We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh my goodness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Soup Inn

Duck Soup Inn
50 Duck Soup Ln, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-6929
360-378-4878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“oh my goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My mouth is still watering!
This place is great. However, be aware that the prices they have listed are on the low side. I don't think there were any entrees for less than $30.00. However, that didn't matter. The food was well worth the price.
Starting with the soup all the way through to dessert, our meal was spectacular. My drink was even spectacular. I had the Lemongrass Drop. It is the best of it's kind I have ever had.
So, make it a point to eat here.
The food and the atmosphere made it all worthwhile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    164
    34
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent location and setting, Great food, a must eat when on the island. Food is top notch, but the dress is casual. They are only open Wednesday - Sunday in the summer, but worth the effort.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, wonderful, creative choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dinner at Duck Soup Inn was outstanding. The menu choices were creative, fresh, and delicious. The drink menu is also a great deal of fun, and we were impressed from start to finish. The food was quite fresh, cooked to order, and featured seasonal and local offerings. We dined on the porch with heat lamps and loved the atmosphere. Some of our favorites were the crab bisque and the ceviche, yet everything was delicious! I can't wait to return the next time I'm back on the Island. Yum!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricey??? No way! Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

First of I read the negative reviews before posting this as I could not understand what negative comments could be made about this place. I'll start with price first because that is what most complaints are about. Where are you people eating???? We just spent 2w in Canada and spent $100-200 every night for dinner which was mediocre and uninspired (except the beef, Canadian/alberta beef is wonderful). We ordered 3 appetizers, plus the great house made bread and soups/salads that come with entree, 2 entrees, 2 desserts AND a bottle of wine or a total of $162. I know, we sound like pigs, but we ride lots of mile on vacation on our bikes. Not only that, but we asked the waitress to pick the wine an though some bottles were upwards of $200 ours was only $30 and was fabulous - hestia red. Contrary to the other reviews, we didn't find anyone rude or pushy or hurrying and it was packed for the duration of our 2.5h meal. We are from Portland and have plenty of good food there but this was special, thoughtful food made by a chef who clearly knows what she's doing ( I mean really, roasted dandelion root ice cream??? And it is to die for. Rivals salt & straw in Portland). In fact we loved it so much we made reservations for 2 days later, our last night of vacation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Still great after many years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We returned here after a 25 year absence, hoping it w old still be good. It was great and we are glad we returned.
On a Sunday night after the peak summer tourist season they were full and we had to settle for an early reservation.
This place is outside town and in an isolated rural location but full before 6 PM.
Reception and service was cordial and as soon as we were seated we were brought fresh bread and some wonderful anchovies spread. Drinks of local spirits were excellent as were reasonably priced local wines.
Calamari appetizer was very special and would have made an excellent choice for a main course.
Entrees include soup and salad so the over $30 price tag is reasonable.
Roasted duck was well prepared, tender and served with nice sides of veggies and fruit. Linguini with shrimp served in puttanesca style sauce was great. I would have preferred some fresh local shrimp with that, but the previously frozen ones were still good quality.
Vanilla bean crime brûlée was a nice conclusion to a perfect dinner experience.
After 40 years in operation, this is still the best restaurant on San Juan Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Soup Inn also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Duck Soup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Soup Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.