We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Whale Watching Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours

San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours
2 Spring Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
360-298-0012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 activities in Friday Harbor
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whales Rock! Enjoy a six-passenger, personalized whale & wildlife adventure of a lifetime. Join Captain Hobbes who grew up on the water in England and has been operating whale watch tours and passenger vessels in the San Juan Islands for 12 years. Come aboard “Natsilane,” named after an Orca Whale legend, a 30’ Albin Fast Express Cruiser, and enjoy a comfortable heated cabin, with indoor and outdoor seating, restroom and snack bar. Don't be a sardine in a can on a big boat -- enjoy an intimate experience in the beautiful San Juan Islands!
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Whale Watching Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Came for a visit from Michigan and wanted a more low key, intimate whale watching tour, and Captain Hobbes was exactly that! My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed Captain Hobbes and his knowledge of whales and the area. For most groups, this was their last weekend for whale tours, but for Captain Hobbes he runs all year round. He brought us to an area near Sidney Canada and we saw a Humpback whale and her calf numerous times. This was my first time seeing whales in good weather. It was very exciting! Captain Hobbes also took us by an Speiden Island where there are exotic animals. It was an amazing trip overall and I would definitely recommend Captain Hobbes. Ill be back next summer for another whale watching tour in peak season!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had a Delightful Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

While the whales were somewhat shy and uncooperative during our tour, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our boat ride. Capt. Hobbes was a wonderful host who shared with us his vast knowledge of the ocean and the wildlife that live in and aound it. We saw lots of sea lions, porpoises, and a bald eagle. We loved our trip despite the rain.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went on a tour October 5, 2012, which is not prime time for seeing Orcas. Captain Hobbs literally went the extra mile this day to make it a great tour. He found out about a pod that was quite aways beyond the normal tour range, and might not even be there when we got there if we tried to find them, but he gave us the option of going for it, we said yes, and he found them. It was thrilling, and made even better because Captain Hobbs was just as excited about seeing them as we were. I am sure it cost him a good bit more fuel than he planned on, but his focus was on giving us a good tour. We also saw seals, huge seal lions, and miscellaneous other wildlife. It didn't hurt that the weather was perfect, but, of course, no guarantees on that.

I liked being on a smaller boat. You should know that it still has a head (toilet), an enclosed area in case of bad weather, and complementary snacks and bottled water.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
“Excellent Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Captain Hobbs ROCKS!!! We wanted a more personal adventure and he sure gave us what we were looking for! He told us before we left the harbor what we might see and we saw it all! He keeps in communication with everyone so he knows the best spots to take you so you can see the most marine life. We saw a small harbor seal named Popeye, Stellar Sea lions upclose and personal, brightly colored jelly fish, beautiful Dall Porpoise playing with the Orcas, the shy Harbor Porpoise, a Minke whale and of course Ocas!! He even knew the names of the ones we saw based on the pattern of their dorsal fin. What a great time! He told us all about resident Orcas vs visitors, their patterns, their pods etc...he knew it all. 2 Thumbs up!!! If you want to see Whales Do NOT miss a chance to go out and discover them with Captain Hobbs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had never been whale watching and the idea of a big boat of people was not attractive: But a small boat of six seemed perfect, and it was. Captain Hobbes is extremely knowledgeable about the area, sea life as well as being an excellent boat captain. When his full attention wasn't needed for steering, he was more than happy to answer questions and engage with everyone on board. All the info in other 5 star reviews lined up to exactly our experience. While the weather wasn't perfect, the trip certainly was. We did an afternoon trip. The boat is comfortable and well maintained. We highly recommend Capt Hobbes and his tours.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Juan Island Whale & Wildlife Tours to your Saves list