We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to wait for the ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bean Cafe

The Bean Cafe
150B 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA
360-370-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café, Organic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Balboa Island, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Great place to wait for the ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Locals will tell you to always have your car in the ferry lines an hour before departure. So what do you do till the ferry arrives? Duh, go to The Bean Café. The food is good. The seating is very comfortable. They have free Wi Fi and a video camera aimed at the ferry dock so you can see when the ferry comes in. Oh, did I mention that the owners are nice people?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wholesome, fresh and quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you are looking for a coffee style house to stop in to enjoy a cup of great coffee or some organic steel cut oats in the morning this is the place to go. Conveniently located next to the ferry landing in Friday Harbor it serves the BEST coffee and has free internet connection.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“If this is the best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

in Friday Harbor as they claim, then Friday Harbor should secede from the state of Washington, home of excellent coffee.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, and a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had Veggie Chilli and buttered toasted bread and it was amazing...And although the food was excellent I love the atmosphere in this place...I took a book, ordered food, grabbed a table and enjoyed reading and people watching for a while...They also make a mean Hot Chocolate topped with whipped cream and chocolate drizzle...Need I say more!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came to the Bean to sit out the hour wait for the ferry. It came recommended by one of the local shop keepers, and it was just what we wanted! We were looking for a place we could play cards and settle in a bit.

They had a large space with many tables, what looked to be a great variety of pastries and sandwiches, and a nice selection of coffee and teas--we went for the masala chai tea.

We received two personal teapots for our tea (very cute!), and they have a good selection of "add-ins" by the utensils such as: cocoa powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, honey, etc).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bean Cafe also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to The Bean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.