We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Earthbox Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Earthbox Inn & Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 40%!
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ellensburg, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place is very updated, clean, cute and friendly staff. Wonderful idea to provide ear plugs. Its genius!
Loved the lavendar products, beds were comfy. Just a wonderful place. Hope to get back sometime.
Thank you!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Mandy,
Your sweet review invoked a rather elaborate happy dance in our lobby this morning :) Thank you. We are so happy you had a great time. Please visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    158
    67
    31
    9
See reviews for
131
180
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed last weekend at the Earthbox and loved it. We stayed in a Sky Place room and it was more than enough space for the 2 of us. The bed was very comfortable! The only reason we don't give it a 5, is that because it is a remodeled/updated space, the floors are a little creaky. This did not discourage us however from deciding we would stay there again. The pool was great (just a little chilly), and we enjoyed some relaxing time in the hot tub. We did not take advantage of using the complementary bikes, as we brought our car along. We drove everywhere we went, or just walked to 'downtown'. I did very much enjoy a massage by Rachel on saturday morning. She is wonderful! It was my first massage ever, so I don't have much to compare it to, but I was definitely relaxed after! I did see that some other reviewers complained about noise, but we did not have that problem at all, and if we did, they provide ear plugs. We took advantage of having a small fridge and microwave and brought some of our own food along to save on eating out (highly recommended as restaurants are a little on the pricier side due to being on an island). Overall we would highly recommend the Earthbox to anyone, and look forward to staying there again. Oh! Also, we accidentally spilled some Snapple on our comforter, and even though house keeping had gone, the girl at the front desk tracked down a new sheet and comforter for us, and even came and put it on. Thanks to the staff that made our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Slogrande,
There is nothing like getting to read such a lovely review to start our day. Thank you! We are so happy, you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience a massage from one of our very best.
We can't wait for you to come visit and play again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Wow, we were thrilled to find this place in Friday Harbor. We typically stay at a different hotel while here and decided to try something new. We will be back to Earthbox Inn for sure! Spacious room, clean and well appointed, great towels a huge plus and wonderful staff to boot! Indoor pool, hot tub and sauna are well kept. Takes just a few minutes to walk to the ferry dock and main shopping. This place is a "real find" for anyone traveling to Friday Harbor!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Karen,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your trip. We are so happy you had a great time. Your review made our day. Thank you,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The guy at the check in was AWESOME! He quickly switched out our TV for a newer one and brought us his DVD player so we could watch a movie we rented. Also, I suffer from chronic migraines and woke up with a huge headache at 4 am and he gave us ibuprofen because none of the shops are open at night! what a gem of an employee you have! He saved the day! The pool/Jacuzzi was really nice. And the actual rooms are beautiful and comfortable. the only thing that was negative was you can tell this used to be a motor-inn because of how thin the walls are. you can hear the every step the person upstairs makes and noise (shower/toilet) and our upstairs neighbors were up pretty late (which kept me up). If you can, request an upstairs room. Also this is so close to the harbor and everything close. You can walk to the ferry if you wanted to. Would stay again, as long as we stay upstairs. :)

Room Tip: ask for the top floor! as walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Nadyatesar,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit. Yes, our Tory is an absolute gem. We are so lucky to have him. We are so happy, you had a great time (headache notwithstanding) and can't wait for you to come back soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

When we arrived, it was off season in the San Juan Islands, and was so happy to stay in the Wind Place, It's a private cottage at the Earthbox Inn, It easily fit our family of six; two children used the futon in the TV room, It had a kitchen that we used for several meals and worked perfectly, We were a short walk to the store, and were able to enjoy a quick breakfast and then head out. The cottage has been remodeled inside and was quite nice. It has a full bathroom with A standing shower and a separate tube, there is also a second half bath, which for a larger family, easy to use. I had the chance to use the Spa, it was nice quiet and relaxing. The indoor pool was small but very nice, the Fitness center, has a weight bench, with one treadmill and one elliptical.

It is a short walk to the Harbor and ferry, We spent an afternoon just walking around Friday Harbor, I wish we had had more time there. You can easily drive anywhere on the island from here within 15-20 Minutes. The Staff was very friendly and accommodating, we were able to add a night to our stay without any issue.

We had just spent 4 days in hotel rooms in Seattle, the cottage was a welcome alternative for Mom & Dad! Although the scenic views were not as great as other spots on the island, the closeness to shops and restaurants made our trip more enjoyable.

If you are scheduling anything on the day of your arrival, like Spa treatments, or other events, The Ferry's time schedule can be running behind.

Room Tip: Recommend the Wind Place Cottage if you have a group of 4-6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Jack,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We loved having you and your family here. Come back soon, please!
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

After hearing some mixed reviews and considering that we were looking for a nicer place, we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Of course, the facility has been recently and completely remodeled from its original structure as a motor-inn. Our room was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished, and tastefully decorated. The beds had nice linens and comfortable mattresses, and each queen had three pairs of pillows, ranging from very soft to very firm to a Goldilocks mean of "just right". The shower pressure was excellent.

Even more remarkable was the service. Everyone I spoke to, from the time of booking to updates while we were en route to our final departure, was very friendly, polite, and helpful. They tracked our ferry crossing and contacted us en route when it was delayed, in order to facilitate our arrival. The staff even apologized for our lengthy ferry ride (a slower vessel had to be substituted for the regular boat) and left a bag of tasty snacks in our room.

Although this place is not a cute little beach cottage, it is the next best thing. And for the value, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on noise from adjacent rooms as we were on the second floor and arrived late. But w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi James,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. Your review made our day. We are so excited you liked what we have done with our motor inn and how we served you.
Can't wait to have you back.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Wish we had more than an overnight to stay here. The room was equipped with essentials we typically need for a multi-day stay: good-sized mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tv, dresser and desk. I'm used to reviewing rooms of similar size, but older and with fewer basics, thus I'm glad to report that our room at Earthbox also had an extra chair and a four-legged end table on one side of the bed, and another end table (with drawers) on the other side of the bed. Ample light sources throughout the room, and the bed.... so comfortable!

No issues with the bathroom. Enjoyed the jacuzzi button! Front desk person was friendly upon our late arrival, and cleaning staff also friendly in passing as we were in and out in the morning. Location was convenient; short walk to restaurants.

The heater was loud, and I knew that would be a problem late a night, so we got the room nice and warm before turning it off for the night. No problems staying warm after that.

The only part I'd like to see next time is the addition of curtains. There were blinds, but it still let in morning light. Will try the spa and pool next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Jess,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. It is so helpful to us to hear what you appreciated and what could use some work. Thank you.
We'll put our thinking caps on about the heater and the blinds and can't wait to have you come back to check out our spa and pool. You won't be disappointed.
Have a lovely day,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a convenient location and luxury lodging, stay at Earthbox Inn & Spa, located in Friday Harbor, WA. This San Juan Island Hotel features a variety of lavish amenities including indoor heated pool and hot tub, dry sauna, exercise room, on-site day spa, tour concierge services, complimentary bicycles, group event facilities, spacious cottages, and mini-kitchen appliances. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earthbox Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.