We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Lane Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Lane Guest House
Save
You added Juniper Lane Guest House to your Saves list
1312 Beaverton Valley Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Edmond, OK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

this is a wonderful get-away place! Conveniently located about a mile out of town, it's a peaceful country-side experience-we even had deer in our yard one morning. We stayed in the Cabin, 2 bedrooms, fully equiped for all needs. Juniper, the innkeeper, is an awesome hostess and has thought of everything one would need for a stay, even wonderful organic coffee. Our large deck overlooked pasture land with sheep grazing and Juniper's amazing garden. I hope this was the first of several visits to this lovely inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We loved this place. Took my mom here for a weekend in Friday Harbor. We stayed in the Pine Backpacker room, which was clean and spacious for three. We had our own bathroom across the hall. This is a guest house, so be aware that there are a lot of common areas. There is a common living area, kitchen, and backyard. The house was full during our weekend and we didn't feel at all inconvenienced by sharing these areas. It was nice chatting with the other guests. The place reminded me of my college days of staying in hostels, only cleaner, with private room and bathroom. The backyard was great as well. Overlooks a meadow with sheep grazing all day. There is an adorable cat, Mossy, who likes to hang out there and likes pets. One morning we saw a deer munching on blackberries out the window. My wife appreciated the hammocks in the backyard.
Overall, a great place to stay, very close to town. Would highly recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What can I say that other people haven't? This place was an absolute paradise. When we 1st got off the ferry and into all the traffic by the water we thought oh no and then we got here and was thank goodness. Even though it is only about 5 minutes away from all the hustle and bustle it felt like forever away. We met Juniper the night we checked in. She was very friendly and helpful. She gave us dining and activity suggestions. If she wasn't going to be there, she left a note with a number in case we had to reach her for anything. She went above and beyond. The place was so beautiful. We rented the backpacker fo 2 nights. It had a queen size bed and 2 sets of bunkbeds with plenty of space and beautifully decorated. It had plenty of windows to open and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was very nice but across the hall and was shared with 1 other room. We never had a problem getting to use it even with 4 of us in our room. There is a shared living room with television, movies, music player, cd's which was quite lovely. We sat around in there at night alot. There is also a shared full size kitchen with dining set. Everybody that stayed there was very respectful and even though we had to put our food in the refigerater with others we never had a problem. Juniper had hot chocolate and coffee in the kitchen for everyone to have. It was almost like home. Out back was table and chairs, grill, fire pit with benches, hammocks (which we used a lot) and lots of open land with not another place for as far as the eye could see. It was so relaxing. We could have stayed there for much much longer than 2 nights. We actually wish we had more time to just stay and read or just relax here. We would without a doubt go back. I highly suggest it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Why stay on the hustling and bustling waterfront, when you can stay a mile away and enjoy a peaceful and serene environment? We bicycled easily from town, were greeted by a friendly Juniper and settled in right away. The communal kitchen is well supplied with utensils and tools, but bring your own storage containers for leftovers. We shopped in town and prepared meals onsite, we also enjoyed the sunny weather and dined outside on the lawn furnishings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geyserville, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Juniper Lane Guesthouse is a treat! I love the Mandala Room..the small deck is a lovely place to enjoy my morning coffee. The whole place is very clean and "Mossy" the cat will greet visitors. It is probably the best value on the island...the kitchen is a gathering place and very well outfitted..I love to cook so it's fantastic to have a full kitchen available. The meadow is lovely..you might catch a glance of a red fox if you'r lucky. Close to town, yet very quiet. Juniper and friends have created a very special place. Am looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: rooms on west side are a bit quieter, bring herbs and spices if you want to cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. Rooms were clean and cozy. There is a full kitchen available to use. The House is about a 15 min. walk outside of town ($8 cab ride from the center of town). Nice firepit in the backyard. Juniper is really sweet and makes sure that you are comfortable.

Room Tip: The Royal Regal and Organic Green Tea rooms have private baths and are upstairs. They are quieter th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our tour of the San Juan Islands. We stayed in the Pine Backpacker room which was very nice. The guest house is lovely and the kitchen is fully stocked for anyone who wants make their own meals. I was very impressed with how amazingly clean the entire property was. One could tell the pride Juniper takes in making her property a wonderful experience for all who stay there. I loved lying in the hammock listening to the sheep on the adjacent farm. Some other reviews mentioned noise from the street...well after about 9pm I could not hear anything and I had all the windows open. I never heard any noise from the upstairs rooms. I only wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Lane Guest House

Address: 1312 Beaverton Valley Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Lane Guest House is Unique Boutique Inn, a petit hotel, a hidden gem....and you found it! Affordable and clean lodging on San Juan Island. Located on the edge of Friday Harbor over looking a beautiful pastoral setting. Just a stones throw from Friday Harbor for shopping, restaurants, and activities yet rural enough to unwind in a hammock hanging in a 200 year old Douglas Fir tree as the sun sets down the valley. All of our rooms are unique and custom crafted with different types of native and exotic wood, colorful tiling and paint, and extra touches to ensure a one-of-a-kind stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juniper Lane Guest House Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Lane Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.