We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream, scones & free wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bean Cafe

The Bean Cafe
150B 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA
360-370-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café, Organic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fremont, CA
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, scones & free wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The coffee shop was very good for an afternoon snack - ice cream, scone & free wifi. We would have had breakfast here but it turned out breakfast was included with our room. Convenient location close to the ferry docks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

From breakfast (oatmeal that is out of this world & great sandwiches, to coffee, to cookies (all awesome), to lunch to go, the Bean was the best! The staff, it appeared to be family, was awesome, both nice and talented made each visit perfect. Thanks to be "bean Team" for making our visit so much fun and filling!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cute cafe, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent service and a lovely atmosphere. Good breakfast food but not quite the full breakfast meals but was a good chillin' place. Friendly staff and the all important free wifi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oatmeal and Hot Chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Friday Harbor for 2 nights while on vacation and the Bean Cafe was definitely a place to go for oatmeal and hot chocolate! Not to mention the staff there are incredibly friendly and the atmosphere is "happy". Be sure to stop!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“One of MANY options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not much makes this cafe stand out above the rest. We stopped in for breakfast on our way to catch our ferry. They have a few breakfast options. We had the breakfast panini and oatmeal. The panini's were a bit greasy and the oatmeal was cold. When we told them the oatmeal was cold, instead of making us fresh, hot oatmeal, they put ours in the microwave, complete with the walnuts, berries and brown sugar we and put on it, and NUKED IT!
Noting like irradiated walnuts! The barista, the oldest of the employees, had a bit of "island attitude", and guess what, our hostess from the night before at the Cask & Schooner, the one who seemed to loath the guests and all tourists, was there making our breakfast. She was a bit more friendly, but still seemed to have an attitude for tourists.
There are plenty of places to get your morning caffein in Friday Harbor. Shop around.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bean Cafe also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to The Bean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.