We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lime Kiln Point State Park Interpretive Center
1567 Westside Road, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit the Interpretive Center while you are at Lime Kiln Point State Park. Come learn about the orca whales that frequent our shores, the historic lime kilns & lighthouse that are in Lime Kiln Point State Park. The Interpretive Center staffed by Friends of Lime Kiln Society (FOLKS) volunteers and all donations support the Center and other FOLKS programs & projects in Lime Kiln Point State Park. There is also a small gift shop in the Interpretive Center.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a nice area with a good visitor center. We didn't end up paying the $10 fee since we were just looking for a place to whale watch and see the sunset. There are other places on the west side of the island that had comparable views without the parking fee.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Unfortunately our visit was interrupted with rain and fog, however we still enjoyed our time. The lighthouse is in pretty good condition and would provide great views on a clear day. I am sure this is a popular spot during the summer months.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“sadly no whales this time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

great hiking, but i guess the whales weren't up that far yet! bathrooms, picnic tables...you can take the kids! we saw elderly walking down to the water..so you can take the parents..we did see a cute sea otter though!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views and fun easy hikes all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I liked everything. The views are incredible and the hikes around are lovely. They are easy, so don't think of this place as a workout spot. There is for sure lots of trails that you can explore but they are not hard.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It's a short and easy hike from the parking area to the viewing areas, and it is well worth it! The view were amazing! We were lucky enough to get to see a seal playing around at the base of the rocks, but no whales.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lime Kiln Point State Park Interpretive Center also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Lime Kiln Point State Park Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lime Kiln Point State Park Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.