We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Jim Maya Excels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters

Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters
210 Madrona Drive, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
360-378-7996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 activities in Friday Harbor
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Maya's Westside Whale Watching Charters has been in business since 1997 and Captain Jim has been taking folks out to see Orcas on the waters of the San Juans since 1988. We are rated Number 1, and have the highest sighting percentage of any whale watching boat in the San Juan Islands. We are the only smaller boat with a naturalist. Our whale watching cruise tour operates out of beautiful Snug Harbor at the end of Mitchell Bay Road.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Captain Jim Maya Excels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Although the whales did not cooperate today, we were enjoying a fabulous tour with Captain Jim and Jeanie and had a close-up with nature's beauty. A photographer's dream ... Dall's porpoises, eagles, sheep, sea-stars, Steller sea-lions, harbor seals, and so much more. My two teenage daughters were in high heaven. Captain Jim communicates with other boats and can guide the tour to the best spots of viewing activity. His tour is close up and personal, his boat comfortable with enough enclosure to keep the passengers warm as desired. He is very knowledgeable and eager to explain all there is to know about the San Juan Islands. Jeanie, a volunteer naturalist at the Whale Museum was phenomenal, sharing her passion and knowledge of whales. We had a fantastic time and will do a trip again with Captain Jim.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainjim71, Owner at Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We just wanted to thank you so much for your kind words. It's especially thoughtful on your part to take time to write a review. Hope you see you again and if we can ever be of help, please let us know...Capt. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Captain Jim Excels!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have taken two other trips to watch the whales in the San Juan Islands prior to our trip with Captain Jim. They did to holds a candle to our experience with Maya's Whale Watching. Captain Jim is highly knowledgeable and very entertaining. He is able to relate to guests of all age levels and he has a wonderful sense of humor. He know the waters around the islands like the back of his hand and one experiences the wealth and breadth of the island ecosystem while in Captain Jim's care. His boat is well equipped and the perfect size for an intimate and personal experience. He is able to maneuver it close to all spots of interest so his guests have a truly exceptional view of the wildlife. We were too early in the season for a great chance at seeing whales, but that did not affect our pleasure in the outing. Frankly, many of the other animals seen can be just as entertaining as the whales. Do not miss the massive seal lions! His on board naturalist Jennie was a wealth of information and had an incredible amount of knowledge to share. She brought the world,of the animals alive for us all. Wether or not you see whales, you will always remember your trip with Captain Jim. It's a San Juan Island adventure not to be missed! Captain Jim is by far the best excursion option you could choose!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of Maya's Westside Charters. Whale-watching with Capt Jim was a birthday treat (and surprise) for my sister and we had (please excuse the pun) a whale of a time! Spending the day with Capt Jim felt like hanging out with a life-long friend and we thoroughly enjoyed his stories, jokes and wealth of information about the San Juan Islands. The whales were spectacular and they came the closest to our boat. Treat youself - book an excursion with Capt Jim immediately. You will have the time of your life.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainjim71, Owner at Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks so much. We love any feedback, especially this kind of response. Love those sea lions. Capt. Jim, Jeanne Hyde, and Mrs. Capt. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Whale watching Labor Day 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went out whale watching with Capt Jim twice this year over labor day. It was such an amazing time. We saw whales both times and once Capt Jim was the first boat to spot them. We loved the fact that the boat was small and it was very personal. We got way closer than many other large boats. Capt Jim and Jeanie are so knowledgable and really want to make the trip worth your while. We will be back for sure!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainjim71, Owner at Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. They really mean a lot to us. It was great having you on our boat. Hope to see you again sometime. Cheers, Capt. Jim and Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
“Capt. Jim worked hard to find us whales!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We visited San Juan Island in November which is not really the high season for orcas and whales. The day we went out there were only one or two other boats out and Capt. Jim was in communication routinely trying to locate orcas, sea lions and whales. Nearing the end of our allotted time on the water Jim got word of transient orcas near Victoria. He went the extra mile for us this day, motoring 45min. to get us over to see the orcas. We watched them till the last possible moment and arrived back in port as the sun was setting.

I highly recommend Maya's Westside Charters. We had a wonderful experience with Jim and Jeanne, the naturalist. She was amazing with her knowledge of the orcas and whales and how quickly she could identify them.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainjim71, Owner at Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks so much for the review. It was a wonderful day! Hope you can make it back sometime...
Cheers, Capt. Jim and Jeanne Hyde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maya's Westside Whale Watch Charters to your Saves list