. We stay at B&B's for the camaraderie at breakfast with all of the guests, so this was a big disappointment.

The welcoming cookie and truffle were great, but breakfast was disappointing. A very small fruit plate (nothing like what's on the website), a couple of lukewarm pancakes with two berries on top, a tiny cup of granola with no yogurt, and a cheesecake for desert.

The owner indicates this a "budget" option, but I don't consider $223 dollars budget accommodations. I stayed elsewhere on the islands for much less with much nicer rooms and better (some great) breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. As we read your comments, we are sad that you didn’t communicate your preferences while you were here. Most of your concerns could have easily been addressed if we would have known.

The Shaw Suite is a nautical themed suite on the ground level of the historic craftsman-style house. It received a major renovation this spring (2012) including a brand new bath with a solid surface walk-in shower and vanity, tile floor and wood wainscoting.

Most of our guests prefer having breakfast delivered to them each morning. If you would have preferred to dine in our café, please let us know. We would have done our best to fit you in at least one of the 2 days during your stay. Our café seating is limited and is first come first served. We offer priority seating for guests staying in guest rooms, without kitchens, who do not have the option of room service.

Breakfast is the highlight of our guests’ stay and changes daily. You must be referring to our lemon ricotta pancakes. We serve them 3 to an order with a side of chicken apple sausage. We have never had a guest request seconds, but we could have easily brought another stack. We leave milk, juice, coffee and teas in your kitchen’s suite to enjoy with your breakfast. If you would have preferred yoghurt instead of milk, we could have easily delivered it with your breakfast tray.

The Harrison House is an ideal base for island exploration and convenient to the ferry landing, shops and restaurants in Friday Harbor. Since everything has to arrive on the island via ferry or plane, the prices on the islands are more than the mainland reflecting the added transportation costs. In-town properties are more expensive than those not as conveniently located to Friday Harbor’s historic downtown core. In addition to our accommodations and three course breakfasts, our rates include our other amenities: hand crafted skin care products, fully stocked kitchens, high quality linens and bathrobes, and complementary bicycles and kayaks, wi-fi and parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We enjoyed two nights in the Friday Harbor Suite in August. The interior was beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and inviting. The bed and furniture were comfortable, the bathroom was luxurious and the hot tub was the perfect start and end to each of our days. The staff was very accomodating and helped set up the best in room message that we have ever experienced. We enjoyed breakfast both mornings and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The Friday Harbor Suite has a bed area with flat screen, a love seat area with flat screen, small ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights for a wedding anniversary trip. Easy to get to from the ferry landing, we had a rental car. Nice plus was free bikes and kayaks. We had a flat tire on the bike and the manager drove around the island to pick us up. The granola at breakfast is the best I've ever had. 3 course breakfast is beautiful. We would definitely stay at Tucker House again. You are right in town and can walk to all the cute shops, whale museum, and great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Joey warmly welcomed us to the Harrison House for our two-night stay in the Roche Cottage Suite. Daily freshly-baked cookie delivery is a delicious, as are their breakfasts. Breakfast was delivered to our door promptly at the appointed time-there is delicious coffee to prepare at your leisure inthe suite after a day of sea kayaking it was great to relax in the hot tub on the deck. Nice stay, lovely island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pacific Northwest and our Inn's always open door.

Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the San Juan Suite at the Tucker House which is part of this entire block's worth of properties. This 3 bedroom suite consists of the entire middle floor of an old home on the hillside about a block from the ferry landing in Friday Harbor. The deck was very pleasant though there are no water views from this suite. There was lots of room to spread out in the kitchen, dining and living areas. The bedrooms are small (one is just barely big enough for the double bed) but the beds were comfortable.
Noise was definitely a factor here. The floors are all hardwood and the two suites above us had small children (armies?) in them. We did wake up earlier than desired due to this but in the long run we decided that was OK since we got to eat our wonderful breakfasts while they were still hot.
Those breakfasts were delivered to our kitchen table and were enough to feed us for both the morning and lunchtime. They were beautifully prepared from local, fresh ingredients. I think some suites on the property ask their residents to have breakfast in a very nice common room on the property. An example of the food quality...I was walking down to the free, on-site laundry one late morning and one of our hosts was grilling corn on the barbeque by the kitchen. I thought to myself, wow, the staff is having corn on the cob for lunch...how nice! However, the next morning our breakfast included corn muffins with whole kernnels of corn....the muffins were delicious!
I would give this property five stars in all areas except for the lack of view and the noise factors.

Room Tip: The San Juan Suite does not have a water view but is very spacious. The beds are doubles but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. The Harrison House is a 1905 Craftsman house. While we have done significant renovations to this historic Inn, including soundproofing in the floors and walls, observation of our quiet hours, for the consideration and comfort of all of our guests, is paramount. We apologize for the excessive noise and wish you would have let us know while you were here so we could have addressed the issue.

We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast. We are having alot of fun sharing the Island's summer bounty with our guests. Just today we got in peaches, cots (that's apricots for short), the last of the cherries, and yellow plums. Tomorrow, we should get more corn, that we will tuck in quiche on Sunday and in corn muffins for our Southwest Scramble later in the week. We are also going to make a corn ice cream perhaps with a touch of cayenne to serve at Coho Restaurant.

If you wanted a water view, I wanted to mention that we have 2 suites above the San Juan Suite, that enjoy water views. The Lopez Suite is a 2 bedroom/2 bath that sleeps 8 and the Orcas Suite a studio that sleeps up to 4. The Friday Harbor Suite, a penthouse suite in the adjacent building also has filtered views of the marina. We hope that you were able to enjoy the views of the marina from the San Juan deck.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrison House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison House Suites

Address: 235 C St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Harrison House Suites Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrison House Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.