We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of the harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House

The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House, 130 West Street, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
360-378-8455
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: The Bluff Restaurant • Bar • Terrace at Friday Harbor House is a comfortable, welcoming destination for locals and visitors alike. Islanders can wind down at the end of the day with a group of friends while hotel guests can enjoy a multi-course island dining experience. All will enjoy taking in the panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. Chef Kyle highlights the freshest fare from local waters and farms for a menu of authentic island cuisine and seasonal specialties. The Bluff also features a wine, beer and cocktail list emphasizing value and variety with great wine by-the-glass options, and hand-selected flights.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best view of the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The bluff has very casual outside dinning with the best view of Friday Harbor. Order the beet salad, it's excellent. Bring a jacket or sweater, as the evenings cool down impressively.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sabra H
Thank you so much for taking the time to critique our great restaurant on Trip Advisor. We love to read the comments from guests and watch them experience our amazing view. Please come back soon.
Margie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“inconsistent”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After just reading Another review about the chef being gone for the arrival of his child(congratulations) now makes sense of the inconsistencies. We visited on 8/3 and ordered the bluff burger that we crave and get every time we go up. There was no pickled onion, candied bacon, the burger was not seasoned the same, no homemade ketchup. ?. It was awful. We tossed them in the trash. Also, last time we were there they made a grilled cheese for our daughter so we asked for one again and when we showed up the girl at bar gave us our food and said we dont do grilled cheese so you can share your burger with her, they are big. If you have young kids you will know some dont eat big honking burgers let alone meat! So thanks to the stupidity we went looking for a place who had good ingredients and found the cheese shop! We got some amazing service and great food!

Kids menu is a must!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
I want to apologize for the experience you had at our restaurant. This is not the level of expectation we have of our staff or our kitchen. I would appreciate an opportunity to discuss this with you further and see what we can do to turn this around. Please contact me directly at 360-378-8455.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I ate here for dinner during Happy Hour one night while staying at the Friday Harbor House. I had high expectations, given how beautiful the setting was. I was able to sit outside and enjoy the view overlooking the harbor while I ate. I was disappointed in the food. The chicken sliders were luke warm, as were the truffle fries. I did have a delicious hard cider. I'd give the food 3 stars, and the view 5 stars, so I settled for an average of 4. Food was $5 each, and my cider was also $5, so it was a good deal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view and Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Pricy but worth it. The food is fantastic and artistically done. Creative and fresh. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. Would recommend for a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
It was wonderful to read your review of our restaurant. We love to be the venue for a special occasion and hope to see you again soon!
Margie O"Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent view , decent lunch but watch out for add ons on the menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is probably the best view in town and more upscale choice. I ordered salmon sandwich with side salad. The flavor was good but sandwich was very difficult to eat. It had only one bread patty and was very messy. The wine glass was about 5 oz at most of the local wine. Lunch with tip came to $30. But the view was worth it. Folks at the next table ordered mixed salad with added salmon. The menu stated salad $8 add salmon $15. In any other restaurant in US the total.would be $15. Well in this place it is $23. The guest tried to address this with a manager who is also a chef . No luck. I was really surprised and wonder how many customers are misled and feel totally ripped off. Address this upfront or.go for salmon sandwich

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello Olga,
I'm so glad you enjoyed our wonderful view as you dined with us. We have taken your menu comments into consideration and made changes that are more clear to our guests. We hope you will return to our great island soon and enjoy another lunch on The Bluff Terrace.
Margie O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bluff Restaurant at Friday Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.