We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is dump, don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Condominiums

Sandpiper Condominiums
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Condominiums
Save
You added Sandpiper Condominiums to your Saves list
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is dump, don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

In our room, the oven did not have a knob, the drawers were broken, and the bed was very uncomfortable. One of the washers did not spin so all the clothes were soaked. Everything in the weight room was broken. There were loud drunks at the pool area during weekend nights making it difficult to sleep. Worst of all, we specifically booked a place with a pool for our kids to enjoy. Both the pool and the hot tub were unheated and so cold that they were unusable. Management was not around during our 4 day stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

This place has been around for quite some time. It does not have a good reputation among islanders. On the other hand, accomodation in Friday Harbor is very overpriced so this is a good alternative, especially for longer stays or for summer jobs (weekly and monthly rates).

The interior could have been from a second hand store but at least the place was clean. It is nicely located behind the High School within walking distance of downtown Friday Harbor, so no need for a rental car. I liked the fully equipped kitchen which gives you some independence from restaurants.

I would stay there again since I know what to expect.

  • Liked — Size of condos
  • Disliked — Age of place
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

This place is a great value for the money. My wife and I stayed there for 85 bucks a night and found it quite serviceable. Plus, the owners are nice, colorful characters. On top of that, the rooms have some pretty wild decorations, and some of the statues in the courtyard are,,,well, I'll just say they're interesting. We didn't give it a 5 rating since the carpeting was dingy and the whole place is pretty well worn. But again, if you are looking for a low budget option, this is a good place to stay. It's very close to the action on San Juan island, with easy parking in the back.

  • Liked — low price and convenience
  • Disliked — a little dingy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Whimsical decorated rooms clean and comfy.
The landscape was well cared for as was the pool and spa.
Close to every thing and a easy walk from the ferry.
The management most helpful.
Would stay there again. Thanks for the great hospitality

  • Liked — The comfy and clean and the whimsical decorating
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — get out there and experience it all the world does not come to your door
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We had a confirmed reservation at the Sandpiper Condo, but they told us that somehow a terrible mistake had occurred and our room was given to someone else. There were no other places with vacancies and they could not help us. We believe they lied to us about the "mistake" because they could not explain how it happened and they "lost" our paperwork! What a nightmare trying to find a place to stay on a Friday night in Friday Harbor in the middle of summer! Not only that, but their internet site and their brochures are very misleading. Both show a nice, clean motel and grounds. The place is actually dirty, old and unkempt. We learned two lessons here, don't believe everything you see on the web, and be sure to contact the chamber of commerce to see if they recommend the place before you make a reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

This place, which posted false advertising on the web site and brochure, gave our room away. But after seeing the place in person, I would not have stayed there anyway!! Dirty, rundown units and rude, foul management. This place should not even be in business! Hope this will save another person from experiencing this nightmare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Condominiums

Address: Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Friday Harbor
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Condominiums Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.