We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place Restaurant & Bar

The Place Restaurant & Bar
1 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7199
360-378-8707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 53 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: American, Pasta, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a gem! The service and food were excellent. We went back a second night to enjoy the food and the view. Be sure to try the mushroom appetizer. It is heavenly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    39
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Repeat Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My sweetie surprised me with a quick overnight trip to the island and one more time- The Place rocked it. I tried the Black Bean Ravioli with prawns for dinner and I was not disappointed. Unbelievable actually. The flavors were a perfect marriage- exotic and satisfying. I wish I lived up there so i could try every plate liking dish. I couldn't get my man to try anything other than the lamb- once again- but this time I got a bite. I need that recipe! Oh, start with the mushroom appetizer- one wor- YUM!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice view, good service, not so good food. Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just seems like one of those places that is cruising by on location and not really trying on the food. Not horrible or anything, but definitely below the standards set by the setting and the prices. High hopes until the food actually arrives.... Even the bread was subpar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food was over priced and not very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were treating ourselves to a nice dinner. The place was not full and we still had to wait a while to be seated. The staff did not make us feel very welcome. The waitress was efficient just not very friendly. The food was expensive and the quality was terrible. It tasted like it had been frozen. When asked how dinner was as soon as we said we didn't like it was as though the ears stopped working and we were given the remark, oh, sorry about that. End of discussion. I would hope that since the name has been altered that their might be a new owner, because this place has a pretty good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food a little bland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The atmosphere here is very nice. Right on the bay. Friendly service, very attentive. The food portions were decent, but the food was a little bland for our palate. My wife ordered a vegetarian bowl of some sort. It was huge! I ordered a curry Cod plate. We both commented how our meal was bland. The server had given me a dish of sauce to spice things up a bit and that helped a lot. The atmosphere is great for a romantic dinner, especially as it gets dark, with the lights on the water.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Place Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to The Place Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.