We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filling breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Bay Cafe

Rocky Bay Cafe
225 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
360-378-5051
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 53 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Filling breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was disappointed by the breakfast at my hotel, so I stopped here one morning during my visit to Friday Harbor. Had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. I ordered a ham and cheese omelet, which came with hash browns and toast. It was a HUGE meal, and quite good. Definitely recommend as there don't seem to be a lot of sit-down breakfast places in Friday Harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    93
    19
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfasts in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Rocky Bay Cafe absolutely rocks for breakfasts! While I sadly couldn't make it in time for one last breakfast before the ferry departed after my check-out, they have everything you'd ever want for a terrific breakfast and lunch. Worth the wait in line. Dining on my birthday was a great start to my special day--everyone sang happy birthday with a sweet surprise at the end!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Value and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Really busy place which we nearly gave a miss for that reason. However one of the locals told us that it was the place to go for lunch. You put you name down on a list, wait outside and when they've got a table they call you. Food good value and quality and service fairly fast as well as being extremely friendly. We only waited 5 minutes. Give it a go. Also good for Breakfast our Kayaking guide told us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, not so great burgers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The bread used on the sandwiches is fantastic. Very fresh. However the burger was really less than desirable. No flavor. Fries were ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in a local condo and the owners provided us with a gift certificate for this little main street cafe. It was very busy when we arrived we had to sign up to wait for a table, but the wait was very short. The food was good, hot, and freshly prepared. Everything tasted homemade. The coffee was fresh and hot and our waitress kept our cups full. The service was very friendly and attentive. A great experience!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Bay Cafe also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Rocky Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.