We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Go's Pizza

Van Go's Pizza
180 Web Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
+(1)360 378 0138
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The pizza was wonderful--one of the best ever. A nice patio on the back. Looks like a house from the front. They also served some nice local beers and the service was great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Nice patio but so-so pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After reading all the very good reviews, we decided to try Van Go's which opened earlier this year. First off, the back patio is really nice and the place you will want to eat if you the weather is nice. We asked about splitting a pizza between 2 types as some of the specials looked interested. Unfortunately, they only allow you to split between the first 4 on the list which are all standard types (cheese, sausage, pepperoni, etc.). So we ordered a pear prosciutto and split cheese/sausage since our 6 year old daughter doesn't like things too spicy. Unfortunately, they screwed up the order as the entire second pizza was all sausage. The server said she could put in an order for just a cheese pizza but it would take 20 minutes. She said that the sausage wasn't too spicy and could probably just pick it off for our daughter. We ended up doing just this. However, even picking off the sausage was too spicy for our daughter who ended up eating half a slice. The pizza was good but I would not say great. The crust wasn't anything to write home about, which is surprising given the reviews (maybe friends of Van Go's were ones doing all the great reviews). I would say that the service was decent. Anyways, given all the mediocre places to eat in Friday Harbor, this is at least above average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Goument Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A lovely garden setting and delicious pizza. The staff were delightful and made us extremely welcome. A perfect way to cap our short stay in the San Juan Islands.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pizza, bad manners......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were excited to find a new place to have pizza on San Juan Island, good pizza, and we were looking forward to trying VanGo's. Atmosphere is lovely in the outside dining, service was very good. The one big issue we had was in the way they chose to tell my friend that he could not bring in his own diet soda. He is diabetic and in front of everyone the waitress made a point of telling him that in the future he could not bring in his own soda. It was embarrassing to be confronted in the manner that they chose. I do not fault them for having this rule, but it would have been much more tactful, not to mention less embarrassing, to have mentioned this fact when we were paying, which is done at the register, than in front of everyone that was eating at the time. My friend in his embarrassment snapped back that if they would carry his diet soda he wouldn't bring his in. I know he will not return and we live on San Juan Island. We were also canvasing pizza restaurants because we order for a group on the "Island" that has pizza once a month. Needless to say...that we will not be ordering from them. Maybe in the future the staff will think about how to address a customer without embarrassing them. After all its the customer who makes your business.......

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danvanham, Manager at Van Go's Pizza, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Diane,

We appreciate your feedback and choosing VGP.

Since our policy doesn't allow customers to bring their own beverages, mainly for alcohol purposes and licensing control, it makes it hard to wait till the moment you approach the register. The enforcement of the policy should be done right at the moment we see it happening.

Regardless, we would have appreciated it if your friend had communicated that the beverage was needed due to a medical condition. This whole issue would have never occurred.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we hope you consider our restaurant again.

Alejandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cozy patio, excellent thin-crust pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Enjoyed the pear, prosciutto and goat cheese with arugula pizza. The thin-crust is perfection, and the patio is cozy with a wall of flowers and a nice ambiance. Seating is limited on the patio, especially for a 4 or 6 person party. Service was very attentive. We noticed a sign that states they may close early if they run out of dough, so maybe go early and get best choice of seating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Go's Pizza also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Van Go's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Go's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.