We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooked food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Bay Cafe

Rocky Bay Cafe
225 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
360-378-5051
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a delicious lunch here. The burgers were good sized and delicious. The halibut tasted fresh and delicious. The service was good. Our food was served quickly. Definitely recommend this cafe.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    97
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Solid Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The place is small, so there was a little wait, but nothing unmanageable. Breakfast came very quickly and was very good. Bacon and eggs benedict excellent. Wait staff is nice, answered some questions we had about the area with no problem. Definitely a good place to go for a quick, solid breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The line in the morning can be long, but it is worth the wait to have breakfast here. Staff fills your coffee cup constantly. The menu has something for everyone.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We went there for lunch, but our kayaking guide really recommended it as the best breakfast place in town that was not a B & B. Next time we MAY try their brkfst.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hearty breakfasts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Busy little diner in downtown Friday Harbor.

Went twice for breakfast during our stay on the island.

Nice selection of bakery items.
Good coffee and lattes.
Huge servings of pancakes, eggs and hash browns.
Kids menu. Kids preferred the pancakes to the waffles.

Early morning crowd seems to be mostly locals and later in the morning seems to be lots of tourists. Line grew out the door on Thursday morning and I noticed the servers brought a tray of doughnuts to the people waiting for their tables.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Bay Cafe also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Rocky Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.