We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Lane Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Lane Guest House
Save
You added Juniper Lane Guest House to your Saves list
1312 Beaverton Valley Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights in the Regal Royale room and we really enjoyed our stay. The building is so cozy and Juniper has made it a unique and welcoming space. I particularly loved the window seat in the room. It was great having the kitchen as an alternative to always dining out. The location of the guest house is quiet, but not far from town. I think there were two other sets of guests staying that same weekend, but we rarely saw them. Parking was no problem and it was easy to get in and out of the property. Juniper was very nice and helpful, but very hands-off unless you needed her. The only downside I would note is that the bathroom has no shelves to set things down (eg. clothes for after your shower or your toiletry bag). Overall, I would highly recommend Juniper Lane Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Juniper's for 3 nights in the Regal Royale room. We felt that most of the other reviews on Tripadvisor were spot on, and the web site description is accurate. We brought our car and bicycles with us. The guest house was easy to find and close enough to town to ride bikes in and out. There is a good grocery store right in town along with plenty of restaurants.
The guest house and our room were immaculate, and smartly appointed with Juniper's personal touch. When we arrived our key was waiting for us on the cork board. Soon after, Juniper came to welcome us. She has great energy and was very helpful with ideas about the island. The guest house had a communal kitchen and sitting area which we used every day for breakfast and one evening for dinner. The kitchen is well stocked for meal preparation (bring your own food) and includes fresh ground coffee and a wide variety of teas. We were the only folks staying there so I cannot comment on how the space would work with a full house. If you like to meet new folks when you travel, it would only add to the experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are so lucky that our friend who lives on San Juan Island recommended this place to us. The decor knocked our socks off. Bold paint choices that just work. Juniper is an artist and it shows. Thought it would be weird to share a bathroom, but it wasn't at all. Gorgeous bathroom was always available and supplied with handmade natural soaps, too! We actually had fun cooking breakfast in the, again, fabulously decorated kitchen. Our room was cozy and had it's own patio where we enjoyed a glass of wine (or two). Lovely artifacts from Juniper's travels are throughout the house. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in early September 2013. We needed a night before our weekend kayak trip and then two nights after; Juniper called us right back and worked it out with us (she has a 2 night minimum to stay here).

We had the Organic Green Tea room for all three nights, and we wanted to stay even longer. We were almost instantly relaxed and comfortable as soon as we walked in. From the well-stocked and beautiful communal kitchen, to the expansive bookshelves, to the friendly people we met in the common area, to the wonderful sunny window seat and mint soap and all the other little details, we loved our stay and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

this is a wonderful get-away place! Conveniently located about a mile out of town, it's a peaceful country-side experience-we even had deer in our yard one morning. We stayed in the Cabin, 2 bedrooms, fully equiped for all needs. Juniper, the innkeeper, is an awesome hostess and has thought of everything one would need for a stay, even wonderful organic coffee. Our large deck overlooked pasture land with sheep grazing and Juniper's amazing garden. I hope this was the first of several visits to this lovely inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We loved this place. Took my mom here for a weekend in Friday Harbor. We stayed in the Pine Backpacker room, which was clean and spacious for three. We had our own bathroom across the hall. This is a guest house, so be aware that there are a lot of common areas. There is a common living area, kitchen, and backyard. The house was full during our weekend and we didn't feel at all inconvenienced by sharing these areas. It was nice chatting with the other guests. The place reminded me of my college days of staying in hostels, only cleaner, with private room and bathroom. The backyard was great as well. Overlooks a meadow with sheep grazing all day. There is an adorable cat, Mossy, who likes to hang out there and likes pets. One morning we saw a deer munching on blackberries out the window. My wife appreciated the hammocks in the backyard.
Overall, a great place to stay, very close to town. Would highly recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What can I say that other people haven't? This place was an absolute paradise. When we 1st got off the ferry and into all the traffic by the water we thought oh no and then we got here and was thank goodness. Even though it is only about 5 minutes away from all the hustle and bustle it felt like forever away. We met Juniper the night we checked in. She was very friendly and helpful. She gave us dining and activity suggestions. If she wasn't going to be there, she left a note with a number in case we had to reach her for anything. She went above and beyond. The place was so beautiful. We rented the backpacker fo 2 nights. It had a queen size bed and 2 sets of bunkbeds with plenty of space and beautifully decorated. It had plenty of windows to open and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was very nice but across the hall and was shared with 1 other room. We never had a problem getting to use it even with 4 of us in our room. There is a shared living room with television, movies, music player, cd's which was quite lovely. We sat around in there at night alot. There is also a shared full size kitchen with dining set. Everybody that stayed there was very respectful and even though we had to put our food in the refigerater with others we never had a problem. Juniper had hot chocolate and coffee in the kitchen for everyone to have. It was almost like home. Out back was table and chairs, grill, fire pit with benches, hammocks (which we used a lot) and lots of open land with not another place for as far as the eye could see. It was so relaxing. We could have stayed there for much much longer than 2 nights. We actually wish we had more time to just stay and read or just relax here. We would without a doubt go back. I highly suggest it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Lane Guest House

Address: 1312 Beaverton Valley Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Lane Guest House is Unique Boutique Inn, a petit hotel, a hidden gem....and you found it! Affordable and clean lodging on San Juan Island. Located on the edge of Friday Harbor over looking a beautiful pastoral setting. Just a stones throw from Friday Harbor for shopping, restaurants, and activities yet rural enough to unwind in a hammock hanging in a 200 year old Douglas Fir tree as the sun sets down the valley. All of our rooms are unique and custom crafted with different types of native and exotic wood, colorful tiling and paint, and extra touches to ensure a one-of-a-kind stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juniper Lane Guest House Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Lane Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.