We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale Dining at its Best !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Soup Inn

Duck Soup Inn
50 Duck Soup Ln, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-6929
360-378-4878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fairytale Dining at its Best !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Where do I even begin? I mean, honestly -- Chef Gretchen's culinary mind is genius combining such unique flavor combinations you will find yourself longing for San Juan Island just to return to Duck Soup!

When you arrive at the Soup, the precious red-roofed inn is a vision straight out of a fairytale. The inn itself is gracefully adorned in lush green climbing vines that are dotted with twinkling lights that add yet another element of romance to the air. The French windows from the dining room are wide open and from inside greet you with sweeping views of the mirrored pond outside. You can’t help but feel transported to another place and time when you are here.

The inside dining room offers a cozy feel with walls embellished with paintings from local island artist Malcom Ross as well as an inviting fireplace by which you can dine.

On the night we dined at Duck Soup, we were drawn outside by the lure of the forest lounge. The forest lounge pulls you in with its enchanting feel and if you have children they will enjoy the freedom to explore and play “make-believe,” all while in your sight. Our son could not stop picking the plump berries that seem to hang everywhere in abundance and he enjoyed the comfortable oversized driftwood seating next to the outdoor fire pit. Here is where you can relax, unwind and take in the idyllic surrounding.

After dinner, help yourself to the complementary fleece throws to cozy up with your loved one(s) next to the fire or choose to talk a leisurely stroll down to the pond to have a seat and watch the eagles soar above.

The food was nothing short of miraculous! Just look at some of the pictures I took -- they speak the story!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    40
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Can't add much to others' reviews - it is superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The best of continental food with a great wine list. Must have reservations in summer as the reputation (and food) is widely known. Very unassuming (old cabin in the woods - expanded of course). Scenic view of flora (not near the sound) and pond, with outdoor seating in season. You can order anything off the menu and expect it to be great. Our family group went as couples, but larger parties (8-10) were present. It is the best of all the restaurants we visited in our week-long stay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was one of our top 3 restaurants we have EVER been to!!!! The service complimented the amazing food! The recommendations given were perfect!!! The chef clearly has a wonderful imagination as the dishes were full of layers of flavor! Since leaving we told everyone we ran into they must go!!! Michael from the wildwood manor strongly suggested we check this place out!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Definitely worth the drive out of town. It's in a lovely setting. Service is really good, e.g., our waitress mentioned to the sommelier that we didn't like fruity wine and she took the liberty of bringing us a different bottle of wine than we ordered and it turned out to be a great choice. Menu is extensive and creative. A must go to restaurant if you are on San Juan Island. Ask for an outside table if it's warm enough.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Almost magical setting and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The ambiance here was fantastic! Didn't have enough parking but worth the little bit of walking in. Almost reminded me of the type of restaurant i would expect to find in Middle Earth due to the location and charming rustic interior. Portions were good but not overwhelming. Food quality and preparation was no less than perfect. Had a five course meal starting with the Mediterranean Shrimp and veggies, corn and zucchini gispacho, arugula pear creme freshe salad, steak Diane and blueberry cobbler with vanilla ice cream. Would come here again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Soup Inn also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Duck Soup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Soup Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.